Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FULTON, REILLY, BOYD, O'NEILL, RANDALL, IRVINE ring a bell

Hi Manly-ites....

I am chasin "punters" league stories about 6 of your favorite sons Bob Fulton,(bloody fulton I'm a shark supporter, still have nightmares about the 73 GF), Mal Reilly, Terry Randall, John ONeill, Ken Irvine, & Les Boyd.

I am the webmaster for a webwsite Era of the Biff. see
http://www.geocities.com/bringbackthebiffrugbyleague
It is a not for profit website to record memories of the time when biff was part and parcel of rugby league.

I have a section called Hardmen and Heroes and I have included several of your greats including the above mentioned. I have a section called your stories, which is stories from the punters....it does not have to be a literary classic. just tell it like you saw it. Also some stories on memorable matches would be greatly appreciated. Les Boyd has hit the front in the hardman poll thanks to some late Leeds voting.

Do you have a favorite Fulton, Boyd, Irvine, O'Neill, Reilly or Randell story.

The Poms have been sending me heaps of great stories and pics...we aussies have got some catching up to do.

Footnote....there is a pic on the homepage of EOTB of Rex Mossop and Harry Bath getting a caution during an old GF. Also there is a pic of Rex copping one from Nev Charlton in the Picture Gallery.

cheers and have a great new year

Yes Mr George,

I realize that, I think it had a lot to do with Les's behavioural patterns once he crossed over the white of the sidelines.

And a certain Mr Jim Comans of the then Judiciary. Jim had a bit to do with Steve Kneen of Cronulla and Bob Cooper of Wests also.

But Manly did pay a squillion for Les's services and he did manage about 12 games I think..... in between a 12 month and 15 month suspension.

I have a few stories already on Boyd, Reilly and Fulton in the Era of the Biff website, but would dearly love a lot more stories. See
http://www.geocities.com/bringbackthebiffrugbyleague

cheers

Biscuits

Mr George, if you dont know what you are talking about i suggest you just sit quietly in the corner while more informed people comment.
Les played 68 first grade games for Wests before we bought him. He then wnt on to play 73 games for Manly. Not bad when you take in his two suspensions which totalled 30 months and effectively ended his Sydney career.

Biscuits said:
Mr George, if you dont know what you are talking about i suggest you just sit quietly in the corner while more informed people comment.
Les played 68 first grade games for Wests before we bought him. He then wnt on to play 73 games for Manly. Not bad when you take in his two suspensions which totalled 30 months and effectively ended his Sydney career.

Gidday Biscuits,

I also apologise for my lack of knowledge with Les's game total with Manly.
I tell you what though, the Poms just loved him after he left Manly. I have got an unbelievable amount of Emails praising Les for his ferocity on the pitch and his behaviour off field.

By the way are you the original "biscuits" if so I would love to chat to you.

will wait to hear back from you.

cheers

Biscuits

No drama with you Quigs but Mr George talks a lot of crap a lot of the time. By all reports Les was a quiet gentelman off the field but relished his role as an intimidator on it. Unfortunately he couldnt change with the game and payed the penalty. I am glad he managed to be successful in England as he was still playing great footy for manly before his suspensions. He had to leave Sydney as his cards were marked.
I am not the great cranky franky. My handle is just a tribute to the great man.

Biscuits said:
No drama with you Quigs but Mr George talks a lot of crap a lot of the time. By all reports Les was a quiet gentelman off the field but relished his role as an intimidator on it. Unfortunately he couldnt change with the game and payed the penalty. I am glad he managed to be successful in England as he was still playing great footy for manly before his suspensions. He had to leave Sydney as his cards were marked.
I am not the great cranky franky. My handle is just a tribute to the great man.

Thanks mate. By the way I am just loading up another Boyd story from the UK as we speak It is from a bloke who was 16 at the time in 78 and spent time with Les in a small hospital waiting room in England..... Give me fifteen and it will be on the web.

I have a pic of Cranky on the website also. It is in the pic of bloody bob fulton. You have to forgive my disrespect but being a shark supporter from day 1 how can I forgive him for 73....

Yeah he is backing up Bozo, with Bob Batty behind him.... he looks cranky in the pic too.

Cheers Quigs,

If you want to drop me a story on one of the players I'd appreciate it. I was going to do Fulton and 73 but I would have to censor myself.....

Ive done a story on being at the 73 GF linked off memorable matches.

chileman

Quigs, I suggest you post this in www.mightyeagles.com also to get some more help on plenty more info about the players you've mentioned! Zorba himself often posts in our forum to threads like yours!

chileman said:
Quigs, I suggest you post this in www.mightyeagles.com also to get some more help on plenty more info about the players you've mentioned! Zorba himself often posts in our forum to threads like yours!

Gidday Chileman,

Many thanks for your reply and suggestion. I have registered with the site, as soon as they confirm I will try there also.

Zorba eh, another on my hit list from 1973, bloody bob fulton.

Ahhhh one day my mental wounds might heal from the 73 grand final.

Jiffy

Les Boyd is a legend here in Warrington

he led the club to its last Premiership success (in 1986) beating Chris Anderson's Halifax in the Final at Elland Road. Boyd won the Harry Sunderland medal (like Clive Churchill)

great player, formidable and feared throughout the game

xbrookieboy

Jiffy said:
Les Boyd is a legend here in Warrington

he led the club to its last Premiership success (in 1986) beating Chris Anderson's Halifax in the Final at Elland Road. Boyd won the Harry Sunderland medal (like Clive Churchill)

great player, formidable and feared throughout the game

I lived in Cootamundra for a while about 12 years ago where Les was coach of the local league side. He played his junior football there and returned after his stint at Manly and England as captain coach I think. The local pubs are full of stories about Les and his inability to not react when given a bit of stick. He had quite a few send offs for coota as well.
My memories of Les and his long suspensions at Manly are ones mainly of disappointment.
He let us down badly with his behaviour and was arguably rightly kicked out of the game. The way he lined up Rogers? (sorry if I got the wrong player) for that elbow which saw his last suspension, resulted in a media reaction and crackdown on behaviour that eventually saw almost all biff abolished.
So for all those who liked the odd punch you could say Les was largely responsible for the mediocre rubbish we have to put up with today.