Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

taipan

Don't forget Whittaker.

Short time ,too young for the position in my view.I can't blame him for some of the prior and later debacles.
One thing I will say,.Arthurson despite his bias, projected a person of authority and in command of the situation ,Quayle likewise.
The others at times ,come across like extras from Yes Minister.

Vee

Short time ,too young for the position in my view.I can't blame him for some of the prior and later debacles.
One thing I will say,.Arthurson despite his bias, projected a person of authority and in command of the situation ,Quayle likewise.
The others at times ,come across like extras from Yes Minister.
Agree with most of that. Smith was the only one with any promise, a shame he was fighting solo. Greenberg is rubbish, should be in politics, he'd fit right in with those clowns.

taipan

I still have not decided on Greenberg yet.Grant seems to be taking all the glory and stuff ups.
Once Grant has racked off, that will be the real test for Greenberg.

Smith was a top line Banker,but that does not translate into running a professional sport.He tried hard at times too hard.
He stuffed up with his appointed high profile high priced execs, who achieved little.
He did at least get out to the bush and mix wth the locals at times, something Gallop was hesitant to do at times.
If you could get someone with business nous like a Smith,mixed with the authority and rl knowledge of an Arthurson,mixed with the marketing nous of a Singleton,we'd be killing it.

Ayres and his GWS buddy can go eat a bowl of dick

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...m/news-story/4db985d5b79f8f19a38cb9a7b187d10e

What’s the Buzz: Sydney Roosters to play fewer games at Allianz Stadium
PHIL ROTHFIELD, Sports Editor-at-large, The Daily Telegraph
18 minutes ago

NSW Sports Minister Stuart Ayres’ grand plan to redirect a large chunk of government money into Allianz Stadium is about to go belly-up with revelations the venue’s only permanent rugby league tenant, Sydney Roosters, intend to play fewer games at Moore Park.

Sources have revealed the Roosters are planning a new “home game” strategy that would involve three games on the Central Coast at Gosford, two in Sydney’s west at the new Parramatta Stadium, and one in Adelaide where they recently attracted more than 20,000 fans.

The Roosters already have a large footprint on the Central Coast through feeder club Wyong and have been enthused by a sellout crowd in Gosford last weekend for the game against Cronulla.

Recent research undertaken by the club also shows there has been an enormous membership shift to Sydney’s western suburbs where using the new 30,000-seat Parramatta Stadium for Panthers and Eels games would have huge appeal to fans, even if it means giving up the home-ground advantage.

This is the first sign of one of Sydney’s nine NRL clubs becoming a satellite franchise and taking games to where the money is and the fans are located.

The television product would be greatly improved by not having the regular backdrop of more than 30,000 empty seats and zero atmosphere at Allianz. Blockbuster matches, like the Anzac Day game against the Dragons, would remain at the Moore Park venue.

Ayres and the powerful SCG Trust have been working behind the scenes to overturn the NSW Government’s decision to redevelop ANZ Stadium as a world-class rectangular stadium.

Instead, they want much of the allocated $1.6 billion stadium funding to go towards a new 45,000-seat Allianz Stadium, despite the fact only Sydney FC in the A-League and the Waratahs Super Rugby franchise would be the only regular tenants.

Waratahs crowd figures have become so bad they no longer announce attendance figures.

Previous attempts by the NRL to convince other clubs to play at the venue have been flatly rejected.

The Trust is now running a public scare campaign about crowd safety issues at the old venue, even citing the possibility of a Hillsborough-type tragedy unless it is upgraded.

It’s a desperate tactic to convince the government to overturn former premier Mike Baird’s decision to give the majority of the funding to ANZ to build the best major event venue in the southern hemisphere.

It would become an 85,000-seat rectangular stadium and bring fans closer to the action for concerts, Origin games, grand finals and soccer blockbusters.

Good article by Rothfield. Except ANZ is going to be a 75000 seater, not 85000. Typical journalist exaggeration.
Yes, Ayres (ironically the member for Penrith) can go and get f**ked and stop sucking up to his Easty mates. He is so incredibly two faced.

Raiderdave

good move by the chooks , pro active & forward thinking
as for the article , you don't usually see these 4 words in the same sentence

good article by rothfield

but im glad hes called out the BS being peddled & the scg trust nose in the trough pollies for what it is
a scam & a tactic that everyone is seeing through.

big hit!

Good article by Rothfield. Except ANZ is going to be a 75000 seater, not 85000. Typical journalist exaggeration.
Yes, Ayres (ironically the member for Penrith) can go and get f**ked and stop sucking up to his Easty mates. He is so incredibly two faced.

are you f**king serious. he's just countering ayres' bullshit propaganda with his own bullshit propaganda.

