Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

I still do not know why these things cost so much.

The say the Tassie one will hold 23,000 and cost one million per seat.

Seems a rort.

Jamberoo

Seems a rort.
Huh?
It isn’t costing 23,000,000,000!
It is expensive due to the roof, and the higher cost of site works to build that close to the water on partly reclaimed land. Optus in Perth was a similar situation and cost per seat.
Total budget including $26m previously allocated for site works is $741m.

Jamberoo

I wonder, if the Western United soccer stadium was finished (it is not even started), would Storm have played their June/July home games there rather than at Marvel? I can’t imagine the AFL giving them a particularly favourable deal.

1683177451769.jpeg

It is now supposedly going to be ready for 2026. The designs have been cut back a little after these original renders. Soccer has no money and is about as popular in Melbourne as AFL is on this forum. I doubt it will ever be built.

Huh?
It isn’t costing 23,000,000,000!
It is expensive due to the roof, and the higher cost of site works to build that close to the water on partly reclaimed land. Optus in Perth was a similar situation and cost per seat.
Total budget including $26m previously allocated for site works is $741m.
I know theyre talking about regenerating the whole area round it, maybe some of the cost is in that as well? At Optus they spent a fortune on parklands, a footbridge across the river and new train lines and station. Maybe not all about the stadium alone?

I wonder, if the Western United soccer stadium was finished (it is not even started), would Storm have played their June/July home games there rather than at Marvel? I can’t imagine the AFL giving them a particularly favourable deal.

View attachment 73681

It is now supposedly going to be ready for 2026. The designs have been cut back a little after these original renders. Soccer has no money and is about as popular in Melbourne as AFL is on this forum. I doubt it will ever be built.
It wouldnt have fitted all the members in so probably not.

Seems a rort.

Part of it, at the moment, is because supplies of construction materials are scarce and as such more costly than normal. I know a few builders and word is that some things have been in short supply for quite a while.

Additionally its possible they may not have enough native construction workers available in Tasmania so they have to bring in staff from interstate, which would make it more expensive as you'd have to provide accommodation for them (either literally, or allowances to recompense them for costs).

Pneuma

Part of it, at the moment, is because supplies of construction materials are scarce and as such more costly than normal. I know a few builders and word is that some things have been in short supply for quite a while.

Additionally its possible they may not have enough native construction workers available in Tasmania so they have to bring in staff from interstate, which would make it more expensive as you'd have to provide accommodation for them (either literally, or allowances to recompense them for costs).
Nobody can get anything built down here mate. Tradies off to the mainland for better opportunities. This thing if it’s ever built will cost a fortune

SpaceMonkey

Nobody can get anything built down here mate. Tradies off to the mainland for better opportunities. This thing if it’s ever built will cost a fortune
I suspect that why the Christchurch stadium is way behind schedule too. They’ve had a tradie shortage for the last decade since the earthquakes.

Canard

View attachment 73681

No, because it would have be used for the Women's World Cup (you know on account of it being a Soccer ground).

Soccer is hugely popular in Melbourne, particularly at junior and semi-pro level, but struggling for any pro- team not named Victory.

The current proposal is for Western United to fund and privately own this ground, not the A-League. Which is a laughably unachievable ambition, and they should be expelled from the league, as they only achieved entry by falsely claiming this would be built by 2021.

If by some miracle it got built as promised, it's hard to see them giving the Storm any good deal.

taipan

Seems a rort.
23Billion dollars.You'd need 24 carat gold plated seats and probably a gold plated income to pay for the seating.

IIRC, they said they want to review its business case so its mostly "on hold" I believe.

Edit: Oops, wrong line. Its the Bankstown Metro they were looking at. My bad :-(

They are not doing a business case on the Bankstown line.
That is well under construction. They will continue to complete that construction but they are doing an inquiry into completing it in a more fiscally positive way due to cost blowouts.

There were two lines in Western Sydney where Labor cancelled business cases that the Libs had promised.

1. Westmead to WSA.
2. Bradfield to Leppington.

There are two other business cases that the Libs made an election promise on that Labor are going ahead with.

1. Bradfield to Macarthur.
2. Tallawong to Schofields and then onto St Marys.

Bukowski

Come on PR. This is just a silly post.

Optus is a brilliant stadium for round field sports. While Accor isn't the best stadium, the viewpoint from the lower bowl sideline is far better than any viewpoint available for rectangular field sports at Optus (even with their lil temp stands that they pull out). I'd argue that level 4 sideline at Accor is also better.

Level 6 at Accor you might be viewing from the moon, but top tier of a round bowl stadium and you're viewing from Pluto.
Depends on the seats. Bottom tier on the sideline is easily better at Accor. Middle tier end of ground at Optus easily better than any end of ground seating at Accor. Top deck sideline at both are about the same for field viewing. But Accor your looking straight at the roof impacting some entertainment like fireworks.

SLRBRONCOS

Depends on the seats. Bottom tier on the sideline is easily better at Accor. Middle tier end of ground at Optus easily better than any end of ground seating at Accor. Top deck sideline at both are about the same for field viewing. But Accor your looking straight at the roof impacting some entertainment like fireworks.
Yes I agree, level 6 and behind the sticks are terrible - especially past the tenth row. That’s why I only mentioned the sidelines and level 4 at Accor.

I just don’t rate watching league live at circular stadiums, I’ll still go, but I’m not happy about the view. A symptom of growing up watching games at Suncorp I guess.

greenBV4

I think if you check on the matches between countries in Europe ,there is a lot more going on( yes not huge).SAnd bear in mind limited funding available from INTNL rl coffers.
I mean even Turkey has women's and men's rugby league, Greece is back in action, Netherlands, Norway,Serbia.Nigeria Ghana in Africa.All organic growth.
I'm as frustrated as the next person ,but you need plenty of money to really give these countries a lift.Until the code has deep pockets it will be a long drawn out process.
A proper international calendar is a good first step, and should be a no brainer

greenBV4

It wouldnt have fitted all the members in so probably not.
They were looking at Princes Park if Geelong and Marvel were unavailable due to the AFL draw, capacity 12k (and more of a circle than the latter 2 as well)

I do agree though marvel would of always been their preference, this stadium if built would of been second

Bukowski

Yes I agree, level 6 and behind the sticks are terrible - especially past the tenth row. That’s why I only mentioned the sidelines and level 4 at Accor.

I just don’t rate watching league live at circular stadiums, I’ll still go, but I’m not happy about the view. A symptom of growing up watching games at Suncorp I guess.
Absolutely, I'm getting my first Suncorp experience tmrw.

greenBV4

Soccer is hugely popular in Melbourne, particularly at junior and semi-pro level, but struggling for any pro- team not named Victory
Is it? Have you seen the a-leagues crowd averages? Storm beat Victory easily, and city and united are even further off

Soccer's popular everywhere, not unique to Melbourne, and more of their fans follow the premier league from afar than the a league

No, because it would have be used for the Women's World Cup (you know on account of it being a Soccer ground).
I would have thought it's capacity too small for FIFAs WC standards, even for the women