Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Folau

Dorsai

mate, everyone has different beliefs. But if your beliefs are belittling a group of people and saying that they’ll go to hell, then keep your beliefs to yourself. I don’t care how good he is on the field.

The thing is this, I like a drink, I have also smoked during my life, and swore, and had sex out of marriage. Now if you take his original quote, I am 4 times more likely to go to hell than homosexuals.

It was much easier to be up and outraged over that single part of the bible quote than take the whole thing in context.

I don’t agree with him for one minute. But he has a right to speak his beliefs. As do you. As do I. As do anyone. The media beat it up as hate speech because it was like gold.

I understand you have your opinion, no worries, but let’s look at the football and not judge him for his beliefs.

The thing is this, I like a drink, I have also smoked during my life, and swore, and had sex out of marriage. Now if you take his original quote, I am 4 times more likely to go to hell than homosexuals.

It was much easier to be up and outraged over that single part of the bible quote than take the whole thing in context.

I don’t agree with him for one minute. But he has a right to speak his beliefs. As do you. As do I. As do anyone. The media beat it up as hate speech because it was like gold.

I understand you have your opinion, no worries, but let’s look at the football and not judge him for his beliefs.
Just to clarify

the sex out of marriage was straight sex?

Dorsai

And those of us whom those beliefs attack, have a right to condemn him for it.

I am pretty sure that’s what I said. Everyone is entitled to an opinion. You, him, everyone. Doesn’t meat you have to like it, doesn’t mean he has to like it. But your entitled to not like what he says. I didn’t at all, I respect his right to have an opinion though.

The thing is.....

(According to Israel’s post)

You’d be 4 times as likely to go to “hell” based on your choices.

Had you chosen not to do those things, you wouldn’t be going to “hell”..

Unfortunately for someone who is born homosexual, they don’t have a choice if they are going to “hell”.

According to Israel it’s because of who they are, not what they choose do.

And that’s the issue.

Prometheus

I am pretty sure that’s what I said. Everyone is entitled to an opinion. You, him, everyone. Doesn’t meat you have to like it, doesn’t mean he has to like it. But your entitled to not like what he says. I didn’t at all, I respect his right to have an opinion though.

I understand. But my point was that while he has a right to his opinion, the rest of us have the right to demand that he not be signed because of that opinion.

R&WTILLIDIE

you make a good point mate. But here is my opinion...(and it’s just mine)...so here is Folau...a bloke with a lot of media attention on him because he is a great footy player, who goes out there and talks about a group of people who have no choice in who they are...he says that they will burn in hell for their beliefs. He also said that God brought the bushfires to NSW because we voted to allow this group of people to get married.

I agree with free speech. But I don’t agree that gives you the right to spread hate and belittle a group of people because of who they are...that’s why (in my opinion) he can go get farked.

Ps. I also like a drink, have smoked and have had sex outside of marriage...

these are my choices. He can say whatever he wants...if he is against them.

but he shouldn’t be a merkin to people who have no choice in who they are.

Dorsai

The thing is.....

(According to Israel’s post)

You’d be 4 times as likely to go to “hell” based on your choices.

Had you chosen not to do those things, you wouldn’t be going to “hell”..

Unfortunately for someone who is born homosexual, they don’t have a choice if they are going to “hell”.

According to Israel it’s because of who they are, not what they choose do.

And that’s the issue.

I may stand corrected, as I would need to see the exact quote he made, not the media reports, but I don’t know if he made a distinction between choice and who they are.

I thought the bible quote was that if you indulged in any then that’s were you were headed. Therefore it would not make a difference. If he said differently, then my apologies.

I still however firmly believe we all have a right to an opinion regardless. We can choose to ignore or say we do not like it or, as the vote on marriage decided, reject the previous interpretation and embrace something more inclusive.

Prometheus

So, you also belief we should not sign any Muslims? They have the same opinion.

How do you know the opinions of any particular Muslim? There are plenty of Christians who don't believe the homophobic elements of Christianity. There could be just as many Muslims who don't agree with the homophobic elements of Islam. I wouldn't assume that all Muslims are homophobic any more than I would assume that all Christians are.

Dorsai

I understand. But my point was that while he has a right to his opinion, the rest of us have the right to demand that he not be signed because of that opinion.

Look, I understand your thoughts, and as I say, you are entitled to speak your mind, but if we start saying we are not going to sign this player or that player because they did something we run a slippery slope.

Debate is fine, not everyone is going to be happy for sure, but I don’t know if we can just start saying we don’t want this or that because they said this or believe that. But yeah, I know what your saying.

Dorsai

Do you believe that homosexuality is a choice?

what’s that got to do with anything? Frankly I do not care. If a person is homosexual for whatever reason it’s their business. I am not a psychologist, I have not studied the reasoning behind why people are straight or gay. People are people.

my point was I do not remember choice being part of the quote, nothing more.

Forbes Creek Dragons

It’s not about having an opinion. Many people hold the same opinion and go about their business without subjecting the world to their hatred.

But Folau used a position of influence to attack a vulnerable group of people. That makes him an arsehole.
Maybe but I have been around some of these brainwashed folk before. It is basically a cult, they get taught all this rubbish how Jesus died for your sins and if you don't put yourself out there and get crucified verbally in the name of God you are not a true Christian, it is basically the same rubbish people that join ISIS get taught albeit slightly less violent. If you don't sacrifice yourself for Allah you are not a true Muslim etc. Its all a load of crap and I can't believe he's stupid enough to fall for it but I genuinely don't think he's an arsehole. To be honest he probably believes what he says so strongly that he believes he is helping gay people avoid hell. It is extremely difficult to understand if you are not in that world and I certainly would never allow myself to get that brainwashed but that's my view on it. I would honestly just ignore him and encourage all my gay friends to also do so, but I think deep down he is not filled with hate, just lacking in braincells a touch, which is perfect for a footy player.
I know most people on here won't agree with me but that is how I see it.