Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week 1 vs Cowboys Discussion & Voting

Dazzat

Yeah ... I've played a few games of footy, but that's not the point.

If playing the game is a pre-requisite to making any comment - positive or negative - let's just all get off this forum now.

Please feel free to correct me over this finer details. I am human after all and will make mistakes.

Your assertion that I've said everyone isn't good enough to be in the team is completely over the top. I've bagged a very small number of players and the coach and that is all.

GoTheBroncs

No not at all. just get sick of people making stupid uninformed comments to quantify their postings. Just annoys me that people who have probably never played a game of footie in their lives see fit to bag anyone who does.

If a pre-req to being a fan is having played footy, then sorry mate the NRL wouldn't exist. And to expect these fans not to have opinions about players, its simply unrealistic and just plain wrong.

user_nat

No not at all. just get sick of people making stupid uninformed comments to quantify their postings. Just annoys me that people who have probably never played a game of footie in their lives see fit to bag anyone who does.
I personally believe that if you haven't played the game at its highest level, international, you have no right to comment on players performances.

Same reason I choose not to discuss politics. I've never yet been Prime Minister.

Big Pete

Guru is alright by me.

It's been a rough few years. It's done a lot of funny things to supporters to the point when even when they want to hand out wraps they can't do so without bagging somebody out.

The good news is that it's over now.

Now we've got a few moments to reflect, a Four Nations to look forward to and then all eyes turn to 2015 where I believe the club is in with as good a shot as any.

Bronco18

Lol Dazzat, how on Earth of all the things to complain about in that game did you bring up Maranta?

Dazzat

Lol Dazzat, how on Earth of all the things to complain about in that game did you bring up Maranta?

Do you not read?

My point was that good form of Kahu in that game. Kahu looked the goods. Kahu ran around North Queensland players. Looked all class.

For many weeks Griffin picked Maranta over Kahu. Kahu was playing Intrust Super Cup.

Notice I kept the sentences short. This is to help you understand.

Dazzat

I personally believe that if you haven't played the game at its highest level, international, you have no right to comment on players performances.

Same reason I choose not to discuss politics. I've never yet been Prime Minister.

OK ... so that would mean all posts must read sort of like this:

Everyone played well. The coach did really well.

Yay for everyone!

Bronco18

Such sass Dazzat...
You need to chillax buddy, it can't be healthy steaming like this for the whole off season.

Nerd

I actually agree with Dazzat. Picking Maranta repeatedly on the wing was a selection mistake that attributed to Griffins demise.

Anyway looking forward to next year hopefully Bennett can sort out 5/8, fullback and find us another prop and we can have a decent season.

Bronco18

Meh, name me one time Maranta's "lack of speed" has been exposed this season.

People are holding grudges from last year...

Bronco18

I mean, this is the bloke who dismissed Maranta's herculean efforts against the Warriors as simply a standard part of his job.

Big Pete

Yep...

Can't see them being Instagram buddies anytime soon.

Like I said, the past two and a half years have been rough on everyone. Now we can't even hand out wraps to players without bagging somebody else out whether it's relevant to the particular game or not.

You're never going to like every player but it get's boring when it's the same players being scapegoated each and everytime, whether they deserve it or not.

Hopefully it's just a thing of the past.

Dazzat

Meh, name me one time Maranta's "lack of speed" has been exposed this season.

People are holding grudges from last year...

The problem with picking a Maranta is you'll never know the opportunities you have lost.

I'm totally chill-axed - thank you for caring.

Can't wait for next year. Maybe Griffin can pack shelves at Woolies.

Dazzat

Yep...

Can't see them being Instagram buddies anytime soon.

Like I said, the past two and a half years have been rough on everyone. Now we can't even hand out wraps to players without bagging somebody else out whether it's relevant to the particular game or not.

You're never going to like every player but it get's boring when it's the same players being scapegoated each and everytime, whether they deserve it or not.

Hopefully it's just a thing of the past.

You people don' get it do you. I'm not directly bagging Maranta - I'm bagging the fact that Griffin has preferred him over the obvious talent, speed and x-factor of Kahu. Can you explain this to me?

As Darren Lockyer said during the game on the weekend, "Lachlan is safe". Well are we satisfied with having a "safe" winger? You know ... the guy who is supposed to score over half the tries for the team? Safe?

Big Pete

We read it just fine - instead of giving Kahu a wrap for his ability to turn a dreadful first half into a satisfying second you used it as another reason to bag out Maranta and the coach. Very crafty but that conversation is played out.

Hopefully Jordie can produce more performances like his second half and not his first...but not against Easts this weekend.

Dazzat

Sorry ... forget this forum is now playing by Guru's rules.

Maranta - played really well all year.

Griffin - coached really well all year. And Griffin also made the right team selections every time.

Kahu - played really well for Wynnum and the Broncs.

All is good.

League guru

We read it just fine - instead of giving Kahu a wrap for his ability to turn a dreadful first half into a satisfying second you used it as another reason to bag out Maranta and the coach. Very crafty but that conversation is played out.

Hopefully Jordie can produce more performances like his second half and not his first...but not against Easts this weekend.

Have to agree 100 percent Pete.

Dazzat

Hang on ... didn't I write something about Kahu having speed and X Factor? Must have been imagining it.

Yep, Kahu gets the best of both worlds. Bails out of the NRL, but still gets a finals gig with Wynnum.

GoTheBroncs

Have to side slightly with Dazzat in the Kahu/Maranta issue.

Think there was a game when both Kahu and Maranta played. Maranta had a shocker and Kahu played well. The following week it would have been a great opportunity to give Kahu an extended opportunity.

Not that it would have made much difference to our season, but it would have given Kahu a great chance to impress for 2015.