Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Team vs Bulldogs - Round 9.

You're being evasive Pou. Answer the question.

Why would'nt the majority of professional sporting teams put up with such a pathetic record and terminate his arse, yet we are ?

You're being evasive Pou. Answer the question.

Why would'nt the majority of professional sporting teams put up with such a pathetic record and terminate his arse, yet we are ?

Thought it obvious mate, Stephen Kearney is the next Jimmy Johnson :lol:

Mr Pmatta

You bought a season ticket and 1 game is enough?

Wanker.
I stay loyal and part with my money to support this rabble and I am a wanker because I choose to not watch the rubbish they dish up any longer, you do as u please asshole.

Mr Pmatta

I honestly still think it's too early to tell.
My comments may be misconstrued for support of Kearney. The only thing I support is that I think it's too early to sack him and it would be detrimental to what I believe COULD be longer term success.

and how long do you think it will take for us to see this LONG term success??

When Jimmy Johnson took over the Dallas Cowboys in 1989 they finished the season 1 from 16. The second year they were 7 from 16, but didn't start winning until late in the season.

That made them 8 from 32.

Three years later they won the Superbowl and went on to become one of the dominant teams in the NFL. Of course, they were a privately-owned team and not subject to fan hysteria. They could probably afford to be patient.

Not us though, right?

Equating Jimmy Johnson to Stephen Kearney :lol:

Fact 1:
Jimmy Johnson had a very successful college coaching career with the Hurricanes including a national championship. He lost only four games in his final four seasons with them.

Fact 2:
The Cowboys were pretty much a disaster before he was their coach and within two years he built that team into greatness. His use of the draft and free agency was masterful, second to none, jaw-droppingly amazing.

Fact 2: Jerry Jones and Jimmy Johnson are life long friends (team mates at college)

and how long do you think it will take for us to see this LONG term success??

Form can turn around in pretty short order. We've all seen that before.

Any week now we could go on a long winning streak. Why would you think it's impossible other than that you didn't want to see it?

Equating Jimmy Johnson to Stephen Kearney :lol:

Just pointing out their records are similar after a similar number of games.

If that's not valid grounds for comparison - amongst a bunch of people who keep shrieking "Seven from 33!!!! :crazy:" - then nothing is.

Fact 1:
Jimmy Johnson had a very successful college coaching career with the Hurricanes including a national championship. He lost only four games in his final four seasons with them.

Hmm, not exactly hampered by a salary cap in college football. Are you saying he was coaching on a level playing field?

Fact 2:
The Cowboys were pretty much a disaster before he was their coach and within two years he built that team into greatness. His use of the draft and free agency was masterful, second to none, jaw-droppingly amazing.

Agreed it is much easier to rebuild your roster in the NFL. f**king Herschell Walker off was the key to rebuilding the Cowboys. Imagine how many awesome rookies we could get in trade for Jarryd Hayne.

Fact 2: Jerry Jones and Jimmy Johnson are life long friends (team mates at college)

I thought Fact 2 was about how Johnson rebuilt the Cowboys from scratch?

Well I reckon he can be judged already by the people on the inside of the club. I reckon our board and probably all of our players will have made up their minds about him by now.
And today's media reports seem to indicate the Board is now acting on their judgement on Kearney, most likely based on some consultation with the senior playing group about their judgements too.

It's a brave fan that can ignore performances and still sit there and suggest Kearney's got something to offer in a head coach role.

spartan2153

And today's media reports seem to indicate the Board is now acting on their judgement on Kearney, most likely based on some consultation with the senior playing group about their judgements too.

It's a brave fan that can ignore performances and still sit there and suggest Kearney's got something to offer in a head coach role.

Some call it brave but most would call it stupid

That's piss funny.

You're arguement has zero substance, yet again.

Well mate so does yours.

Tell me this; do you think it's possible that chasing short-term success can interfere with building the capacity for long-term success?

And do you think fans demand short-term success?

What does replacing an out-of-depth failed-KPI coach at the half-way point in their (performance-based) contract have to do with chasing short-term success?

It's simply good business, necessary damage limitation, and as valid a way to achieve long-term success as sticking with a rookie gumbie and his five year (self-financial) plan would have been....

Casper The Ghost

Well mate so does yours.

Tell me this; do you think it's possible that chasing short-term success can interfere with building the capacity for long-term success?

Look after your cents and the cents will take care of the dollars!
Look after short term success and short term success takes care of long term success!

By any chance, do you chase short period contracts one after the other after the other for your long term success?

IFR33K

Well mate so does yours.

I wonder if hasler at the bulldogs can answer this?????

Come to think of it, he probably can't cause he didn't captain his country at 21 yo.

By any chance, do you chase short period contracts one after the other after the other for your long term success?

A better analogy is the fact that I don't spend all my money now so that I have plenty later when I need it.

So while my long-term plan is to live large, my short-term plan must necessarily support it. And that means I don't waste my money on shit, though I intend to later on.

When Jimmy Johnson took over the Dallas Cowboys he went with a youth policy. They finished the first season 1 from 16 but they got experience that allowed them to develop into Superbowl winners a few years later.

They could have used more experienced players in that first year but then they wouldn't have had those young players developing the required experience. Then they wouldn't have won the Superbowl.