30k empty seats at SFS? how about the 70k empty seats at olympic park?!

and the waratahs aren't getting crowds because they're absolutely shit. they lost to the jaguares last night FFS!

perhaps easts should start calling themselves Satellite Roosters. Doesn't sound like there will be much Sydney about it if they implement this 'home game strategy.'

the fans aren't in the north shore, inner city and eastern suburbs because everything about the game is marketed to bogans. you don't find the affluent areas of London such as Chelsea and Fulham struggling to attract supporters to their venues in soccer, even though it's the 'commoner' sport over there.

it's a f**king travesty that rugby league isn't even #1 in the inner city area of the metropolitan that is supposedly its stronghold. i'm seeing it first hand. Just shift all matches to Homebush Bay and beyond if they want to take the game to where the fans are. it has been of their making. clubs such as Souths and now Easts are doing a good job at turning off the support in the areas they're supposed to represent. and the NRL aren't doing the game a favour either by scheduling the one game a season between these clubs in the heartland during an origin week.

the Trust can also get f**ked with all the shit they've built and are building on their site which makes accessing the SFS are f**king nightmare on a big game day in particular. you're just funneled the long way around through narrow corridors.

not surprised that everything here is run to an self-interested agenda rather than for the greater good.

LeagueXIII

are you f**king serious. he's just countering ayres' bullshit propaganda with his own bullshit propaganda.

30k empty seats at SFS? how about the 70k empty seats at olympic park?!

and the waratahs aren't getting crowds because they're absolutely shit. they lost to the jaguares last night FFS!

perhaps easts should start calling themselves Satellite Roosters. Doesn't sound like there will be much Sydney about it if they implement this 'home game strategy.'

the fans aren't in the north shore, inner city and eastern suburbs because everything about the game is marketed to bogans. you don't find the affluent areas of London such as Chelsea and Fulham struggling to attract supporters to their venues in soccer, even though it's the 'commoner' sport over there.

it's a f**king travesty that rugby league isn't even #1 in the inner city area of the metropolitan that is supposedly its stronghold. i'm seeing it first hand. Just shift all matches to Homebush Bay and beyond if they want to take the game to where the fans are. it has been of their making. clubs such as Souths and now Easts are doing a good job at turning off the support in the areas they're supposed to represent. and the NRL aren't doing the game a favour either by scheduling the one game a season between these clubs in the heartland during an origin week.

the Trust can also get f**ked with all the shit they've built and are building on their site which makes accessing the SFS are f**king nightmare on a big game day in particular. you're just funneled the long way around through narrow corridors.

not surprised that everything here is run to an self-interested agenda rather than for the greater good.

Agree totally.

Rugby League strategy in Sydney is to bleed an area and once it stops giving move out thus giving it over to other sports.

This is going to annoy the FL mob here lol.

Rugby league emerges as shock contender for first sport to be played at Perth Stadium

THE National Rugby League’s two-day Nines festival could be the surprise event to open the Perth Stadium.

The NRL is considering staging the pre-season carnival-style competition, featuring its 16 teams, over a weekend in early February. The stadium’s official handover is scheduled for February 22.

Cricket Australia and the WA Cricket Association have said they still hope a one-day international between Australia and England could be the blockbuster first sports event at the stadium on January 28. They are willing to delay a decision on the venue.

It is still to be decided which of the State’s AFL teams will play first at the stadium. But rugby league could steal a march on the “traditional” WA sports of cricket and AFL with its short-form carnival.

The WA Government is in talks with the NRL about hosting the event to showcase the stadium but would have to pay around $3 million to secure it.

“Event announcements will be made in due course,” VenuesLive chief executive Mike McKenna said.

An NRL spokesman confirmed the governing body was negotiating with competition organiser Duco Events and Auckland Tourism about the future of the event that has been held in New Zealand since 2014.

The popularity of the tournament is falling in Auckland, although it still attracted crowds of more than 22,000 each day at Eden Park.

It is understood the NRL is also close to finalising a deal that would bring two big games to the stadium for a day-night double header.

The NRL is already bringing a showpiece 2019 State of Origin clash to Perth Stadium.
South Sydney Rabbitohs, who have a big following in WA and have already brought nine matches to Perth, are set to sign off on a new multi-season deal and both Canterbury Bulldogs and Melbourne Storm are said to be on the radar.

