Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fan Day (with pics)

parra pete

Thanks Uncle Pete for youR wisdom.

:lol: * Glad to guide you along the way YY....that's what I'm here for. (* Old Jungle saying):lol:

"I swear to devote my life to the destruction of piracy, greed, cruelty and injustice!" he cried as he formally took "The Oath of the Skull" by firelight. "And my sons and their sons shall follow me!"....The Ghost Who Walks...

yy_cheng

:lol: * Glad to guide you along the way YY....that's what I'm here for. (* Old Jungle saying):lol:

"I swear to devote my life to the destruction of piracy, greed, cruelty and injustice!" he cried as he formally took "The Oath of the Skull" by firelight. "And my sons and their sons shall follow me!"....The Ghost Who Walks...

Shouldn't it supposed to be a lower case r?

PJ Marshal

With an attitude like that no wonder Australian men are turning into "manbag' carriers!

The ASHOF is a museum providing insight into tough men, and how they earn a living by being paid for what they actually do. And blokes who helped make Australia a great nation
Sadly, with the drought the way it is, sheep numbers - and shearing numbers are down.
Do you have a better way to get wool of the sheep's back?

whats wrong with manbags? or you more into swags?

yeah i do have a better way, its called using a desgning a machine that does it with no man power thats more cost effective. Surely it couldn't be too hard with modern technology. Yes Pete theres more than just the light switch these days buddy. This way companies wouldnt have to worry about forking out money for slack jawed yokels from out bush to be employed to do something so totally outdated.

parra pete

whats wrong with manbags? or you more into swags?

yeah i do have a better way, its called using a desgning a machine that does it with no man power thats more cost effective. Surely it couldn't be too hard with modern technology. Yes Pete theres more than just the light switch these days buddy. This way companies wouldnt have to worry about forking out money for slack jawed yokels from out bush to be employed to do something so totally outdated.

Actually, I'm more into swags...Manbags...:lol: What next, earrings, necklaces, tutu's...

BTW ...Who loads the sheep into the 'machines'...great suggestion. Why not just stare at the sheep and scare it off them....

yy_cheng

Actually, I'm more into swags...Manbags...:lol: What next, earrings, necklaces, tutu's...

BTW ...Who loads the sheep into the 'machines'...great suggestion. Why not just stare at the sheep and scare it off them....

We use telepathy now Pete. Just sit on your horse and tell the sheep to get into the machines.

parra pete

Slack jawed yokels....:lol: I like that description..It does fit shearers. Add piece of straw dangling from lips or a roll your own smoke, blue singlet, dungarees, and moccasins, sucking on a cold VB longneck, or even a hot one if the Esky has no ice...Some drink 'em hot..

Manbag carriers, in the bag - deodorant, lip balm, brush, comb, hair dryer, styling mousse, ciggies, ciggie holder, money folder, bic lighter, ipod..Sitting there is the manbag carrier with eyebrows plucked, wearing a trendy shirt with the collar up, jumper over the shoulders, sipping on a latte, and trying to figure out where the knitted jumper came from, and the wool suits...Someone tell him please -
It came off the rack at David Jones...where else!!!!!

yy_cheng

Here ya go Uncle Pete. This might be better.

file.php

muznik

With an attitude like that no wonder Australian men are turning into "manbag' carriers!

The ASHOF is a museum providing insight into tough men, and how they earn a living by being paid for what they actually do. And blokes who helped make Australia a great nation
Sadly, with the drought the way it is, sheep numbers - and shearing numbers are down.
Do you have a better way to get wool of the sheep's back?

I thought those new metrosexual sheep used Nads or an Epipen :lol:

Well that's good Jess..because I don't even take myself seriously...Just a big kid at heart really:lol:
Life is too short- and when you get to my age, you'll realise that too.
I think this poem by Nadine Star, written when she was 93 sums it all up)

If I had my life to live over,
I’d dare to make more mistakes next time.
I’d relax, I would limber up.
I would be sillier than I have been this trip.
I would take fewer things seriously.
I would take more chances.

