Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Elephant in the boom

BLM01

If I was going to become a millionaire for doing it I couldn't give a stuff where I lived or who I played for. It is a short term commitment to set you up for life

Yes when you are a free spirit..who needs money. You have your inner self, breathing, nature, and hoochy gooch and calmness living off the land. Now thats living :D

Dragsters

One thing that confuses me about them is not only have they never been done for salary cap cheating but you seldom hear about them even being under pressure to shed players and when they do it’s usually because the club wants them gone not the other way around. I can see them winning a fair few while Tedesco is at the club.
Other teams after a GF players that might have been astute buys like the Manu, Taukeiaho’s etc of the world start to not fly under the radar anymore and attract substantially more money. Doesn’t seem to happen with them.

It's the old "they'll play here for less" smokescreen.

They may well get less money on the cap, but are likely "well compensated" by other means.

This scenario is possible when you have a wealthy benefactor as the roosters do, or conglomerate of business people as the broncos do with the thoroughbreds.

Until the NRL get serious about player values or instigate a points based system, this rorting will continue unabated to the benefit of some and the detriment of most...

Cogburn

Angry little person aren't we.
For the record I never had a go at anyone or anything nor did I say anything derogatory about the Roosters or their achievements.
I simply corrected your gross inaccuracy as to how many team played in SF football during the 50's & 60's.
Why don't you just acknowledge the fact that in a ten team comp where you only played 9 opponents per season that over the 12 year period I quoted all but 1 club (The Dogs) featured during the semi finals.
Of course the Dogs then regrouped and became a dominant force shortly there after.
Ha Why would I be angry? My team has just won back to back, but what's funny is your failure to acknowledge that saints and Souths dominated the comp so much that every GF from 56 to 71 features saints or Souths and your bitching and moaning about the Roosters small run of success. All I'm going to do is laugh at your pathetic joke of a joint venture. Also it's hysterical how you Illawarra socks supporter try and claim st George's premierships as your own, look up the official records, it plainly says that st George-Illawara have won 1 premiership.

Forbes Creek Dragons

It's the old "they'll play here for less" smokescreen.

They may well get less money on the cap, but are likely "well compensated" by other means.

This scenario is possible when you have a wealthy benefactor as the roosters do, or conglomerate of business people as the broncos do with the thoroughbreds.

Until the NRL get serious about player values or instigate a points based system, this rorting will continue unabated to the benefit of some and the detriment of most...
Yeah especially when you have players like Latrell in the media saying he wants to retire by 30 and kick back. I can’t imagine he’s on unders. Manu who is better than him imo, would be considered a cheapy at the Rorters. At our club would be marquee player in the league of Hunt, Dugan or Widdop.

Ha Why would I be angry? My team has just won back to back, but what's funny is your failure to acknowledge that saints and Souths dominated the comp so much that every GF from 56 to 71 features saints or Souths and your bitching and moaning about the Roosters small run of success. All I'm going to do is laugh at your pathetic joke of a joint venture. Also it's hysterical how you Illawarra socks supporter try and claim st George's premierships as your own, look up the official records, it plainly says that st George-Illawara have won 1 premiership.
You’ve had far too many late’s you soft cock
You are probably tfs to understand the pun intended as well.
Re the JV most in here hate it too so your ascertion is less than enlightening.
Re following Illawarra well you haven’t read many posts so little point trying to educate a PV school big shot like yourself.
The one thing you did get correct is your teams small run of success which shows despite all your clubs money, cheating and conniving you haven’t achieved very much.
By the way whose junior comp did you play in Saints or Souths or were you too busy at the Con playing with your organ?

jak

St George and Souths featured in every GF from 1956 till 1971.
the 1966 season was the one I most enjoyed but that was eastern suburbs not Sydney roosters or the Sydney city roosters or whatever uncle nick decides to call them this week.

nontime111

yes WON dickhead not BOUGHT

Reactions: jak

Cogburn

Saints bought a lot of players during their 10 year domination, it's why they stayed on top for so long. Courtesy of the Taj Mahal.

The calm one

Yes when you are a free spirit..who needs money. You have your inner self, breathing, nature, and hoochy gooch and calmness living off the land. Now thats living :D
Congratulations mate, you are seeing the light. You to, are invited on my next trip to the forest. Tomato plant welfare will be our focus

nontime111

Don't feed the TROLL.
im sure hes just bored and looking for intelligent footy convo, either that or wanting to spend time with some REAL league fans who support a struggling at the moment but REAL team...have you seen the chooks forum??

Reactions: jak

SBD82

Your team has just won back to back titles, and to celebrate you’re spending time in the forum of the team that ran 15th.

You’re free to draw your own conclusions, but I’m sure you’ll forgive me when I say that makes me think that you’re a very sad little bitch.

Cogburn

yes legally
I'll tell you what, get all the evidence you have that shows that the Roosters are over the cap and present it to the NRL, IllI even pick you up and drive you there myself. Just pm your address to me and the day and time you're ready to go. I'll wait eagerly for your pm.:joy:

Saints bought a lot of players during their 10 year domination, it's why they stayed on top for so long. Courtesy of the Taj Mahal.
Try and get something right 11 years.
You fail to acknowledge that many players played for St George despite the fact they could get better money at other clubs such was the drawing power of our club that many players just wanted to be a Dragon because we had the best coaches and the best team.
If you didn't have the TPA's etc not many would remain faithful to your club

Cogburn

Try and get something right 11 years.
You fail to acknowledge that many players played for St George despite the fact they could get better money at other clubs such was the drawing power of our club that many players just wanted to be a Dragon because we had the best coaches and the best team.
If you didn't have the TPA's etc not many would remain faithful to your club
Yada Yada Yada, whatever. East's to win.

nontime111

I'll tell you what, get all the evidence you have that shows that the Roosters are over the cap and present it to the NRL, IllI even pick you up and drive you there myself. Just pm your address to me and the day and time you're ready to go. I'll wait eagerly for your pm.:joy:
great Ill get back

Frank Facer

Between 55 and 66 in a 10 team comp the semifinalists were 9 different teams
Parra x 4, Easts x1, Newtown x 6, St G x 12, Manly x 6, Souths x 4, Balmain x 6, Wests x 7, Norths x 2.
Considering St G won 11 in a row your stat re St G & Souths in every GF is a little meaningless.
So that means, Canterbury never made the semis between the years 55 to 66. They then knocked us out in 1967.