Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels - Toyota Cup

parra pete

The Eels No 7 had a mighty game. He will be a huge loss. He showed more in one game (to me at least) with his defence and ability to run the ball than the golden child ever showed in his 3 and one half seasons with the Club.

benoir91

The Eels No 7 had a mighty game. He will be a huge loss. He showed more in one game (to me at least) with his defence and ability to run the ball than the golden child ever showed in his 3 and one half seasons with the Club.

you are comparing under 20s level to 1st grade, its a lot easier

Tizzun

Hodgo certainly can play, but I think that KK & Mortimer showed that we are adequately represented in the halves. Add Kelly to the mix and we have some good depth there. Robbo, Baumann (Tim) Mannah) Gardiner were just great. Fair dinkum Andy Raymond was having a pull over T-Rex. For mine he did SFA - again. Just on Kelly, did anyone watch him go around in the Arrive Alive cup this morning ? He's one of those players with plenty of time. Nice short kicking game and deft passing. Joey Johns was full of praise.

Kelly looked good, great defense and vision. Seems to be living up to the original hype. Pity they couldn't score in the second half.

:lol::lol::lol: But you bagged Mateo after the premier league GF in 2006 becuse it didn't mean anything because it wasn't first grade. Yet hear you are wrapping someone after just atching him in just one game in the U 20's. Talk about walking contradiction........

parra pete

:lol::lol::lol: But you bagged Mateo after the premier league GF in 2006 because it didn't mean anything because it wasn't first grade. Yet here you are wrapping someone after just watching him in just one game in the U 20's. Talk about walking contradiction........

I wasn't talking about first grade.....I was referring to the Toyota Cup..
My comment was the boy will be a huge loss because he showed more in one game (in my opinion) than the golden kid showed in 3 and a bit seasons.
Nothing more, nothing less. No contradiction there old mate.
At least he can tackle, and run the ball, and he must have mental fortitude because it was only his second game back after missing the majority of the home and away season following a total knee reconstruction...
But Hiney remember this...opinions are like arse holes....everyone has one, and they are entitled to it.

I wasn't talking about first grade.....I was referring to the Toyota Cup..
My comment was the boy will be a huge loss because he showed more in one game (in my opinion) than the golden kid showed in 3 and a bit seasons.
Nothing more, nothing less. No contradiction there old mate.
At least he can tackle, and run the ball, and he must have mental fortitude because it was only his second game back after missing the majority of the home and away season following a total knee reconstruction...
But Hiney remember this...opinions are like arse holes....everyone has one, and they are entitled to it.
He played very well the number 7, but he had nothing on the little terrier who played out of posistion at fullack. I've got no problem with your opinions on you know who, but to bring him up in a thread about kids who had a great win last night is what got under my skin.

Really..Thanks for pointing that out. I would never have guessed:roll:
So under 20's is way easier than first grade, but Hodgkinson showed more in one game in under 20's than an NRL rookie of the year who led his side to a Minor premiership and led the whole NRL in try assist's.............. Gee umm ok :?

parra pete

I rated the current Under 20 No 7 and said he would be a huge loss. How is that whinging about the other palooka? FMD. Grow up kids...

eelz47

And a question on the big kid who played in the 4 jersey, he looks a top prospect as well. Andy Raymond gave him a big wrap as well.

Taniela Lasalo,gun of a player who can play 2nd row as well. keep your eyes on him. been playing greatly of late. also just a heads up , he is holics "cousin" :lol:

Fair dinkum Andy Raymond was having a pull over T-Rex. For mine he did SFA - again

T rex was in the 20 jersey(or something like that), yep didnt play too well again. but will be better next year in the forward with a better"fit" club.

Ron Jeremy

:lol::lol::lol: But you bagged Mateo after the premier league GF in 2006 becuse it didn't mean anything because it wasn't first grade. Yet hear you are wrapping someone after just atching him in just one game in the U 20's. Talk about walking contradiction........

:lol::lol: so true

Delboy

What we should be saying is, supercoach and the recruitment team did not make our club attractive to players who have come through the junior system for years. They stated at the STH meeting that & John Manah did not leave for money, so they were obviously sold another club.Blake Green was sold the same thing, whether it works out or not you can see the influence that a coach and a CEO like the Sharks and Beagles have goes a long way.

I am totally pi..ed off that Hagan et al make decisions such as not signing one of the half backs on the books, (Maloney or Hodgkinson), they have no foresight and Hagan is taking us down the same road he did at Newie. The road to mediocrity, I hope the players can rise above him and the coaching staff, but my fear is that next year will be tough.

Having said all that, the NYC team plays with a lot more flair and structure than first grade, good on the boys and lets hope they do well and take it out.

I rated the current Under 20 No 7 and said he would be a huge loss. How is that whinging about the other palooka? FMD. Grow up kids...

Originally Posted by parra pete

Yeah no mention of you know who at all :? He's only been gone 6 months. Yeah i wonder who should grow up????

parra pete

Originally Posted by parra pete

Yeah no mention of you know who at all :? He's only been gone 6 months. Yeah i wonder who should grow up????

Yep..No whinging about the golden child, just a comparison with his form and the form of Trent on Saturday night. The key words being "to me at least". I haven't ASKED you to agree with me, but in your heart, you probably would.....
As Joe Friday would say "Just the facts ma'am, just the facts"....:lol:

Toyota Cup Week 2 - 2nd Semi Final

Parramatta vs St George Illawarra
Saturday 20th Suncorp Stadium @ 5.30pm

eel01s

I thoroughly enjoyed the match. I know there is a huge step up to NRL level, but wasn't it great to see an Eels side play good attacking footy AND have a reslient defence?

I feel a lot better about the future now, but my only reservation is that a few of the players seem to be too small physically to make it at NRL level. Guys like Gardner, Mitchell are midgets and will need to bulk up siginificantly - although unfortunately Gardner I don't think will get any taller.

Tim Mannah looks pretty good, but again will he have the size to be a prop in NRL? I liked the look of Tim Robinson, Baumann, Lewis and Mortimer.

What a loss Hodkinson will be. Geez he looked good, with all the skills and a lot of confidence. Obviously he was lured to Manly with the promise of being Orford's successor sooner rather then later.

Well done Matt Cameron, the side looked very well coached.