Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eric Grothe Jnr back for the Eels

yy_cheng

geez..you're hard to please, I think we actually over achieved...

the year after was a disaster of epic proportions..
I don't know.

FOr some reason I thought we bumbled our way through that year and played well in the finals.

It wasn't like we played a good consistent brand of footy.

Years like what manly and melbourne had over the last few years is what I think are good brands of footy.

In 07, I didn't get that feeling.

lingard

Eric Grothe. Do you seriously reckon he would be a walk up start into first grade with ANY team in the competition? I doubt it. I don`t think he deserves a start in first grade with Parra just yet. As has been said before, he couldn`t tackle a square meal. Peter Sterling commented last year that he was one of the fastest players in the NRL. But how would anyone know? All he ever does is put his head down and run STRAIGHT into the opposition. When was the last time he made a genuine break or made a lovely long run down field? About three years ago, that`s when! The only tries he scores now are barging runs from 10 metres out; that`s what prop forwards are for. Can`t tackle, can`t make breaks, makes stupid mistakes, no football brain. Eric Grothe. I wouldn`t have him.

parra pete

Tim Smith improved under Hagan...especially in 2008..Became the Boy Wonder? We were wondering what he was gonna do next...(*lobs the hand grenade then ducks for cover* waiting for Batman, disguised as Sooperdooper, to arrive with a post of indignation -'He's not as bad as your mate Joel')

Ron Jeremy

For every try he scores or break he makes he lets in 10 trys, great attacking player but probably has the poorest tackling technique and positional play i've seen from a first grade player, the only player that he'd beat out would be that Greg Williams guy ( gridiron player) a fews back at Newy.

jk13

maybe he has a huge inner turmoil bubbling inside - keep good looks vs becoming a defensive genius

Ron Jeremy

I know i sound harsh on Grothe, i really hope he improves 100%, but i'm just worried that he wont, his defense has never really improved, it just seems to have gotten worse, he just isn't a smart player.

And lets not forget his passes while we're on the subject, his passes have led to many opposition trys.

jk13

if he doesn't, hello etu. wing is one position i'm not worried about. prop, halves and centre is a concern

Ron Jeremy

Etu looks good, but i say Burt would take a spot then otherwise he'll probably have a cry, and then the old 'but i took a paycut' line will come up...

Me personally my backline would be this:

1. Hayne ( goes without saying, our best attacking back
2. Inu ( goes without saying
3. Smith ( Hopefully he starts showing us the form that led to his big 4 year deal)
4. Tautai ( i think the offseason and last season will do wonders for him, DA will hopefully fix up the rough edges)
5. Grothe ( yes, for al the sh*t i have given him i still think he's an asset on big money, i just think though we're all getting ou hopes up to high.

reserves

Reddy
Etu
Burt

Pazza

plus i think that speed that reddy has turns half chances into tries. Hagan's teams have never been good defencively, DA is another story. Guys like Reddy and Grothe could really improve their defense under the new coach.

lingard

i'd still have reddy over TT, we need that attacking flair and speed

.....and defense and attitude and consistency and continual improvement and..... How on earth could anyone select Eric Grothe over Joel Reddy at this point?

spiderdan

No: Hayne is our best winger who happens to have played fullback!
i think you are on crack. hayne was being groomed for the fullback role since 04/05. he played pretty much all his junior football there. it's probably the biggest reason why the club wouldn't offer wade a contract extension of more than two years.