Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Steel Saints

Off topic:

One of the problems for the A League is it's on a separate platform with Paramount Plus. They should be on the same streaming service with the EPL.

Jamberoo

A League crowds are down all over the country. The Brisbane team plays out of Redcliffe as their crowds are so tiny. Soccer is still big though, especially in Syd and Mel. You would have to walk around with your eyes closed and fingers in your ears not to notice this.
I can’t speak for Melbourne’s inner city. Or the very outer suburbs, but if you get a bunch of blokes together (school dads for example), besides AFL and cricket, basketball is the only other sport that gets a decent run - both local and NBA. And if you have a look at any primary school’s footy jumpers day, besides AFL, there would be twice as many basketball tops as soccer.

I am quite involved in a number of junior community sports. Basketball is number one by a mile for boys. AFL next (up to 50% of kids try Auskick but most give it away after that). For girls it is netball, AFL and basketball.

I would be across perhaps what sports 100+ local kids play around the eastern suburb. It would be something like:
80 basketball (65/15 boys/girls)
20 netball (all girls)
30 AFL (25/5 boys/girls)
50 AFL Auskick only
6 tennis
10 cricket
2 RL
1 RU (cherry picked a big kid who was playing AFL - he lasted one season)
6 soccer

Of our main immigrant groups here, the Chinese play tennis, a little soccer, Indians cricket and Africans AFL and soccer. We get fewer European immigrants here now which is probably a main factor in why the interest in soccer is plummeting.

I live in a pretty typical / average Melbourne suburb. Within 5km of my house there is six AFL community clubs, three basketball clubs, three netball clubs, one RU club (quite random), six tennis clubs, zero Soccer or RL clubs.

Soccer is played at high school, particularly at private schools with compulsory Saturday sport. The kids who didn’t play much sport when younger often take up soccer as it is the easiest to learn. RU is still played at some of the expensive private school, RL is almost only in the very outer suburbs.

In terms of overall interest in sports in Melbourne it would be
1. AFL
2. Cricket
3. Basketball
4. Tennis/Netball/Soccer (obviously soccer is higher when the WC is on, just like we love swimming for a week every Olympics, or tennis during the AO).

Obviously different parts of Melbourne will have different interests, but the interest in soccer would be less than half of what is was 15 years ago.

TheRam

On the Tasmanian Stadium issue.

Seriously if I were V'Landys I would come over the top with an offer to add an NRL Tassie team in the if they scraped the AFL $700m+ one and built a 25K all seat rectangular Stadium in the same location for half the cost at the bargain cut price of just $350m.

Seriously. It would be awesome and would be worth it just to 'F' them up for once and who knows could turn out to engage a whole new fan base who are so desperately hungry to get their own Footy team at last in the big leagues and a great new rivalry would be created between them and the Storm.

Out of the box I know, but going on the offensive is so much better then always just trying to play catch up but never quite getting there.

From experience of all my friends kids basketball is like soccer. Kids play it but dont really follow it at pro level to any great degree. Largley because it is an easy, low impact game to play like soccer. And Basketball Australia has to done an amazing job in grassroots participation, court availability, getting it into schools etc

I'd say in the West soccer is way ahead of basketball in pro comp following (international comps). Probably due to large number of English and Italian. Funnily though at a Australian pro comp level the Wildcats have a stronger following than the Glory do.

On the Tasmanian Stadium issue.

Seriously if I were V'Landys I would come over the top with an offer to add an NRL Tassie team in the if they scraped the AFL $700m+ one and built a 25K all seat rectangular Stadium in the same location for half the cost at the bargain cut price of just $350m.

Seriously. It would be awesome and would be worth it just to 'F' them up for once and who knows could turn out to engage a who new fan base why will be so hungry to get their own Footy team at last in the big leagues and a great new rivalry would be created between them and the Storm.

