Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Frank Hyde R.I.P

roopy

I suppose all you can say is 'it's long enough, and straight enough, and straight between the posts' for old Frank (for those who don't remember his calls - that's how he called every goal).

big pat

does anyone remember the old footy show frank hyde, ron casey,alan clarkson, ferris ashton, those guys were almighty, would leave these blokes today for dead,people would tune in to see ron casey and frank hyde have a go at one another,good clean fun no gimmicks, take a leaf matty johns.

Rexxy

Oh Danny Boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountainside.
The summer's gone, and all the roses falling
'Tis you, 'tis you must go and I must bide.
But come ye back when summer's in the meadow
Or when the valley's hushed and white with snow,
For I'll be here in sunshine or in shadow.
Oh Danny Boy, oh Danny Boy, I love you so.

parra pete

And Ray Stehr..."Easts to win"
Frank and Won Casey used to go at it hammer and tongs.
Wasn't Ferdi Ashton and Clarko with the Moose on Channel seven?
Frank used to commentate from the sideline, and used to crack it if the ballboy got in front of him. And the end of the game kids used to run onto the ground...and he would give them a blast.
WE had Frank in town twice in the past 15 years, once for a Sportsman of the Year Presentation, and another time as an Australia Day ambassador.
His lovely wife Gabriel is from around these parts.
Frank was an absolute champion.

Grew up listening to Frank on the wireless, what a great man.

Hopefully there will be a suitable tribute for this Sundays Grand Final.

big pat

parra pete said:
And Ray Stehr..."Easts to win"
Frank and Won Casey used to go at it hammer and tongs.
Wasn't Ferdi Ashton and Clarko with the Moose on Channel seven?
Frank used to commentate from the sideline, and used to crack it if the ballboy got in front of him. And the end of the game kids used to run onto the ground...and he would give them a blast.
WE had Frank in town twice in the past 15 years, once for a Sportsman of the Year Presentation, and another time as an Australia Day ambassador.
His lovely wife Gabriel is from around these parts.
Frank was an absolute champion.
yes i think you are right about ashton and clarkson,who was on with casey and frank,was tiger black ever on nine.

gunnamatta bay

Rexxy said:
Oh Danny Boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountainside.
The summer's gone, and all the roses falling
'Tis you, 'tis you must go and I must bide.
But come ye back when summer's in the meadow
Or when the valley's hushed and white with snow,
For I'll be here in sunshine or in shadow.
Oh Danny Boy, oh Danny Boy, I love you so.

I just got a lump in my throat.

I've seen my team win a few comps..I've seen many a great game and many great players, I've felt every emotion this game had on offer as a supporter but more importantly I shook the hands of 2 beautiful men in the game of Rugby league, Jack Gibson and Frank Hyde it was 2 moments I'll never forget.

Godbless you Frank..they'll be singing Danny boy in heaven tonight.

RIP Frank

The Voice of Rugby League

At 91 years of age, Frank Hyde had a good innings. He captained NSW, won a premiership, has been a captain-coach and a referee. One of life’s true gentlemen, Frank has been awarded an OAM, a MBE and a Dally M ‘Life Achievement’ Award. His career has seen him as a writer and journalist. In the 1970s, Frank had a top 10 hit with his rendition of ‘Danny Boy’. But most notably, Frank Hyde will be remembered as a radio caller and ‘the voice of rugby league’.

More...
http://www.leagueunlimited.com/article.php?newsid=14845

One of the great callers of the game and one of the true legends. RIP Frank. :cry:

Your voice will forever live on "Its long enough, its high enough and its straight between the posts".

I know he's been around a while but it still floored me when I heard the news this morning.
I was lucky enough to meet him at Henson during a Jets/Norths game and a mate of mine brought in an old leather ball to get signed.
He signs his name between posts with flags by the way.
It's a shame he won't see the bears next week or league in its centenary year.
God bless you Frank.

Misty Bee

I met twice. First time, I was a young upstart around 13 trying to get into the Cumberland dressing sheds after an big Eels/Dragons clash. Along came Frank and Alan Carkson, deep in conversation. I remember seeing them, and cheekily said 'G'Day Frank'. In those days courtesy demanded I called him 'Mr Hyde' and not interrupted. Nevertheless, he interupted his conversation, said "G'Day" back - he was the only person prepared to treat me as an equal that day, and I certainly didn't deserve that.

Much later on I was in a pub one afternoon with a friend, and Frank was there. We chatted for a while - not an ounce of ego or arrogance about the men.

I believe he was the greatest role model for the players who followed.

He used to broadcast alone, from the sidelines, with a table and a mic. No protection from fans. No birds eye view of the players. As mentioned above, he'd give it to ball boys, photographers, camera men if they got in his way. But he never had an agenda, never criticised the players, or referees. He didn't scream like an idiot when a try was scored. He never took a break, never had shade, copped the rain, hail and shine without anger.

If the word 'legend' ever befitted a league identity, it would befit no one more than Frank.

He has to have a state funeral.

He captain coached Norths in the '43 grand final when they lost to Newtown

Misty Bee said:
I met twice. First time, I was a young upstart around 13 trying to get into the Cumberland dressing sheds after an big Eels/Dragons clash. Along came Frank and Alan Carkson, deep in conversation. I remember seeing them, and cheekily said 'G'Day Frank'. In those days courtesy demanded I called him 'Mr Hyde' and not interrupted. Nevertheless, he interupted his conversation, said "G'Day" back - he was the only person prepared to treat me as an equal that day, and I certainly didn't deserve that.

Much later on I was in a pub one afternoon with a friend, and Frank was there. We chatted for a while - not an ounce of ego or arrogance about the men.

I believe he was the greatest role model for the players who followed.

He used to broadcast alone, from the sidelines, with a table and a mic. No protection from fans. No birds eye view of the players. As mentioned above, he'd give it to ball boys, photographers, camera men if they got in his way. But he never had an agenda, never criticised the players, or referees. He didn't scream like an idiot when a try was scored. He never took a break, never had shade, copped the rain, hail and shine without anger.

If the word 'legend' ever befitted a league identity, it would befit no one more than Frank.

He has to have a state funeral.

He captain coached Norths in the '43 grand final when they lost to Newtown
Well said.He will be missed but never forgotten.

Blind Freddy

Damn this is a pity because it would've been great for him to see the Bears kick some ass on the upcoming weekend. He was a true icon and great servent to the Bears and the sport for many years.

R.I.P Frank.

parra pete

When it was on Saturdays Ray Stehr used to run it. It came on before Clarence the Clocker.Can't remember who was on with Frank and Won...It was a long time ago.

Signs of ageing....
First you forget peoples names, then you forget their faces, then you forget to do up your fly then you forget to undo it.