Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

taipan

shame he ran the deal like a local hock shop. I mean who agrees a $200mill deal and gets nothing signed? especially with a politician!

I mean if you're a new govt coming in is this the sort of bloke you want to sit around the table with?
Many contract arrangements use verbal contracts which only work if there are no disputes.
A hand shake agreement may still be a contract and may often with difficulty be enforced by a court.
Verbal contracts can lead to uncertainty about each party's rights & obligations.
Like the brown stuff, it happens.

Politicians change their minds even on signed deals as the submarine one is an example.The Govt reneged on the deal due to financial constraints as a result of acts of nature which according to them stuffed the budget.

We may not like it but bushfires and floods tend to come unannounced, ignoring what you/Govt have in the bank.
The Fed Govt is going to reduce the numbers of tanks ,personnel carriers ordered(signed agreements) due to costs and intention to concentrate on missiles.

You have major flood disasters ,money over runs on other infrastructure like metro rail systems and even Allianz.

The new Govt coming in had no intention of spending on stadiums, you have little idea of NSW politics.

But of course the old V'Landys "clueless "routine is what one expects from the hater's going to hate.It's out of your a*se stuff .Everyone of your posts is a whine or full-blown at times vendetta against NRL admins.One minute you bagged Greenberg years ago, recently you do a 360 and he should be given a pat on the back for stadiums LOL.
The fact you bag the NRL for the proposed Vegas promotion, which(nothing ventured nothing gained),says it all.

Pneuma

If this is correct then expect Albo to make a number of other similar announcements this budget round. Let’s just hope Peter has been in his ear. By the way, expect active opposition to this Hobart stadium. People are not happy.

Iamback

If this is correct then expect Albo to make a number of other similar announcements this budget round. Let’s just hope Peter has been in his ear. By the way, expect active opposition to this Hobart stadium. People are not happy.

It does match the reported figure offered for a PNG NRL team

Stormy weather

$31,000 per seat seems fairly expensive. Especially for a ground that will be used 7 times a year

Pneuma

It does match the reported figure offered for a PNG NRL team
I did wonder. Tell you something though mate. It’s going to kill the cbd and access to the hospital for some years while under construction. This could get ugly.

Stormy weather

It will cost a billion when it’s finished. And we already have two stadiums fit for purpose. Complete waste of money
Look I completely understand your view, I am not from NSW so don’t understand what other issues need to be addressed there.

Just as a price comparison the Hobart stadium seems well over priced.

Vibing

and again...
the extra cost is the roof , putting a roof on a venue with a field the size of a cricket oval is where the extra 250 mill is coming from

Vibing

I thought the AFL had heaps of money and was the biggest sport in the whole wide world why do they need the federal taxpayer to fund their Tasmanian stadium?
they have 2 millstone clubs sucking money out of their coffers like theres no tomorrow & this aint gunna change for some considerable time

& anyway
if those leeches are getting it
we can too

Timbo

They’ve already quietly walked away from the new Tassie stadium having a roof.

Something tells me that before they start building they’ll ditch the movable seats as well, which they claimed was going to attract NRL, RU and A-League games as well.

It’s just bizarre that they don’t spend money adding a new stand to Bellerive to increase its capacity and improve AFL sight lines.

Pneuma

They’ve already quietly walked away from the new Tassie stadium having a roof.

Something tells me that before they start building they’ll ditch the movable seats as well, which they claimed was going to attract NRL, RU and A-League games as well.

It’s just bizarre that they don’t spend money adding a new stand to Bellerive to increase its capacity and improve AFL sight lines.
Very perceptive. This will be afl and nothing else.

taipan

As there are 3 other football codes ,I recommend that the new Tassie stadium be rectangular and the singletted ones learn how to play their sport on a smaller field.It's for the good of the country, in these harsh financial times.One can dream.

In all honesty as the Feds are prepared to throw in $240m , as stated by another forum gent, this has created
a precedent .
Sure we have the $250m promise for PNG but wouldn't that come under foreign aid, and wouldn't money allocated to rectangular stadiums in this country fall under the Oz sport infrastructure banner?

Pneuma

As there are 3 other football codes ,I recommend that the new Tassie stadium be rectangular and the singletted ones learn how to play their sport on a smaller field.It's for the good of the country, in these harsh financial times.One can dream.

In all honesty as the Feds are prepared to throw in $240m , as stated by another forum gent, this has created
a precedent .
Sure we have the $250m promise for PNG but wouldn't that come under foreign aid, and wouldn't money allocated to rectangular stadiums in this country fall under the Oz sport infrastructure banner?
Well the leader of the labor party had removed all her anti stadium posts off her Twitter and Instagram pages so it looks like we are getting a brand new fit for one purpose stadium to be located 3 kilometres from the other fit for purpose stadium for a city of 200000 people. Aren’t we lucky?

taipan

Well the leader of the labor party had removed all her anti stadium posts off her Twitter and Instagram pages so it looks like we are getting a brand new fit for one purpose stadium to be located 3 kilometres from the other fit for purpose stadium for a city of 200000 people. Aren’t we lucky?
And the "city" known as the Sutho Shire with a population of approaching 230-250K ,will retain its quaint stadium .Sheesh.