Manly Sea Eagles have another season left in their three-year deal to play the NZ Warriors at nib Stadium.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/ru...m/news-story/eb294c0763877a3a53e989947ece77c9

the fumblers jimmies are rustled

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/s...ium-with-a-western-derby-20170707-gx6k6l.html

Stop the lunacy: Just open the new Perth Stadium with a Western Derby

I'm not the crusading sort, but I will single-handedly hold 100 Black Swans hostage at the gates of the new Perth Stadium if a Mickey Mouse rugby league tournament is the first sporting event at the arena.

When I saw the front page of The West Australian on Friday morning, which claimed there was chatter about a two-day rugby league "festival" opening the new stadium in Burswood, I unsuccessful tried to jump from a speeding train into the Swan River.

No offence to folk in our rugby-playing states, but how would you react if an AFL game was to open a new $2 billion, 60,000-seat stadium in your backyard that was about 30 years in the making?

But golly gee, which Western Australian sports-lover isn't going whacko and bonkers about the prospect of a sport that very few of us know a single rule about opening one of the most anticipated projects in Perth, since, well, bloody ever.

A nine's festival! Where do I sleep for a week on damp concrete to get a ticket?

I mean rugby is an interesting sport. Who doesn't enjoy watching 120 kilogram men trying to manoeuvre their index finger up the clacker of their opponent's backside?

And Jonathan Thirsty is a wizard right?

As I mentioned in a previous piece, WA has finally got a sporting structure that can rival others around Australia, one built with the fan in mind.

"It truly makes the vacuous concrete monstrosity that is Domain Stadium look like some relic from Soviet Russia."

"It is truly breathtaking and awe-inspiring.... is utterly overwhelming and god damn sexy."

So for the love of God, and every other deity out there, open the Perth Stadium with a sporting event that represents our glorious state: a Western Derby.

The opening game should be gladiatorial in nature.

We want to leave the supersized seats drenched with half-strength beer and the raging sweat of 60,000 crazed fans.

Sport is where us Sandgropers act out our most basic instincts: bitter hatred for either the Dockers or Eagles.

Can you sense that unrecognisable, peculiar tingling overcoming your body? It's called state bloody pride.

We embrace our own logic and rules in the west. We have an innate understanding of the complicated workings of the GST, because we hate getting shafted when it comes to getting out share of the pie. We loath the Big V. Hell, we are repulsed by the rest of the nation and most would happily embrace secessionism if we knew what it meant.

Who bloody cares if the steel bridge to the new stadium isn't complete... most Dockers and Eagles' tragic would happily doggy paddle across the Swan, and in some cases drown, to watch their beloved teams.

And I have no doubt our native bird the Black Swan (once released from my clutches) would be waiting at the banks of the river, bursting with pride at the prospect of carting slightly-sloshed footy-goers across the drink.

The first event at the new stadium should invoke deep feelings of sporting pleasure.

An Ashes contest would have came close to the perfect sporting spectacle at the stadium, but that has been jettisoned to the rubbish bin of history.

Cricket might be the unassailable king among sports in some parts of the world, but I don't reckon a One-Day international where 90 per cent of the crowd are hollering and occasionally clapping for one side should kick-start the stadium.

And given the on going pay dispute with Cricket Australia - it could be a pretty one-sided affair.

The thought of that whining, no-talent Englishmen Ed Sheeran being the first person to open the stadium makes me want to migrate to Iceland.

And soccer: meh.

The state government expects to get the keys to the new stadium in February, so shunt Sheeran back and have an early season derby.

Let's not denigrate our new stadium with some half-baked 'carnival' that no Sandgroper gives a crap about.

I hope that in the bowels of Domain Stadium Dockers and Eagles bigwigs are snickering because both clubs have plans to sabotage whatever non-football event is planned for Burswood.

Stop the lunacy and just lock in a Western Derby or the Black Swans get it!

https://twitter.com/brendanffoster

aarondoyle

the fumblers jimmies are rustled

http://www.watoday.com.au/wa-news/s...ium-with-a-western-derby-20170707-gx6k6l.html

Stop the lunacy: Just open the new Perth Stadium with a Western Derby

I'm not the crusading sort, but I will single-handedly hold 100 Black Swans hostage at the gates of the new Perth Stadium if a Mickey Mouse rugby league tournament is the first sporting event at the arena.

When I saw the front page of The West Australian on Friday morning, which claimed there was chatter about a two-day rugby league "festival" opening the new stadium in Burswood, I unsuccessful tried to jump from a speeding train into the Swan River.

No offence to folk in our rugby-playing states, but how would you react if an AFL game was to open a new $2 billion, 60,000-seat stadium in your backyard that was about 30 years in the making?

