Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Pneuma

So let me get this right as his longwinded posts are 97% incoherent.

The Great Dope doesn't count the NSW areas immediately surrounding ACT in his decades long observations. So Queanbeyan for example doesn't count in Basement Bill's so called data? Laughable.
I’ve given up responding to him. He sees things through a narrow lens

SpaceMonkey

How you can be happy with that dump is beyond me?

It's the 21st century mate, not the 19th century. Your beloved AFL is living the dream in the 21st century, Don't you think it's time that Cinderella was invited to the ball?
Mirror that stand in in the picture with a matching one on the other side and tidy the ends up and it won’t be a dump any more

How you can be happy with that dump is beyond me?

It's the 21st century mate, not the 19th century. Your beloved AFL is living the dream in the 21st century, Don't you think it's time that Cinderella was invited to the ball?
because it’s not. great location every seat is on top,of the action and holds 20k maybe you didn’t see the real shthole it was in 2011?
even half done it’s still better than a number if current nrl used stadium.

it needs a new corporate west stand and something doing with shed end. I’d just increase the terracing with a canitleve roof on it. south end is designed for a roof and filling corners already. Get it up to 25-27k doing that and itll be perfect. Depending on how club goes I can see us taking a couple of games A year to optus, Probably v souths and v warriors Or broncos.

alas with union going so badly and glory being a basket case nothing will happen until there is an nrl team here requiring further upgrade.

Iamback

because it’s not. great location every seat is on top,of the action and holds 20k maybe you didn’t see the real shthole it was in 2011?

it needs a new corporate west stand and something doing with shed end. I’d just increase the terracing with a canitleve roof on it. south end is designed for a roof and filling corners already. Get it up to 25-27k doing that and itll be perfect. Depending on how club goes I can see us taking a couple of games A year to optus, Probably v souths and v warriors Or broncos.

alas with union going so badly and glory being a basket case nothing will happen until there is an nrl team here requiring further upgrade.

Yet if a Sydney club was playing there you'd sook

Kurt Angle

The crap west stand at HBF is equivalent to both the east and west stands at Campbelltown.

HBF's east stand is better than any stand at Robina

The Great Dane

So let me get this right as his longwinded posts are 97% incoherent.

The Great Dope doesn't count the NSW areas immediately surrounding ACT in his decades long observations. So Queanbeyan for example doesn't count in Basement Bill's so called data? Laughable.
The contention was with my statements about the popularity of each sport in Canberra.

Queanbeyan and the rest of the surrounding regions of NSW aren't in Canberra, and there're huge cultural differences between the ACT and the surrounding regions of NSW. Including regional NSW in a debate about Canberra is like bringing up New Jersey in a debate about New York.

Wb1234

The contention was with my statements about the popularity of each sport in Canberra.

Queanbeyan and the rest of the surrounding regions of NSW aren't in Canberra, and there're huge cultural differences between the ACT and the surrounding regions of NSW. Including regional NSW in a debate about Canberra is like bringing up New Jersey in a debate about New York.
Wow imagine if your Canberra afl team also shared parts of nsw

Vee

Isaac McCarthy
September 27, 2023 - 3:18PM

A Cairns company behind much of the city’s most recognisable architecture has been awarded the tender for a major stage in the Barlow Park upgrade project.

Queensland’s Department of Public Works has awarded a project viability report tender for Barlow Park’s upgrade to CA Architects, based in Cairns North, the design company behind the Cairns Performing Arts Centre and Munro Martin Parklands.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said “project validation” was close to completion, news that surprised Cairns mayor Bob Manning.

The state government has revealed concept plans for a rectangular stadium and upgrades to ensure Barlow Park becomes a world-class facility ahead of the 2032 Olympic Games.

“I was not aware it reached that stage. That was a bit of a surprise,” Mr Manning said. “I don’t know what the scale of the project is at the moment. That’s something council officers need to brief us on.”

On Wednesday the Cairns Post revealed state government concept plans for Barlow Park that included a new 5000-seat grandstand and 15,000 temporary seats to ready the facility for 2032 Olympic events. In August the Cairns Regional Council also approved a $8.35m lighting upgrade for the facility.

