Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK II

How many pages in 24 hrs

• 1-15

Votes: 5 38.5%
  • 16-30

Votes: 2 15.4%
  • 31-45

• 45+

Votes: 6 46.2%

ash411

Gezzz i wish he would retire that money would lock norman in.I dont like saying it though because its great to see a player trying there hardest to get out there for your team.

Yeah true, Plus he seems to be a positive influence on the boys as well. I think him doing his best to get back out there may be a factor in the boys change in attitude this year.

That being said, we really need to lock Norman in for at least the remainder of Foz's contract, at a minimum. I reckon they're going to become a great pairing.

The NRL had no problems registering the contract at the time. Can't see his retirement being an issue.

No neither can I. I'm just commenting on how the rules create an incentive to do exactly as we have done. I was having an argument with TheRam (I think) when he was going ballistic about the length of the contract. And I suggested to him that the 4-year deal might well be an effective way of promising a post-retirement benefit that is outside the cap (assuming Watters was pretty much bound to snap in half at some point).

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...used-moratorium-loophole-20160324-gnqm60.html

Parramatta Eels could have escaped sanction if club used moratorium loophole

Date
March 24, 2016 - 9:04PM

Adrian Proszenko
Chief Rugby League Reporter

Parramatta officials ignored advice to come clean to the NRL about suspected salary cap breaches despite the fact a provision in the rules may have allowed them to escape sanction had they done so.

The governing body is investigating the Eels over a series of potential cap rorts, raising the prospect of punishments including the docking of competition points, the sacking of officials and the imposition of fines.

Former Parramatta CFO Ed Farish, who has an intimate knowledge of the salary cap following a stint in head office, warned Parramatta powerbrokers to self-report to the NRL over a series of questionable practices, most notably a third-party agreement to star forward Anthony Watmough that was not properly disclosed. It's understood the NRL is in possession of correspondence between Farish and club officials who chose not to heed his advice in what shapes as a smoking gun into the probe of dubious TPA payments. The NRL also has a record of every call, email and text between officials and sponsors after sending forensic investigators to profile all electronic equipment as part of their probe.

Under section 16 of the NRL's Code of Conduct – which covers player contract and remuneration matters – "any Club or person bound by this Code reasonably suspects that a breach of the NRL Rules … has occurred, it is the duty of that Club or person to report that suspected breach to the NRL Integrity and Compliance Unit as soon as possible after forming the relevant suspicion."

Had Parramatta done so, the club and its administrators may have been able to avail themselves of a moratorium period in which penalties are waived to encourage full disclosure of suspected breaches.

Article 54 of the code states: "For the purpose of encouraging Clubs, Players, Match Officials and Game Participants to voluntarily disclose past and current practices in breach of this Code, the Board may declare, by written notice, a moratorium period during which the making of a voluntary disclosure which might reveal evidence of a breach of this Code will not result in any penalty being imposed upon:

The Club, in any case where the Club makes the disclosure;
The Game Participant, in any case where the Game Participant makes the disclosure;
The Player, in any case where the Player makes the disclosure; or
The Match Official, in any case where the Match Official makes the disclosure."

The moratorium clause is also mirrored in the NRL Contract and Remuneration Rules, which adds that any disclosures made will remain confidential.

"The new board and CEO are certainly aware of the rules and would exercise our rights in accordance with them if deemed relevant and necessary," a Parramatta spokesperson said.

"The new board and CEO continue to work closely with the NRL. We've provided all relevant information we are aware of. We are determined to get to the bottom of all allegations and continue to reform the club."

Farish made his recommendation to alert head office before the club signed a statutory declaration last October guaranteeing salary cap compliance. The failure to do so heightens the pressure on the board and executive, most notably chairman Steve Sharp, to stand down. However, the former premiership-winning forward has publicly stated he has no intention of doing so.

The moratorium, had it been sought and granted, would have allowed the Eels to avoid the uncertainty currently hanging over an otherwise promising premiership campaign.

Newly installed NRL CEO Todd Greenberg has refused to buy into potential punishments while the integrity unit finalises its investigations. However, the former Bulldogs boss has stated compliance with the salary cap is crucial to the integrity of the competition.

Obscene Assassin

I hope this leads to a league wide audit and much scrutiny of all teams. But I fear this is just reactionary to the DT's articles, and has nothing to do with reforming the code or the way player payments are done.

i.e. it'll start and stop with us, as the media isn't writing about anyone else, out of sight...

