Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fitzy is at it again (From the Telegraph)

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,20434100-23214,00.html
Axe Sunday games: Fitzgerald

By Dean Ritchie
September 19, 2006
PARRAMATTA chief executive Denis Fitzgerald has called on the NRL to ban all Sunday matches.
Fitzgerald agrees with the NRL's decision to banish Sunday matches from weeks two and three of the finals, but incredibly believes it should be extended to the season proper.
"Look at sport world-wide, it's all moving toward night time," Fitzgerald said. "I don't want semi-finals played on a Sunday. I'd rather not have any matches right through the competition played on a Sunday.
"The game is about night - that's what generates the excitement. There are more people available to go to night matches.
"I'm also a very keen supporter of a night grand final."
Channel 9 initially approached the NRL about scheduling Friday and Saturday finals, and club CEOs approved the proposal.
The American NFL plays the bulk of its matches on a Sunday afternoon.
h14_dailytelegraph.gif

Looks like Bulldog Ritche nees a feed early this year.

Oh well, discussion will help fill column inches seeing as there's less games to cover at the moment. If Denis is anything he is "provocative"...

Personally I feel it should be left up to each club to choose the timeslots that work best for their own home games, blanket rules benefit no-one except the broadcasting companies quest for prime time ratings and exposure/ad revenue.

Guess it's clear what Deni$' preference is for Eels home games... if he can get a decent enough crowd in attendance, better chance for pocketing the money for a free-to-air TV game, and hope that people come back to the club and feed the pokies, then he's doing what he thinks his job is. Pity the footy's not about building a community anymore, with little chance of 10pm after-match functions or family involvement?

Utey

I agree with him, I love night matches. Whether or not they need to be banned permanently I dont know. Night matches get larger crowds most of the time anyways.

there's a bit of conjecture as to whether he not he does want the football patrons into the club at all...but i guess that's another story.

regardless, it's nice to see that Fitzy has done Dean Ritchie another favour.

mind you in the USA alot of where they play footy is f**kin cold and snowed in - day games are cold enough, forget nights

The Engineers Room

Sunday afternoon is my favourite game. I just wish the saturday afternoon game was still on (not the 5:30 game). And is the monday night game going to be televised on free to air? If not it is the most ridiculous concept ever. I guarantee the crowds will not be good and not everyone has pay TV.

fish eel

Most domestic european football is played on saturday and sunday afternoons.

Fitzy does have some good things to say sometimes.

Problem is, he comes out with so much crap, nobody listens.

fish eel said:

:lol: ... that pretty much sums it up

<UPtheEELS> said:
I agree with him, I love night matches. Whether or not they need to be banned permanently I dont know. Night matches get larger crowds most of the time anyways.

Sunday afternoon games drew more crowds than Saturday night games this season - I think the average was about 2,500 more bums on seats overall. Before you say its not that big a difference - that is per game. Friday night games generally draw a big crowd because its a blockbuster game but you just have to look at the crowds that have attended finals matches in the past two weeks.

You could almost guarantee a bigger crowd at the SFS on Sunday then there will be this Friday night.

The Ref in Seat 196 said:
Sunday afternoon is my favourite game. I just wish the saturday afternoon game was still on (not the 5:30 game). And is the monday night game going to be televised on free to air? If not it is the most ridiculous concept ever. I guarantee the crowds will not be good and not everyone has pay TV.

The Roosters, Melbourne and us will will do very well out of Monday night games. There will be a few clubs that won't want them but given the proximity to good transport and a big CBD those teams will get some good crowds.

fish eel said:
Most domestic european football is played on saturday and sunday afternoons.

I think alot of people are interested in his comments whether they're ridiculous or not. plenty of people rang up in response of them on the BSB and was also interviewed during the program.

I just think too many people make a big deal out of it.

nöyd

The Ref in Seat 196 said:
And is the monday night game going to be televised on free to air?

I'm fairly certain it is only going to be on Fox.

scottyeel

I personally do prefer night games, only because it's a pain driving 2 hours home on a Sunday night.
But in saying that there's nothing better tham a full Parra Stadium on a Sunday arvo (ala Broncos game).

emjaycee

I don't know whether it's true or not, but NFL games on a sunday afternoon may work because it's one city - one team. So there isn't competing games in the same city all sharing the same population base.

In the NRL (and AFL for that matter) with a large percentage of teams located in one city (i.e. Sydney) then the rugby league supporter base is split between all of those teams and this dilutes the crowd size. Hence the reason Townsville, Newcastle, Canberra, Brisbane see larger crowds than most home games for the Sydney teams.

WRT to Sunday afternoon games, I enjoy them and make a day of it, with an early lunch in Church St before heading out to the Stadium to watch PL. I don't mind Saturday night or Saturday afternoon games either, but working in Nth Sydney and living in Nth Ryde, a Friday or Monday night game sux 'cause it's a mad rush to get out of work and get out there in time for kick-off.

Utey

The Colonel said:
Sunday afternoon games drew more crowds than Saturday night games this season - I think the average was about 2,500 more bums on seats overall. Before you say its not that big a difference - that is per game. Friday night games generally draw a big crowd because its a blockbuster game but you just have to look at the crowds that have attended finals matches in the past two weeks.

You could almost guarantee a bigger crowd at the SFS on Sunday then there will be this Friday night.

Very interesting stat...

mickdo

Well, nearly all the NFL games are sold out for the season, so it isn't a fair comparison in that respect.

I don't think we should get rid of Sunday games. A full day without football on the weekend is just handing an advantage to other codes.

The Colonel said:

gotta look at what the games are too tho - I mean Parra v Broncos business end of the season would likely draw a big house day or night, but it happened to be Sunday arvo ..... often the Sunday games are better opponents/games so they would draw better crowds