What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Former Kangaroos star Ian Roberts will reveal rugby league has left him with brain da

DC_fan

Coach
KANGAROO great Ian Roberts will reveal on Sunday night that he is brain-damaged from his rugby league playing days.

In a gripping interview on Channel Seven’s Sunday Night program, Roberts exposes the after effects of a career for Australia, NSW, South Sydney, Manly and the Cowboys.

The 48-year-old says: “I have brain damage. I’ve been acting now for 10 years, studying lines and that kind of thing.

One day you have it down and then the next day you’re like I have just lost all that info (sic) again.

“That’s really, I mean really scary stuff . . .”

Fears of future legal action from battered old players like Roberts is why the NRL is treating concussion issues so seriously.

It’s why the shoulder charge has been outlawed and punching banned in recent years, much to the annoyance and irritation of old-school fans.

There is huge concern in the NRL about the concussion backlash in the US, with former NFL stars lining up to take legal action.

Roberts is one of the toughest and most fearless men I have ever seen on a football field.

He played the game with relentless aggression and as a result suffered a number of concussions.

“You know, when you are 25, at the top of your game, you know you’re ten foot and bullet proof,” he told the show.

RUGBY LEAGUE PLAYER DONATES BRAIN TO RESEARCH

DEGENERATIVE BRAIN DISEASE FOUND IN FORMER RUGBY PLAYER

“I’m 48 at the moment and when you have those lapses I have to check myself and I’m like, ‘oh why can’t I remember that or am I remembering that rightly?’”