Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Four Broncos cleared of sex assault allegations

Ill edit my original post to remove the name.

"I didnt see the alleged incident but i personally ran into _____________ last night in the vally outside that place, there were a few police talking to a couple of guys on the footpath.

Like i said, i didnt see any incidents or any wrongdoing actually happening, just that i saw _________ and i imagine he is one of the guys linked to this story.
"
The gutter journos that report this stuff as fact before even the cops can confirm anything would thrive on posts like yours, naming someone's name even though there is nothing to connect them to any incident.

Give yourself an upper cut!

Charlie124

The gutter journos that report this stuff as fact before even the cops can confirm anything would thrive on posts like yours, naming someone's name even though there is nothing to connect them to any incident.

Like i said (a few times now) i didnt see him DO anything, just that he was definitly there. it thats "nothing to connect them" then i dont know what is, its not like i said he was the one who committed the alleged assault, all ive said was that i saw this player and that they will be one of the ones police will talk to.

As far as we know he could have witnessed someone else do it, or it might not have happend at all.

I re-posted my original after removing the players name because it got deleted, the reason given was "no names". why was the nameless post deleted then?

Massoud has somethng to write about now. must of been fretting that there would be nothing negative to put in one of his articles

Lockyer4President!

Like i said (a few times now) i didnt see him DO anything, just that he was definitly there. it thats "nothing to connect them" then i dont know what is, its not like i said he was the one who committed the alleged assault, all ive said was that i saw this player and that they will be one of the ones police will talk to.

As far as we know he could have witnessed someone else do it, or it might not have happend at all.

I re-posted my original after removing the players name because it got deleted, the reason given was "no names". why was the nameless post deleted then?

Mate you know what the media are like in this country, it's shoot first, ask questions later. Remember the 'Tigers Gang Rape' headline in the DT a few years ago?

Charlie124

Mate you know what the media are like in this country, it's shoot first, ask questions later. Remember the 'Tigers Gang Rape' headline in the DT a few years ago?

I see where youre coming from, and i would agree with you if i was in here saying something like "it was probably Joe Bloggs because he would do that sort of thing".

All ive reported was seeing this particular player in the vally outside that club at the time. That is a fact, not speculation. Why they were there is completely unknown to me and i havnt said otherwise.

Lockyer4President!

I see where youre coming from, and i would agree with you if i was in here saying something like "it was probably Joe Bloggs because he would do that sort of thing".

All ive reported was seeing this particular player in the vally outside that club at the time. That is a fact, not speculation. Why they were there is completely unknown to me and i havnt said otherwise.

I didn't mean to sound like I was having a go at you mate. Just saying you've got to be careful because there are journo's who hunt around these kind of sites looking for a name, any name, that they can tie to a story.

Give Charlie a go. He fixed it - handled the mistake pretty well.

Remember, it's heresay. Innocent until proven guilty. Bird may prove to be in that case yet.

Credit to you for going back and fixing it up...

But how about thinking not to say anything at all in the first place? It's irrelevant who you might have seen in that suburb, or on the footpath out the front of the joint on the night conerned.

I reckon all of us should just let this thread slide to the second page tonight and tomorrow, and show the DT/CM gossip mongers that we don't give a stuff about their story until there's some facts to report. There's too much good footy to talk about atthe moment than bother with this stuff until there's some substance established imo.

do the DT league reporters ever actually watch any of the games?

i wouldn't have thought so

Charlie124

Credit to you for going back and fixing it up...

But how about thinking not to say anything at all in the first place? It's irrelevant who you might have seen in that suburb, or on the footpath out the front of the joint on the night conerned.

Sorry, i just thought it was pretty freaking relevant to this thread (remember i didnt start this thread).

The fact is that people are interested these kinds of things, should they be? maybe not, but they are.

DangerMouse_007

BTW, what is your purported reason for defending News at every opportunity?

I don't defend News Ltd or the Daily Telegraph. I think it is an awful paper. I just reject the conspiracy theory that News are actively trying to destroy the game. I think the DT are just a bad tabloid paper that trade in scandals. I'm not saying some of this doesn't hurt RL, but it's driven by money and journalistic factors, not anti RL ones.

Calixte

I don't defend News Ltd or the Daily Telegraph. I think it is an awful paper. I just reject the conspiracy theory that News are actively trying to destroy the game. I think the DT are just a bad tabloid paper that trade in scandals. I'm not saying some of this doesn't hurt RL, but it's driven by money and journalistic factors, not anti RL ones.

I don't doubt that those sentiments are at work also. It is so obvious it does not require amplification.

But anyone who believes certain elements at media outlets identified here on LU aren't anti-rugby league is frankly an idiot.

you're defending it now

DangerMouse_007

So what I should attack them over every single thing they do?

There are a lot of people that really despise George Bush. However they don't all believe that he organized the 911 attacks. In fact the majority of Bush haters probably find this accusation ludicrous.

I don't love News Ltd or the Daily Telegraph but I also don't accept they are out to kill League. Why is it too hard for some people to grasp that I can hold both opinions?

If any media outlet was going to have it in for RL it would be the SMH. They love breaking the scandals (think coffs) and ran a big "what's wrong with league" campaign. I still don't think they have it in for League though. What they report is what you'd expect.

andirect

THREE Brisbane Broncos rugby league players are being investigated over an alleged sexual assault in an inner-city nightclub on Saturday night.
Queensland police are tomorrow expected to interview the players over claims that a woman was sexually assaulted in the toilets of Fortitude Valley's Alhambra Lounge nightclub.
But it is believed the alleged victim is yet to make a formal complaint.
Police established a crime scene at the nightclub soon after it opened its doors at 8pm on Saturday.
A police spokeswoman said: "Police are investigating an alleged incident."
It is understood the players had been celebrating Friday night's semi-final victory over the Sydney Roosters and arrived at Alhambra Lounge after being evicted from another Brisbane hotel.
Broncos boss Bruno Cullen could not be reached for comment.
Four Broncos players have been sacked over drinking-related incidents.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24344295-952,00.html

what a sad day it is if there's truth to such allegations, especially ahead of what is being built as one of the games of the year.

innocent until proven guilty, but i can imagine players being stood down while investigations are carried out, which could ruin brisbane's hopes this year.