But golly gee, which Western Australian sports-lover isn't going whacko and bonkers about the prospect of a sport that very few of us know a single rule about opening one of the most anticipated projects in Perth, since, well, bloody ever.

A nine's festival! Where do I sleep for a week on damp concrete to get a ticket?

I mean rugby is an interesting sport. Who doesn't enjoy watching 120 kilogram men trying to manoeuvre their index finger up the clacker of their opponent's backside?

And Jonathan Thirsty is a wizard right?

As I mentioned in a previous piece, WA has finally got a sporting structure that can rival others around Australia, one built with the fan in mind.

"It truly makes the vacuous concrete monstrosity that is Domain Stadium look like some relic from Soviet Russia."

"It is truly breathtaking and awe-inspiring.... is utterly overwhelming and god damn sexy."

So for the love of God, and every other deity out there, open the Perth Stadium with a sporting event that represents our glorious state: a Western Derby.

The opening game should be gladiatorial in nature.

We want to leave the supersized seats drenched with half-strength beer and the raging sweat of 60,000 crazed fans.

Sport is where us Sandgropers act out our most basic instincts: bitter hatred for either the Dockers or Eagles.

Can you sense that unrecognisable, peculiar tingling overcoming your body? It's called state bloody pride.

We embrace our own logic and rules in the west. We have an innate understanding of the complicated workings of the GST, because we hate getting shafted when it comes to getting out share of the pie. We loath the Big V. Hell, we are repulsed by the rest of the nation and most would happily embrace secessionism if we knew what it meant.

Who bloody cares if the steel bridge to the new stadium isn't complete... most Dockers and Eagles' tragic would happily doggy paddle across the Swan, and in some cases drown, to watch their beloved teams.

And I have no doubt our native bird the Black Swan (once released from my clutches) would be waiting at the banks of the river, bursting with pride at the prospect of carting slightly-sloshed footy-goers across the drink.

The first event at the new stadium should invoke deep feelings of sporting pleasure.

An Ashes contest would have came close to the perfect sporting spectacle at the stadium, but that has been jettisoned to the rubbish bin of history.

Cricket might be the unassailable king among sports in some parts of the world, but I don't reckon a One-Day international where 90 per cent of the crowd are hollering and occasionally clapping for one side should kick-start the stadium.

And given the on going pay dispute with Cricket Australia - it could be a pretty one-sided affair.

The thought of that whining, no-talent Englishmen Ed Sheeran being the first person to open the stadium makes me want to migrate to Iceland.

And soccer: meh.

The state government expects to get the keys to the new stadium in February, so shunt Sheeran back and have an early season derby.

Let's not denigrate our new stadium with some half-baked 'carnival' that no Sandgroper gives a crap about.

I hope that in the bowels of Domain Stadium Dockers and Eagles bigwigs are snickering because both clubs have plans to sabotage whatever non-football event is planned for Burswood.

Stop the lunacy and just lock in a Western Derby or the Black Swans get it!

https://twitter.com/brendanffoster

Ha, what a giant knob.

VictoryFC

That article does an excellent job of highlighting how mentally challenged and insecure auskickers are.

When san francisco 49ers and minnesota vikings opened their new stadiums recently, they both let soccer teams have first go. They did it to test how everything would function and get any problems sorted for first nfl game there.

There were no articles written in protestation. There was no outcry. And nobody seemed to give a fuc*. Why? Cos theyre not insecure. They know how trivial a matter it is.
Meanwhile, in auskick...

Complete and utter nutcase (looks it too by that pic). This is why theyre as smalltime as they are.

when the Olympics were scheduled for 2000, stadium Australia was completed A YEAR IN ADVANCE and hosted multiple events to make sure it was ready,

f**kn near 100k twice for RL games
state of origin
bledisloe etc

auskickers are f**kn dumb

GAZF

How would he like a majority of major stadium upgrades in his state being directed towards a niche sport for the past 20 years?

Sent a response to WA today, interested to see if ti makes it into print.

haha me too, I doubt it will, though it would be good click bait for them.
Fortunately most afl people here are keen sports fans and don't carry on like this fool and appreciate NRL as well as other sports. They just don't get much exposure to it so don't really understand it or the difference between it and union. Most seem to think Force play NRL lol.

BuffaloRules

Remember a week or so ago when I was saying that the WA media was the most rabid anti RL types in the country and a lot of people here were saying that times have changed?

Diesel

Lol, play the 9's there first and watch the fumbleball fools try to destroy the new Sandgroperland stadium