Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels v Tigers game thread

Maroubra Eel

Handed down from player to player lol.

One loss in 3 weeks and you're carrying on like a sheila.

Stuart will fix it, don't worry.

you've just been hanging for us to fail again post-kearney .... so you can sling some shit

it's quite hilarious cos it is exactly what you would be accusing others of doing

Hilarious and pathetic....predictable though

Hopefully Stuart comes in next year with a better defensive structure, cause that was just woeful defence.

i don't think there was necessarily a "structural" issue .... we just went back to shit attitude

About as predictable as you merkins death riding the coach all year. Who's your scapegoat now merkin?

You miserable bastards will do the same thing to Ricky Stuart.

If a miserable bastard is someone who whinges in most of their posts, then pot, kettle, black.

Mate I've been excited about every new coach we've had, and I've stayed staunch when results went against them.

But you've got to admit we need some changes made.

None of the previous coaches have managed it, but I've got faith in Ricky Stuart. How about you?

Mate I've been excited about every new coach we've had, and I've stayed staunch when results went against them.

But you've got to admit we need some changes made.

None of the previous coaches have managed it, but I've got faith in Ricky Stuart. How about you?

I'm on record as saying that I'm more than happy that we have the best coach available for the next few.

No, the best coach available in 2010 was And.

He clearly wasn't capable of doing what was needed, and so he had to go. It would have been better if he could have seen out his contract but the board needed to nab the best young coach in the game while he was still on the market.

#therookiefailed

He did indeed but more experienced coaches than him couldn't do it. On the plus side he may have established structures that benefit us going forward.

We'll know next year.

eel01s

i don't think there was necessarily a "structural" issue .... we just went back to shit attitude

Yeah I agree - too many wrong decisions last night in defence. Unlike the last two weeks, we also stood back and let Benji and co. come to us, which is always dangerous.

oldmancraigy

He did indeed but more experienced coaches than him couldn't do it.

You reckon they couldn't have got 10 wins in 2 years?

They probably could've done that in 1 year, and still brought in the same mediocre talent that SK managed....
You'll forgive me if I'm not as excited as others about our 20s (who have managed just 5 wins).

If the big problem is "attitude" and the head coach spent 2 full years not addressing this issue, but rather building other "structures" (which, let's be honest are vague, nondescript and seem an excuse for having achieved nothing), then you'd have to say that the head coach was not only a moron, but also an imbecile??

I'd suggest to you that SK DID spend time working on "attitude" - but that isn't the only issue around, and it's highly convenient to suggest that's the only reason we lose footy games.
Poor coaching has played its part the last 2 years, including (but not limited to) lack of talent; poor player development; and inept defensive structures.

oldmancraigy

you've just been hanging for us to fail again post-kearney .... so you can sling some shit

it's quite hilarious cos it is exactly what you would be accusing others of doing

I don't get it?

This game is a success post-Kearney.

Under him we would've lost 51-6.

At least we scored 10 more than our season average in points! We've been giving up 30 a game all year, so 51 - meh. SK coached us to the spoon weeks ago.
If we even go close to avoiding it, then something good has happened surely???

Joshuatheeel

You reckon they couldn't have got 10 wins in 2 years?

They probably could've done that in 1 year, and still brought in the same mediocre talent that SK managed....
You'll forgive me if I'm not as excited as others about our 20s (who have managed just 5 wins).

I don't watch a lot of the 20's but they do have a hell of a lot of 17-18 olds who played or could of played sg balk this year. There is a big diffence in strength between an 17 - 18 old and a 20 old which is what a lot of the other sides are made up off. Also hard to get some consistency when players are being pushed up to nsw cup including the 20's half combo. We also lost some players to the Australia school boys carnival .

Parra Pride

He clearly wasn't capable of doing what was needed, and so he had to go. It would have been better if he could have seen out his contract but the board needed to nab the best young coach in the game while he was still on the market.

If Kearney is the best young coach the next generation of coaches are going to be pathetic.

#ShitCoach