Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Football Staff for 2021

Inisai Toga

Always had a high regard for Matt Elliot when he was at the Dragons early in his career. Enjoyed watching him go around.Now hopefully to enjoy a continuation of Matt Elliot back with us at St George Illawarra.:confused:
I did too! He was playing in an era were we particularly strong and had a host of strong second rowers on the books, yet his skills and intelligent play still stood out.

Maddragon99

I reckon we need an experienced outside back..

Our kiddies have shown their potential, just need some experience in the 3/4 line..

But we need to go hard for some good forwards..

Problem is if we bring in a experienced 3/4 like Williame it’s just a road block for the youth

soc123_au

Hook & Elliott together will be very interesting. Run Hard, Tackle Hard written on a beer coaster from Hook & then Elliott bringing out the whiteboard looking like a solution for string theory. I'm not sure what Gentle brings to the party, maybe for cuddles after a loss.

I'm not sure how it will pan out, but I will be a very keen neutral observer. I was happy to see the back of both at Penrith when the time came, but still wish them good luck in their new venture. Elliott especially seems like a really good guy, just maybe too deep a thinker for most players to grasp.

Walpole

Hook & Elliott together will be very interesting. Run Hard, Tackle Hard written on a beer coaster from Hook & then Elliott bringing out the whiteboard looking like a solution for string theory. I'm not sure what Gentle brings to the party, maybe for cuddles after a loss.

I'm not sure how it will pan out, but I will be a very keen neutral observer. I was happy to see the back of both at Penrith when the time came, but still wish them good luck in their new venture. Elliott especially seems like a really good guy, just maybe too deep a thinker for most players to grasp.
Maybe Gentle is there to interpret Elliott's ideas for Hook. In all honesty though, most of us Dragons fans would have been happy for an empty chair to replace what we had.
PS. Good luck to you blokes this weekend, hope you smash the Roosters.

I disagree, Elliot is not a deep thinker, he Just has a tendency to indulge in psycho babble and management bullshite like Mary.

Do some web searches and there he is. A rat with a gold tooth.

But at other times, he does have a laugh at himself which I like.

I don’t think Hook would have brought him in if he didn’t have other talents.

But it’s the most interesting coaching group in the game for sure. No young fools or whiz bangers anywhere in sight.

Millwards retention suggests he wasn’t blamed for the performances. It’s a smack in the chops for Mary as by retaining miller’s, the club is suggesting that he can’t blame his roster for his 7 year Frankenstein coaching experiment.

As far as the club is concerned, Mary butchered the talent Miller’s spent sleepless nights trying to retain and recruit. It’s interesting that mills wasn’t sacked earlier as yet another fall guy for Marys total incompetence like scores of others.

Plus some good kids jinking through, people are excited about.

So I’m pleased Mills hangs onto something to prove himself by. By the skin of his teeth, but better than job keeper.

Pity about our mate Hosty. Top bloke, stock at least.
He’d make a good tiger.

Dragon David

I disagree, Elliot is not a deep thinker, he Just has a tendency to indulge in psycho babble and management bullshite like Mary.

But at other times, he does laugh at himself which I like.

But it’s the most interesting coaching group in the game for sure. No young fools anywhere in sight.

Millwards retention suggests he wasn’t blamed for the performances. It’s a smack in the chops for Mary as by retaining miller’s, the club is suggesting that he can’t blame his roster for his 7 year Frankenstein coaching experiment.

As far as the club is concerned, Mary butchered the talent Miller’s spent sleepless nights trying to retain and recruit.

Elliot as a head coach was very average at best. I don't know how he went overseas or at Canberra but was mediocre at the Panthers:
2007: Wooden Spoon
2008: 11th
2009: 12th (we thrashed them twice that year - I remember the camera swinging around at Elliot in the wings not wanting to show his face because of his embarrassment as to the way his team was being beaten by Bennett's Dragons in one of the games)
2010: 2nd behind us
2011: 12th and got the bullet that year.
Elliot as an assistant would be different. He does have a good analytical head and he and Gentle could provide the necessary good assistance to Griffin - have to wait and see I guess.

Elliot as a head coach was very average at best. I don't know how he went overseas or at Canberra but was mediocre at the Panthers:
2007: Wooden Spoon
2008: 11th
2009: 12th (we thrashed them twice that year - I remember the camera swinging around at Elliot in the wings not wanting to show his face because of his embarrassment as to the way his team was being beaten by Bennett's Dragons in one of the games)
2010: 2nd behind us
2011: 12th and got the bullet that year.
Elliot as an assistant would be different. He does have a good analytical head and he and Gentle could provide the necessary good assistance to Griffin - have to wait and see I guess.

Yeah, he’s ok about pure footy. Things such as player positioning ( one of his strengths I think) he’s great. He can see the whole and pick up on teams game plans very very quickly.

