Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels punt on Feleti Mateo as cleanout looms

Bigfella

No one actually knows how much these players are on BTW.

But my understanding from media reports at time of last contracts for both players is that Grothe and Moi Moi combined are less than $400,000.

Given that Burt is entitled to salary cap concesiions getting rid of those 3 would actually end in about the same net result as offloading Cayless. Yet it would get rid of two players who IMO actually offer far more than him.

BTW the three players in our squad with any level of power and strength to challenge teams are Moi Moi Grothe and Williams. If OMC's predictions are right we would be getting rid of all 3 at the end of the season.

Brad Drew should fix the balance though?

Ron Jeremy

Brad Drew would be a disgraceful move by the club, our club should be retaining juniors not pinching old farts from England!

sooperdooper

Don't be ridiculous! We only chase good players.

I would think the players being offloaded are:
Grothe (doesn't take Einstein to figure that one out)
Moi Moi (as per the rumours)
Burt or B Smith

The top 2 would free up 500k. Burt/ Ben are both around 180-200k. So that's close enough to 700k freed up.

I imgine Kaufusi would stroll right in as one player we're chasing. I'd like to see us throw the rest of the cash at Costigan.

Sadly, Hindy may be one who takes the overseas money train - he's contemplating it for the future already, and if a big deal is offered, Hagan is still our coach, and we look like running in the bottom 4 again, then I imagine he might jump at it.

your drunk...those all combined would be closer to 500k max just so you know...

hindmarsh4pm

I remeber it was reported when grothe signed for 3 years, that he was on 250 a year, moimoi would have to be on the same as him you would think?

No idea what Burt and Smith would be on though.

I remeber it was reported when grothe signed for 3 years, that he was on 250 a year, moimoi would have to be on the same as him you would think?

No idea what Burt and Smith would be on though.

I'm told that Grothe is on no where near 250K..infact i've been told by more than 1 person involved at the club.

oldmancraigy

your drunk...those all combined would be closer to 500k max just so you know...

Doubt it.

1) You, of course, realise the average salary for a first grader is $164000.

2) Grothe and Moi Moi got signed in seasons that they played rep footy.

Here's how it works:
There's a top 25, they get $4.1million. Allegedly we used 150k combined to sign Hauraki, Oake and someone else (I forget who - Mitchell??).

That leaves 3.95mill to spread between 22 players.

Allegedly Lowrie is on 75k.
Finch and Mateo on 250k each

3.42mill left for 19 players.

you'd guess the top players (in terms of earnings) would be:
Hayne, Hindmarsh, Inu, Cayless
even if they get 400k per year each, that leaves $1.82 for 15 players

There are 4 players who will be 'brought up' from lower grades (since we have lost but not gained it stands to reason...) they'll get the same as Oake/ Hauraki - so there goes 200k more.

That leaves $1.62mill for 11 players, from our top 25 squad: Grothe, Moi Moi, B Smith, Reddy, Cordoba, Matt Keating, Kris Keating, Paulo, Gulavao, Tautai, Burt

The top 4 paid players on that list would have to be Grothe, Moi Moi, Burt and B Smith. No doubt about it. MK, KK and TT all just came up - would be on sub 100k deals for sure. Gulavao was a bail out - reportedly 80k per. I find it hard to believe Reddy is on more than 100k since he was signed as a lower grader.
Even if you generously gave them all 100k, you're talking a million between the 'big 4' and Cordoba. More likely 1.2-1.3million between the 5 of them.

I'm assuming Josh would be earning the least of those 4, so ~180k, which leaves the other 4 on an average of at least 200k (which it would be if the previous paragraph players got 100k each, which they didn't).

Grothe and Moi Moi both played rep footy in their contract year, 250k each - which made them good value for money for an SoO player and a NZ international...

Plenty of money left for Burt and Benny to be around the 200k mark...

oldmancraigy

I'm told that Grothe is on no where near 250K..infact i've been told by more than 1 person involved at the club.

I've heard the opposite - and just looking at the numbers suggests that what was reported (250k) is more likely correct.

There's a reason that we have no money to sign anyone even though we feel like we should! It's because we tied up too much money in guys who aren't worth it.
Grothe, Burt, B Smith, Cayless.
A million dollars worth of what??

All the speculation on the players we are cleaning out...... I reckon you forget who is in charge at the club. I'd figure you need to look at players like Hindmarsh, Moimoi and possibly Cayless as the players that are being shipped around. And this is based on other rumours that were on the forums.

I've heard the opposite - and just looking at the numbers suggests that what was reported (250k) is more likely correct.

There's a reason that we have no money to sign anyone even though we feel like we should! It's because we tied up too much money in guys who aren't worth it.
Grothe, Burt, B Smith, Cayless.
A million dollars worth of what??

I'd go with staggers information than estimates you came up with on the forum...... ;-)

Ike E Bear

If crap like this eventuates, then that might finally do me as a fan. That might make me pissweak in some people's minds, but every person has a $hit limit and I'm approaching mine.

Brad Drew FFS................ And we let someone like Hodgkinson go :roll: And letting Fui go our only forward who dents the line :?

as much as the club has f**ked up big time on retention I can tell you that Drew wouldn't be here at the expense of any player and Fui will not be released unless there was a capable replacement on board.

Really?? Did we replace Morrison without a replacement, or Riddell, or Smith, or McKinnon? Oh, that's right, we had Wagon, no one for Riddell unless they think Mitchell is the man, but they're looking at Drew so that's not the case, we re-signed Finch for 3 years :?, and had Burt to cover for McKinnon.
No worries mate, everything's sweet. :sarcasm:

Really?? Did we replace Morrison without a replacement, or Riddell, or Smith, or McKinnon? Oh, that's right, we had Wagon, no one for Riddell unless they think Mitchell is the man, but they're looking at Drew so that's not the case, we re-signed Finch for 3 years :?, and had Burt to cover for McKinnon.
No worries mate, everything's sweet. :sarcasm:

where did I say that everythiong was sweet??

fish eel

Interesting times ahead certainly.

Most quality players who were off contract at seasons end are signed up.

So if we are looking at off loading players, and bringing new ones in, we are going to have to be pretty cluey with the wheeling and dealing.

No use letting anyone go unless we have a better squad.