NRL only care if there's going to be media around it. All of the big salary cap busts have come from someone inside leaking it or in our case our administration telling the NRL what had happened previously and what was about to happen.

What is pre-existing? If someone does their acl and it heals and then they do it again is it a recurrence or a new injury. If it's a recurrence then is it still a recurrence if it was initially done at 18 then again at 32? If you claim that is a new injury then, what time period must lapsed for it be considered a new injury? In reality wear and tear will occur and eventually this will manifest in longer periods out and poorer healing in general so for me the player needs to be compensated if a contract is there because it is a work place injury. Is this possible to exploit, i guess it is. How can this be rectified? I don't think you can, there will always be some loophole

I'm thinking that the only way to deal with this is to rule that all contracts are under the cap. Older players will earn less and sometimes clubs will suffer out of bad luck, but the other options provides too many avenues to rort the system.

muznik

The NRL also has a record of every call, email and text between officials and sponsors after sending forensic investigators to profile all electronic equipment as part of their probe.

This part made me suspicious on the whole story. You mean to tell me the FBI have to ask Apple for help to hack an iPhone but the NRL can waltz in & achieve it ?? How the hell to they have a record of a phone call (recording?).
Something here smells off !

I call Bullshit !

Bandwagon

The NRL also has a record of every call, email and text between officials and sponsors after sending forensic investigators to profile all electronic equipment as part of their probe.

This part made me suspicious on the whole story. You mean to tell me the FBI have to ask Apple for help to hack an iPhone but the NRL can waltz in & achieve it ?? How the hell to they have a record of a phone call (recording?).

I call Bullshit !

If we are fully co-operating with the investigation, then we would have given them access.

As for recordings, they won't exist, the records available would be limited to who called who, for how long, and from where and when the call was made.

The kinda stuff that appears on a detailed phone bill.

I call Bullshit !

Any wonder why no one beleives the media

Gazzamatta

My observations of the media are.
Bombing in Brussles, 30 plus killed.
The rest of the world. " Oh my God, what a terrible tragedy. "
The media. " Woooohooooo."
Low life, gutter crawling grubs.

Chipmunk

Does anyone know why money went missing at the Broncos, then was found while a footy manager quit suddenly? Interesting!! why doesn't the Telecrap focus on that !!

Why would a tabloid newspaper targeted to people in Sydney be interested in the goings on of a club based in a different state?

lingard

Just a few points.
1. I don't think this idea of a 'new' injury will be very difficult to prove (much harder for the NRL to disprove, I would think).
2. When we signed Whatmough, we took the risk that he would be able to give us good on-field service for the better part of four years. Just in terms of money spent compared to on-field service, our gamble failed. The club took a gamble and lost.
3. In terms of his 'leadership' and ability to help instill a tough, winning culture - perhaps he was good value for money (that is very difficult to measure).
4. In terms of attracting other players to the club who might want to play with the likes of Whatmough - he might have been excellent value and a gamble we simply had to take. Maybe Foran and Scott would not have come if Whatmough hadn't been here. Once again, though, difficult for us to measure. Also, what if Foran and Scott hadn't come? A gamble.
5. In terms of him staying on at the club after he retires from playing (in some sort of coaching role or mentorship role) - another gamble. He might be excellent in a role like that. Or he might be hopeless.

I guess the point I'm making is that a club who signs a player like Whatmough (in the twilight of his career) to a long-term deal, takes a series of gambles which could potentially back-fire big-time. I think the risks are great enough to be a deterrent which would prevent this from becoming a widespread issue. I think the only clubs who would bother with a gamble like this would be clubs (like Parramatta) who had been underperforming for a fair while and had difficulty attracting players without paying significant overs for them. I don't think the rules need changing just yet.

They were just talking about it all on 2MMM.

1. They say that the Semi thing is crap but say that Semi is owed TPA money as are a few other players. Then they (Reid, Gallen etc) all start saying that the Eels better sort it out and make sure they get paid. I thought that we dont have anything to do with TPAs and can't guarantee them ? Round and round we go ....

2. From what Brett Reid has seen there is nothing that would cost us points.

3. This is all happening because of "factions" calling the media.

Yeah we can't guarantee third party payments yet it's our fault if they're not paid? Stick that in the can't win basket. Only Jake and hineyrulz would think this is a good thing.