But when he blathers on about “effort” and being “ powerful” and thinks he’s a life coach, a psychologist and tries to put on a white shirt and tie, he’s just embarrassing.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt and ffs that’s a really experienced coaching group. 3 in 1 package with no passengers. Not the Mcidiot whinging on because He doesn’t have the coaching panels numbers to select Aitken again.

I like Gentle, not a bad word to say about him and Hook goes ok.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Yeah, he’s ok about pure footy. Things such as player positioning ( one of his strengths I think) he’s great. He can see the whole and pick up on teams game plans very very quickly.

But when he blathers on about “effort” and being “ powerful” and thinks he’s a life coach, a psychologist and tries to put on a white shirt and tie, he’s just embarrassing.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt and ffs that’s a really experienced coaching group. 3 in 1 package with no passengers. Not the Mcidiot whinging on because He doesn’t have the coaching panels numbers to select Aitken again.

I like Gentle, not a bad word to say about him and Hook goes ok.
What do you think about Madge? Has he brought any pythons in the change rooms yet?:joy: He is apparently a real hardnut. I’ve always preferred the Tigers to play razzle dazzle. Go the Tigers too by the way they just won the GF, the Gundagai Tigers that is.

Only 9 sacked/released, the legacy players kept, 4 moved up from development, 3 new players, momo back.

New assistants being brought in. Only a few spots left for 21.

War chest for 2022 ( I almost typed 2032!)

Still a belief that he can turn players and attitudes around. A bit of glitter off last years effort.

Goal kicking has been killing us for years, elephant in the room ( ask flanno!).

Change room rebellion all but wiped out.

Its like Madge is a nuclear rocket and everyone’s sitting on him at the launchpad and the countdown counts up, not down.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Only 9 sacked/released, the legacy players kept, 4 moved up from development, 3 new players, momo back.

New assistants being brought in. Only a few spots left for 21.

War chest for 2022 ( I almost typed 2032!)

Still a belief that he can turn players and attitudes around. A bit of glitter off last years effort.

Goal kicking has been killing us for years, elephant in the room ( ask flanno!).

Change room rebellion all but wiped out.
Wonder if they are still after Saab, and if you end up with Norman I personally apologise.

redandwhite4evr

But at other times, he does have a laugh at himself which I like.

But it’s the most interesting coaching group in the game for sure. No young fools or whiz bangers anywhere in sight.

As far as the club is concerned, Mary butchered the talent Miller’s spent sleepless nights trying to retain and recruit. It’s interesting that mills wasn’t sacked earlier as yet another fall guy for Marys total incompetence like scores of others.

So I’m pleased Mills hangs onto something to prove himself by. By the skin of his teeth, but better than job keeper.

He’d make a good tiger.

A generous assessment of Millward's contribution- There was a general misunderstanding on this forum about Millward's role with Mary but it is now universally acknowledged by journos in the know that he had final say on who was to be recruited and how much was to be paid. Some of his most recent contributions - Merrin-dud, Williame- dud, Norman- outrageously overpriced dud.

IMO, he was lucky to survive.

A generous assessment of Millward's contribution- There was a general misunderstanding on this forum about Millward's role with Mary but it is now universally acknowledged by journos in the know that he had final say on who was to be recruited and how much was to be paid. Some of his most recent contributions - Merrin-dud, Williame- dud, Norman- outrageously overpriced dud.

Definitely think Millward’s retention was a show of power from the Illawarra mafia.

You can take away their stooge coach, but they’ll still enact their power over the club in less visible ways.

A virtual horse’s head in the bed..

Despite the above proposition, I think Mills survived because the board/Webby accepted the evidence that Mary couldn’t coach and conducted himself poorly otherwise.

He quite stupidly confessed that he had the team he wanted and we all saw the implosion of 2019.

Perhaps I could add that the players you mentioned, they were much better players until Mary got hold of them.

I can just see the Mills fronting up to the board or whatever and making this case.

The Suli failure condemns Mills, but given what tooli said about sgi afterwards, too bad for him.

Now Manly are a trainwreck trying to buy tigers fringe stock.

Mills is better judged without Mary killing off the last bit of playing instinct.

I think that explains his continued tenure or was a factor.

May be an odd way of looking at the situation with our new lineup of coaching staff , however gentlemen always remember that it takes more than one ingredient in a stew to make it taste delicious .

Each of the Dragons mentors individually may not mount to much , but together they may do an exceptionally good job .

May be an odd way of looking at the situation with our new lineup of coaching staff , however gentlemen always remember that it takes more than one ingredient in a stew to make it taste delicious .

Each of the Dragons mentors individually may not mount to much , but together they may do an exceptionally good job .

Another example:

The Rabbitohs smash the Roosters into next season because the vast majority of the side are up for the match. Not one player, but many.

gitano

I like the notion that they each bring their own strengths, but why not have one of the assistants be new school? Someone similar vintage to Ryles or Fitzgibbon who are on the pulse tactically?

It's got a real 'my grandparents are getting nbn but don't know what a modem or computer is' vibe about it all.