Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eric Grothe Jr announces his retirement

Found this on the Brisbane Times website which gave player ratings for the 2009 Grand Final

eric_grothe-600x400.jpg

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/pho...er-ratings/20091005-giiz.html?selectedImage=0

Something to remember next time you hear someone say that Grothe didn't give a sh*t about his footy - well he did when it mattered.

Guru or Fui should have got the Clive Churchill imo

Parraletic

Very sad day as an Eels fan. Thanks for the memories Grothey, you gave your all for the blue & golds especially in the last few years. Really played with emotion & you pumped up the team when they needed it. Very dissapointed we didn't get to see you off but i'm sure we'll see you plenty of times next year on the box. Take care & good luck!

eels_fan

anyone with Twitter would have clued onto this over the last couple of weeks

Guru has been teeing up clients and advertising his Personal Training business constantly and only tweeting the other day that he had too many clients for the amount of time he had

We will really struggle for depth now

2010 2011
Hayne Hayne
Burt Burt
Reddy Hicks
Tahu Atkins
Grothe/Inu Walker

SCARY!

Parra Guru

"Please Don't Leave Me"

Da da da da
da da da da

Da da da da da,

I don't know if I can yell any louder,
How many times have I kicked you out of here?
Or said something insulting?

Da da da da da

I can be so mean when I wanna be,
I am capable of really anything,
I can cut you into pieces,
When my heart is, broken.

Da da da da da

Please don't leave me [x2]
I always say how I don't need you
But it's always gonna come right back to this
Please don't leave me

How did I become so obnoxious,
What is it with you that makes me act like this,
I've never been this nasty,
Can't you tell that this is all just a contest?
The one that wins will be the one that hits the hardest,
But baby I don't mean it,
I mean it, I promise

Da da da da da

Please don't leave me [x2]
(Don't leave me)
I always say how I don't need you
Please don't leave me

I forgot to say out loud,
How beautiful you really are to me,
I can't be without,
You're my perfect little punching bag,
And I need you,
I'm sorry.

Da da da da
da da da da

Da da da da da

Please, please don't leave me
Baby, please don't leave me (no, don't leave me)
Please don't leave me
(I always say) I always say how I don't need you

Please don't leave me, (Yeah)
Please don't leave me
(I) I always say how I don't need you,
But it's always gonna come right back to this,
(Please, Please) Please don't leave me,
Baby, please, please don't leave me.

Springs

A sad day.

Not too fussed about what it means for Parramatta's chances next year, but not seeing Grothe on the right wing anymore is pretty hard to take. He was one of the players that defined Parramatta.
Around 2005-2007 he was the best winger in the game. He deserved more rep honours.

Nikki

I dunno what that song is, but I was just thinking Parra fans should write a song and do a film clip ala "My Kevvy" style for Eric!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

DeanPay98

We now need to keep Tahu.

Do we still have Etu? He's a solid player.

Tom Humble should fit somewhere into the backline now.

If Casey Maguire doesn't play hooker, can he play in the centers?

Buying Hicks would be a negative move - though it goes without saying that I'd be happy to be proved wrong.

Parra Guru

A sad day.

Not too fussed about what it means for Parramatta's chances next year, but not seeing Grothe on the right wing anymore is pretty hard to take. He was one of the players that defined Parramatta.
Around 2005-2007 he was the best winger in the game. He deserved more rep honours.

I will defend him to the death but one thing he didn't do was show enough respect to his rep opportunities. His number of rep jumpers reflect his effort on that part IMO. Loved watching him play for the Blues though.

Parra Guru

We now need to keep Tahu.

Do we still have Etu? He's a solid player.

Tom Humble should fit somewhere into the backline now.

If Casey Maguire doesn't play hooker, can he play in the centers?

Buying Hicks would be a negative move - though it goes without saying that I'd be happy to be proved wrong.

I think all this will cement Maitua into the centres once he is ready.

DeanPay98

Eric Grothe was a fine player for the Eels. His form in 2009 was amazing and his performance in the Grand Final almost got us home. He was like an extra forward. We'll miss him heaps. On top of that he was a lovely person by all accounts.

One of my favourite memories of him was a game against Newcastle in 2000. He conceded a try by passing in our in-goal. But then about 20 minutes later, he did the same thing!! only it came off that time ... Sterlo said, "ahh ... the confidence of youth!" He's been great for the Eels since returning in 2004.

DeanPay98

I think all this will cement Maitua into the centres once he is ready.

Definitely. This might not be as bad as it seems. Assuming things with Tahu get sorted out we could have:

Hayne, Humble, Tahu, Reddy, Burt or

Hayne, Humble, Maitua, Reddy, Burt

With Atkins, Etu etc to cover injuries

Thats still good enough to make the Top 8.

Casper The Ghost

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:
By Eric, love you mate.
You have been one of my fav Eels players of all time, up there with your Dad.
You should have been given the Clive Churchill medal for the 2009 gf and
that elusive ring stolen by the cheats....
Will miss watching you play Eric but it won't be long before another Eric Grothe junior comes along.

Parra Guru

:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:
By Eric, love you mate.
You have been one of my fav Eels players of all time, up there with your Dad.
You should have been given the Clive Churchill medal for the 2009 gf and
that elusive ring stolen by the cheats....
Will miss watching you play Eric but it won't be long before another Eric Grothe junior comes along.

Ummm it might. Eric Grothe doesn't have any grand sons yet (that we know of)

Humble is a half not a three quarter.

Sad to see Eric go.....Now he needs to have kid, call him Eric and in 18 years he can play.

Captain BF

Wow, what a sad day for Parra. Congratulations to Eric on a great career. He has been awesome for us for many years. Whether he achieved everything he could have or not, it was career that many, if not everyone here can only dream about.

How about we keep this thread to being positive about what Grothe did in his career as opposed to shi*canning the club, like most of the other threads lately.

So we've now lost Grothe, Tahu, Inu and Wright replaced with Atkins, Walker and Chris Hicks. Add to that no Mateo, the only bloke with any flair, we have the slowest halfback in the game, our star hasn't trained all off season and wont be back until atleast January, Joel Reddy our only decent 3/4 is doubtful to start the season. I hope I'm wrong but 2011 looks doomed. As i said i hope i am wrong. But its ok we've now got atleast 1 million available on the salary cap

*Inu was hopeless, glad to the see the back of him.
*Tahu's attitude was terrible and basically wasted our time.
*Grothe unfortunately struggled with a knee injury, probably wouldnt have been the same player next year anyway, but still a big loss
*Wright, unfortunately for him he left when we had Tahu.
*Mateo had flair, but was lazy as well. Maitua on his day will be very good.

Im confident the blokes we've got can do a decent job.

Dont know too much about Atkins, but Walker has got some speed out wide and is a good finisher. He hasnt done too much wrong in the last few seasons.