I would climb more mountains and swim more rivers.
I would eat more ice cream and less beans.
I would perhaps have more actual troubles,
but I’d have fewer imaginary ones.-----by Nadine Star

I enjoy family, footy and life. I consider the forumites my 'extended family' and I love keeping them 'on their toes' - know what I mean :p

brilliant poem Pete :clap:

I hope you continue to keep posting till you cark it........ well into the distant future sometime :)

parra pete

I thought those new metrosexual sheep used Nads or an Epipen :lol:

They probably do. They certainly don't need shearers apparently...
BTW ..The CSIRO is looking at getting rid of rabbits and hares. They mixed the Calicivirus with Nair products and reckon it should do the job...:lol: get it!!!!!!

parra pete

brilliant poem Pete :clap:

I hope you continue to keep posting till you cark it........ well into the distant future sometime :)

So do I...and I hope it is way way way into the distant future....

However, with all the sadness and trauma going on in the world at the moment, it is worth reflecting on the death of a very important person, which almost went unnoticed last week.

Larry La Prise, the man who wrote "The Hokey Pokey" died peacefully at age 93. The most traumatic part for the family was getting him into the coffin.

They put his left leg in..... and then the trouble started.

They probably do. They certainly don't need shearers apparently...
BTW ..The CSIRO is looking at getting rid of rabbits and hares. They mixed the Calicivirus with Nair products and reckon it should do the job...:lol: get it!!!!!!

got a hare up my nose, thinks its a rabbit hole :lol:

Parra Steve

Well what can i say, I wanted to get the players attention, I do have two other addidas shirts that i bought in Malaysia but they're so small that i feel im going to Incredible hulk out of them.

Just getting back to some earlier comments - when I was a kid (lets say 30 years ago....) I used to stand outside the change rooms at North Sydney oval, and wait for the players to come out & grab their signatures. (I dont know if anyone else remembers North Sydney - but, the general public could walk straight pass the change rooms into the snack shop/milk bar. Nothing has changed, if you walk down the steps - but, there isnt any shop there anymore). They used to lock the back entrance, to stop people from getting into the game for free.

Anyway, even then, when players probably didnt get the attention they do today, some players were happy to sign autographs & other no so interested. Funny enough, I usully found the forwards to be the ones more likely to sign stuff. Mark Graham, Fred Au Kuoi, Don Mckinnon & Johnny Gray. (I used to take particular pleasure in going up to Dallas Donnelly, when Wests played at North Sydney, because he and some of the lower graders did a fencing job on our next door neighbours, and I made friends with him. All the other kids looked on in awe, when I said hello to Mr Donnelly as " hi Dallas".

Not everyone is made for public speaking/appearances. Some people, even footballers, are shy. Of course, you are going to get one or two who think they are above mixing it with fans, but, they are probably young, and will realise when they get older, that they should appreciate people that want to rub shoulders with them. (Case in point Johnny Gibbs. As a kid, my dad took me to a test match in Wigan. We met some of the players, and it was quite obvious that Mr Gibbs didnt have any time for anyone except himself.(His nose was well & truly stuck in the air - bloody typical Manly player:lol:) Years later, I used to bump into him at the TAB, usually at Spit Junction, while he was getting his car washed across the road. Things had definatly changed with his attitude, and we are now on a 1st name basis. (If you can believe that I would have anything to do with ANY Manly player, that alone someone disliked as much as Johnny Gibbs!!:lol::lol:)

Cut the boys some slack. Over the years, I have had a lot to do with some pretty good athletes, and believe me, there are a lot that think their sh*t dont stink - but, thats generally because they know that they are good.

Some play for themselves, some play for the team, some play for the fans. Some play for all 3 - and generally, they are the ones that I like best.

End rant. :cool: NSE