Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Flogball fear is here!

THE clever marketing work of the Bulldogs in taking NRL games to South Australia could be wiped out under the new AFL-brokered $450 million redevelopment deal for Adelaide Oval approved this week.
We hear the AFL will try to ensure the NRL doesn't get the benefit of the new venue. Note to NRL HQ - the N in your name stands for National and Adelaide is a natural expansion market.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/in-todd-we-trust/story-e6freye0-1226051688948

SMELL THE FEAR!!!!

This mob know rugby league hasn't gone anywhere near realising its full potential.

ParraEelsNRL

The NRL and Bulldogs should tell them merkins to go f**k themselves.

Since when does the AFL own any of the Cricket grounds in this country?

Never.

The MCG is not called the Melbourne AFL ground and neither are any of the others.

And where the hell are Cricket Australia's balls in regards to AFL and their running rampant over them at every frigging ground in the country?

Typical Arrogant Merkins, Vlad and his Cronies think they run the country or something.

The NRL and Bulldogs should tell them merkins to go f**k themselves.

Since when does the AFL own any of the Cricket grounds in this country?

Never.

The MCG is not called the Melbourne AFL ground and neither are any of the others.

And where the hell are Cricket Australia's balls in regards to AFL and their running rampant over them at every frigging ground in the country?
Sutherland is a Victorian, i bet he loves Vlad sticking it up his clacker.

Sucks that the Rams got culled since Adelaide Oval was there original home before moving to Hindmarsh Stadium. Hypothetically, if the Rams were here today I would of see them have games at Hindmarsh for the low drawing games eg Sharks & Adelaide Oval for the big drawing games eg Broncos,etc. Adelaide had surprising potential too bad they were introduced in the wrong possible time Super League war.

Watching games at hindmarsh is better than adel oval IMO, but i would be severely disappointed if the NRL couldn't play games at Adel Oval after the redevelopment!

I think if programmed well, the game would get a great crowd.
The last three NRL games was Melb v Penrith which they put on the Easter weekend up against an AFL game and Oakbank races, so was doomed to get good numbers but they still got 7,000 or so. Cronulla v Cowboys on a beautifull Sun arvo was near capacity and then last year at Adel Oval the dogs game got over 10,000 im pretty sure.

The best RL crowds in Adelaide have come at the Adelaide Oval.

Vlad is scared little bitty RL might want to play on his tax payer funded ground.

Poor diddums..

F E A R

elbusto

Watching games at hindmarsh is better than adel oval IMO, but i would be severely disappointed if the NRL couldn't play games at Adel Oval after the redevelopment!

The last three NRL games was Melb v Penrith which they put on the Easter weekend up against an AFL game and Oakbank races, so was doomed to get good numbers but they still got 7,000 or so. Cronulla v Cowboys on a beautifull Sun arvo was near capacity and then last year at Adel Oval the dogs game got over 10,000 im pretty sure.
Blah blah blah!!!

Lockyer4President!

Who is going to be operating the stadium after the redevelopment and is it going to have movable seats so we can play footy there?

NRL has only ever paid lip service to being interesed in Adelaide. Maybe if the NRL gets serious about wanting RL to grow in SA then SA might get more interested in RL.

LeagueXIII

I think the new Adelaide Oval would be seen more by rugby league as a venue that could host origins and tests.

Why would they give us preference if we don't have a team in Adelaide?

This is not about preference; it's about general use.

Back in the early 90's there were some big Adelaide Oval crowds as RL was trying to gain a foothold there. St George v Wests and St george v Balmain packed the ground out.

We could also play Tests and Origins at the ground and it appears the AFL want to kill the thought of any RL being on the ground at all.

Spanner in the works

This is not about preference; it's about general use.

Back in the early 90's there were some big Adelaide Oval crowds as RL was trying to gain a foothold there. St George v Wests and St george v Balmain packed the ground out.

We could also play Tests and Origins at the ground and it appears the AFL want to kill the thought of any RL being on the ground at all.

I think that's the thing though. We could do all this stuff but have we done any of this stuff? Apart from the odd club game, we've made no effort really.

Lockyer4President!

I think that's the thing though. We could do all this stuff but have we done any of this stuff? Apart from the odd club game, we've made no effort really.

Neither of Adelaide’s current stadiums are suitable for footy. Like many here I don’t like that they’re raping the cricketing heritage of the Adelaide Oval simply for the AFL’s sake but we may aswell take advantage of the fact.

An increased capacity & better facilities all at a central location for the general public mean that bringing the football gospel to the unwashed masses became just a little bit easier. :)

I would like to think that this will ultimately be a good thing for an NRL team based in Adelaide.

This is the News LTD part-owned NRL we are talking about here. What else do you expect from them? This is, in effect, the same mob that killed off the Rams and Reds.

I'd like to think things would change IF the IC gets up.

That Cowboys v Sharks game barely drew 7k, and proved that Adelaide was pretty useless as a potential home base for an NRL side compared to other options.

If Greenberg is as good as they say he is (I reckon he is the best club administrator in the game) then go tit for tat with ANZ. Tell them if they want their best tennant to stay put, block out GWS.

Spanner in the works

Neither of Adelaide’s current stadiums are suitable for footy. Like many here I don’t like that they’re raping the cricketing heritage of the Adelaide Oval simply for the AFL’s sake but we may aswell take advantage of the fact.

An increased capacity & better facilities all at a central location for the general public mean that bringing the football gospel to the unwashed masses became just a little bit easier. :)

I would like to think that this will ultimately be a good thing for an NRL team based in Adelaide.

I know. That's why I do question what the point of us in trying to have rights at the Adelaide Oval would be? If we are going to spread the game, then wouldn't a stadium built for rugby/rugby league/football be better? I just don't see the point of us in trying for Adelaide Oval.

This is the News LTD part-owned NRL we are talking about here. What else do you expect from them? This is, in effect, the same mob that killed off the Rams and Reds.

I'd like to think things would change IF the IC gets up.

I totally agree. I wonder how much bad publicity we are going to experience once News Limited has left the game. They will have no vested interest in the code anymore, so they have little reason to protect the code.