Mr Manning said upgrades to Barlow Park should not be short-sighted.

“Council does not want to see something short-sighted. We want something that’s got a long-term future and possibly multiple uses,” he said.

“We should always be striving for the most impressive proposal, beyond 2032. The council really is responsible for getting the best outcome on this.”

Ms Palaszczuk said Cairns would be “front and centre” during the Olympics.

“The (Barlow Park) project validation is close to completion. Once we have that we are going to get the details,” she said.

“Cairns is going to become an Olympic city. They’ll be hosting football preliminaries here; it’s the most popular Olympic sport. Five billion people will be watching the Olympics and Cairns is going to be front and centre.”

Carlo Amerio, the director of CA Architects, said he was unable to comment on the project viability report, sometimes referred to as a preliminary business case, due to a confidentiality agreement.

Cairns Regional Council CEO Mica Martin said council was involved in the validation process and councillors would be briefed “in the coming weeks”.

“In March 2023 council unanimously resolved to work collaboratively with the Queensland Government on the planning and delivery of Olympic Legacy upgrades at Barlow Park including joining the Barlow Park Project Control Group,” Ms Martin said.

“An updated presentation to councillors on the status of that planning work, including the project validation report process, is scheduled to take place in the coming weeks.”

The Department of Public Works was contacted for comment.

On Wednesday morning the Premier hosted a 2032 Olympics business opportunities presentation at the completed Cairns Convention Centre.

More Coverage​

Exclusive walk-through of Barlow Park concept
Inside Barlow Park’s major $8.35m upgrade
Cairns Chamber CEO Patricia O’Neill said the small business sector in Cairns should compete confidently for tenders leading up to the Olympic Games.

She said a plethora of product delivery and service provision opportunities would be available to various types of enterprises in Cairns and business owners should keep a close watch on tenders being released through the Queensland Government’s QTender portal.

Pneuma

Just stew in your misery mate

TheRam

I get your point mate, but it is still a hand me down compared to Optus and it will be seen that way. That is the challenge and benchmark in a city that is hostile to RL. We need to be as good on as many fronts if not better otherwise we will be easily dismissed.

Hostile territory means big guns or go home!

Wb1234

If hbf park was swapped with leichardt brookvale or shark park Perth red would still be saying the Perth ground was good and the Sydney grounds were bad

I get your point mate, but it is still a hand me down compared to Optus and it will be seen that way. That is the challenge and benchmark in a city that is hostile to RL. We need to be as good on as many fronts if not better otherwise we will be easily dismissed.

I don’t think WA is hostile territory at all. Most engagements I have had with a West Australian on the topic of RL is rather neutral.

Of course because it was built for two massive clubs that needed the capacity, cricket and major events which it has hosted multiple.
sadly our two rectangular sports clubs (well not sad for union lol) dont require such largess being spent on them. You can’t blame the govt for not spending tax payers money on something that hasn’t been needed. Nrl has let the state down time and again and even became openly hostile when Vlandys took over so again you can’t blame them for not spending money on a ‘what if’.

the good news is the nrl (Vlandys) seems more open now and the WA govt is making the right noises about doing all It can to secure perth a license. Our new premier is a union man but has close ties to RL. Now might be the time we see hbf get finished IF the NRL grant us a license.
Said it before but if the nrl does see perth on the horizon it’s one of the things, along with a nrlwa hq and pirates COfE, they should be asking for, just like afl did in tassie.

I don’t think WA is hostile territory at all. Most engagements I have had with a West Australian on the topic of RL is rather neutral.
Yeh it’s nothing like sydney peope think it is lol. Even in Melbourne I often have positive conversations about the Storm with my Victorian colleagues when I’m over there. The butt hurt about other sports seems to be largely a nsw rl thing tbh.

Perth needs to join the 21st century. FFS sake even tiny regional towns are getting Olympic-class stadiums.

It is not always someone else's fault.
You’re a weird one, no one builds something that isn’t needed, especially govt’s with tax payers money (unless theres votes in it!)

youre logic is like saying nsw govt should build a new stadium at gosford just because the current one isn’t very flash.

ps putting up some temporary scaffolding with some plastic seats on it isnt a high bar if that’s “Olympic” class lol