Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fifita

Chimp

What a subject for me to make my first post on - but I'm really wound up by this whole story....

Clearly Fifita is a goose, of the highest order, with questionable judgement and pretty fundemental character flaws - but that doesn't mean he should be subject to this contradictory garbage by these sensationalist journos and ex-players.

As far as I am aware, Fifita has never spoken about or supported KL publicly - if you'd have asked anyone a week ago what FKL stood for on his arm, nobody would have known or even been able to guess at anything near what is now being suggested. The only people who have dragged this into the public arena, brining more upset to the victims family are the same journos who are now giving it to Fifita for using his profile to make a 'political statement' - how can he be making a statement if he's not told anyone beforehand what the initials stood for.

Complete and utter beat up by the usual suspects, trying to create more hysteria and outrage that is all the fashion on social media.

And whether you agree with it or not, jail is a form of both punishment and rehabilitation - as a sport, we're always keen to support and help rehabilitate half decent players - why shouldn't Fifita be allowed to do the same to a mate? Packer could easily have killed the guy he attacked, and to an extent, he was lucky he didn't, but the same journos are more than happy to have him back in the game and write nice fluffy stories about how he's a changed man, and the positive influence rugby league has had towards this.....

Rant over....

Wozza

So sick of the double standards in the media when it comes to us
You want to talk about double standards.
When is NRL360 or NRL on Fox going to haul current Australian coach and Fox sports NRL mouthpiece Mal Meninga over the coals for publicly calling for his convicted murderer brother to be released on parole in 2014. This germ murdered a teenage girl, What about the feelings of her family?

Weaponhead

News Ltd papers/Fox/Triple M are just a pantomime where controversy keeps the wheels turning. The journos compete to beat up stuff to feed the machine.

They also know that rugby league is a vindictive bitch with a cast of narcissistic arseholes in key positions. The Sharks have no influence and so are easy whipping boys for the journos to look tough in beating up on.

None of them have the stones to after Brisbane, Easts or Manly because they have power. It sucks but they will continue to dish up sensationalist horsehit to full column inches and airtime.

Plenty of other players have done worse and still been allowed to play on.
Heaps worse.

Being insensitive was not a crime the last I checked.

What a subject for me to make my first post on - but I'm really wound up by this whole story....

Clearly Fifita is a goose, of the highest order, with questionable judgement and pretty fundemental character flaws - but that doesn't mean he should be subject to this contradictory garbage by these sensationalist journos and ex-players.

As far as I am aware, Fifita has never spoken about or supported KL publicly - if you'd have asked anyone a week ago what FKL stood for on his arm, nobody would have known or even been able to guess at anything near what is now being suggested. The only people who have dragged this into the public arena, brining more upset to the victims family are the same journos who are now giving it to Fifita for using his profile to make a 'political statement' - how can he be making a statement if he's not told anyone beforehand what the initials stood for.

Complete and utter beat up by the usual suspects, trying to create more hysteria and outrage that is all the fashion on social media.

And whether you agree with it or not, jail is a form of both punishment and rehabilitation - as a sport, we're always keen to support and help rehabilitate half decent players - why shouldn't Fifita be allowed to do the same to a mate? Packer could easily have killed the guy he attacked, and to an extent, he was lucky he didn't, but the same journos are more than happy to have him back in the game and write nice fluffy stories about how he's a changed man, and the positive influence rugby league has had towards this.....

Rant over....

Surely

Plenty of other players have done worse and still been allowed to play on.
Heaps worse.

Being insensitive was not a crime the last I checked.

it wasn't even that, its the press that's turned it into something for the Kelly family

fkl

I thought it was some London muso group

Card Shark

Rant over....

Well said mate.

it wasn't even that, its the press that's turned it into something for the Kelly family

fkl

I thought it was some London muso group

I just assumed it was either a footy move
Some religious horseshit
Or his kids initials
If he'd said it meant free keiren Loveridge I'd probably be OK with him being sacked.
Too much shit as been brought on our club by dumb players.
Don't get me wrong I'm not happy about it anyway.
But if he hadn't told anyone and it was only meant as a bit of support for a good mate who had f**ked up monumentally then I can cop it
Only just though.

I haven't mentioned this yet but one of my mates murdered a bloke.
Way worse than a coward punch too.

He shot two and one died.
Premeditated
He had been bashed earlier in the night
Not even badly
Went home got a gun and shot them.

It was heavy
Long time ago now
He is actually out now.

I saw him a bit after it and you just keep thinking ..f**k I'm glad it's not me in his shoes.

I knew what he'd done but still was his mate
I didn't know the other guys.

I dunno if I would've written his name on my arm though

If he was a best mate then I would've easily continued to be in contact with
I have no doubts about that .

Eion

Nice first post chimp. You've got the anger, disappointment and sense of the world is out to get us just right for a Cronulla supporter. You are very welcome.

but I'm really wound up by this whole story....

Agree with all of your post but where have you been the last ten years? It's been shovel load after shovel load... And then you crack a little smile and then another shovel load. This was nowhere near as bad as the ASADA episodes, we actually assisted in the death of a player, and ruined rugby league for a few yeaqrs.. Before then we were dead club walking, etc etc f**king etc.

Chimp

Agree with all of your post but where have you been the last ten years? It's been shovel load after shovel load... And then you crack a little smile and then another shovel load. This was nowhere near as bad as the ASADA episodes, we actually assisted in the death of a player, and ruined rugby league for a few yeaqrs.. Before then we were dead club walking, etc etc f**king etc.

I'm actually based in the UK, and only stumbled across this forum about 6 months ago and have just been a reader - lucky really, coz id have been having a full on rage about the treatment we got in the media over ASADA. But I won't bring all that up again....

jc155776

Hahah f**k this post is awesome. Sums up what a cluster f**k of a club we support. Put s smile on my face at least! ( in a morbid, black humour way).

Arnold

Quigs once said he wished the club would become the bad boys of the league cos we were squeaky clean.... I blame him as it went down hill fast.

Windy70

Did any players or coaching staff ask him what it meant ? Surely someone did that could of advised him it may not be a great idea, considering.

Dugan has drugs tattoo'd on his back.
Is that against the rules?

256875-041c0b62-f29f-11e3-8a62-ce6d4e05a259.jpg