Out of the box I know, but going on the offensive is so much better then always just trying to play catch up but never quite getting there.
Thatd be a great way to get the game laughed at even more than him talking up Melbourne2 this week

TheRam

Thatd be a great way to get the game laughed at even more than him talking up Melbourne2 this week

Sorry it doesn't help you get the Pirates in mate, but sh*t happens and then you end up on your death bed still waiting for your team to come in.

TheRam

Commercial in confidence I think.

Yeah what a crock. That only becomes a thing when you have nothing to crow about.

Look at the AFL, constantly crowing publicly and showing figures to back it up even if some here dispute those figures, they are obviously somewhere in the ballpark.. We are so embarrassed about our figures that we don't dare make them public for fear of the avalanche of ridicule and dire consequences.

Timbo

Off topic:

One of the problems for the A League is it's on a separate platform with Paramount Plus. They should be on the same streaming service with the EPL.

And hasn't that been a disaster.

I think the experiences of the A-League and Super Rugby have killed any prospect of the major sports rolling the dice on a streaming platform. We saw cricket take a deal for quite a bit less money to stay on Seven and Fox rather than go to Ten and Paramount Plus because of the brand damage they thought it would do.

Yeah what a crock. That only becomes a thing when you have nothing to crow about.

Look at the AFL, constantly crowing publicly and showing figures to back it up even if some here dispute those figures, they are obviously somewhere in the ballpark.. We are so embarrassed about our figures that we don't dare make them public for fear of the avalanche of ridicule and dire consequences.
TBF most Govt deals of this time are not specified. The Govt doesnt want the taxpayer knowing how much of its money its pssing away on such things. You'll find most of the time its media specualtion, never a direct qoute fom the sports official or Govt dept.

TheRam

TBF most Govt deals of this time are not specified. The Govt doesnt want the taxpayer knowing how much of its money its pssing away on such things. You'll find most of the time its media specualtion, never a direct qoute fom the sports official or Govt dept.

Yeah but we know those figures come from a deep throat with the Government. Like I said, Ballpark mate. Still blows NRL's figures away.

Thats what happens when you put something out to tender rather than play it safe and sell to one locked in client. cough tv deal, cough.
I'm sure if the NRL put MW out to bids from any city it would get significantly more $'s for it.

But there is also an argument that its location choice can be strategic as well as just revenue raising. Maybe the NRL saw value in giving Brisbane more NRL content, especially with the plan to bring in club 17 from there and them keeping Qlnd Govt sweet after the covid support?

Id be surprised if at some point it doesnt go out for tender then you'd see Perth, Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane all bidding against each other and the price sky rocketing. Origin allegedly brought 15k-20k interstate visitors to Perth ($15-20mill spent by visitors into WA businesses) , I'd imagine 17 NRL clubs playing would bring more than that so you'd expect the price to be North of $10mill.

This had the 2024 AFL version expected to sell for around $15mill-$18mill.

Whilst this has a cash and inkind value of $80mill over 3 years plus some longer term benefits to the game worth another $10mill

Wb1234

OK I just saw this. We are so pathetic and then we wonder why they are always so ahead on these matters. Nothing else to say really.
And hasn't that been a disaster.

I think the experiences of the A-League and Super Rugby have killed any prospect of the major sports rolling the dice on a streaming platform. We saw cricket take a deal for quite a bit less money to stay on Seven and Fox rather than go to Ten and Paramount Plus because of the brand damage they thought it would do.
Nrl would be different

if it went to paramount or stan it would make those networks and lead to the death of foxtel

the only must have sport pay tv has to have is league. Every other sport they can do quite well without

Nrl would be different

if it went to paramount or stan it would make those networks and lead to the death of foxtel

the only must have sport pay tv has to have is league. Every other sport they can do quite well without
The beauty of that is that Stan and Paramount also have their own FTA channels. So no more infighting between Ch9 and Fox to the detriment of the game. The games could be scheduled and structured for the benefit of the game for once. One thing we must get in the new contract is a genuine control of scheduling back so we arent putting big attendance games on at sht times and can make the most of these new stadiums we now have.