Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Pommy

No shit, and I’ve said that it needs to be rebuilt but if its the ends re-done or nothing at all due to the Helen Lovejoys, then which of those 2 scenarios would you want?

Again, ANZ needs to be knocked down and re-built properly for rectangular sports but the way it’s going I can see the whole current plan going to utter shit.

Nothing save the tax payers money if that’s the case. No point pissing it away on a load of crap just for the sake of it.

POPEYE

Have you ever read up on the building of Wembley?
Utter shit fight
Multiplex Aussie company were involved and ended up taking numerous other joints to court

People reckon that joint is perfect
Years over due
Yonks over budget
Debacle
The Home Of Sport is happy with the 'G' and The Home Of Rugby League is happy with Suncorp, both can probably be modified well into the future. If the Olympic Stadium was built to be modified past 18 years into the future NSW might've concentrated on saving more lives

POPEYE

The money they want to waste on stadiums would make the McGrath Foundation look like a garage sale . . . maybe they could have gold coin entry to make up for it

The Olympics should be banned as it makes white elephants.
Yeah well
I guess the chance to hold the Olympics in your city gives you the chance to advertise the place to the world.
The Sydney Olympics had pretty much perfect weather.
It must have looked impressive to people over seas.
And
To be fair it was made primarily for the Olympics.
18 years later and it still gets used
I found it quite easy to get to and home from at the 2016 GF
The view was what you’d expect in a massive stadium.
I didn’t eat or drink there ...so I can’t comment on the queues , I went to watch footy.

Other country’s have abandoned them straight after the games.

M2D2

The majority of people, especially those against the stadium rebuild think that the NRL got too good a deal, its really only you I see arguing that this is not a good deal for the NRL. If NSW back out of the deal that they signed with the NRL then they lose the GF, its that simple. The NRL then sells the GF to the the highest bidder and takes the GF on the road. This is a win for the NRL anyway, just not as big as 3 new stadiums but is a win for the NRL and NRL fans.
No they dont. Only idiots who have no common sense do. Not a single person in the comments of these articles that have been torn to shreds have gone "oh but its a great deal for the NRL". Because its not a good deal for the NRL.
You continuously saying that forcing Sydney fans to put up with the SCG for two f**king years is a win for NRL fans is as deluded as the plan in the first place.
It was a horrible deal. Just like the TV rights were.
I actually agree with you about the SFS, once the problems with the SFS were raised though they are impossible to deny that there is the potential for serious safety issues moving forward.

I would have loved to see ANZ done first but the government made the SFS being done a priority because of the safety issues, the NRL was never going to move them on this point.
You even recognize that its not a good deal with this.
For the NRL or NRL fans to have a good deal with this, these things would have had to happen
1. No SCG Semis/GF/Origin
2. SFS Delayed til after ANZ
3. GF moves from Sydney to Suncorp with no ANZ stadium

None of these happened. Therefore. Not a good deal.

siv

Lets give every member a 60" plasma screen and play the game on a ground without stadium's or fans

jim_57

No they dont. Only idiots who have no common sense do. Not a single person in the comments of these articles that have been torn to shreds have gone "oh but its a great deal for the NRL". Because its not a good deal for the NRL.
You continuously saying that forcing Sydney fans to put up with the SCG for two f**king years is a win for NRL fans is as deluded as the plan in the first place.

For the NRL or NRL fans to have a good deal with this, these things would have had to happen

None of these happened. Therefore. Not a good deal.

In a perfect world all 3 of those would happen, but to get 3 brand new state of the art stadiums that will set Sydney up for the forseeable future they aren't massive sacrifices.

M2D2

In a perfect world all 3 of those would happen, but to get 3 brand new state of the art stadiums that will set Sydney up for the forseeable future they aren't massive sacrifices.
Sacrifices that big, make it that its not a good deal. No deal that makes it that the SCG is the Sydney Rugby League Stadium for 2 years is a good deal.
And this deal is so poor for everyone that isnt in the SCG trust pocket that its doubtful that it will happen.
Just like the TV rights deal, which has allowed the game to go further into crowd killing territory. This deal does the exact same thing, especially when the original plan was to ensure that games get moved from suburban grounds to SFS. But no. Sydney siders just have to shut up and stop whinging.

jim_57

Sacrifices that big, make it that its not a good deal. No deal that makes it that the SCG is the Sydney Rugby League Stadium for 2 years is a good deal.
And this deal is so poor for everyone that isnt in the SCG trust pocket that its doubtful that it will happen.
Just like the TV rights deal, which has allowed the game to go further into crowd killing territory. This deal does the exact same thing, especially when the original plan was to ensure that games get moved from suburban grounds to SFS. But no. Sydney siders just have to shut up and stop whinging.

So what are the options?

A. Have 2 years of Grand Finals, Origins & some finals at SCG (not forgetting Western Sydney teams will likely be able to play home finals at the new Parra stadium). Then have access to 3 modern state of the art stadiums for the forseeable future.

Or

B. Kick and Scream because not every part of the deal is exactly perfect for us (one of several parties involved) and live out the next 20 years with ANZ and SFS as is or with half arsed cheap redevelopments.

No harm in the NRL trying to get a perfect scenario but it is pretty unlikely to happen. In 3-4 years time having the new stadiums is priority, how we get there will be forgotten pretty quickly.

unforgiven

None of these happened.

Therefore. Not a good deal.

1. Parramatta stadium will host the majority of Semis during the rebuild.
2. According to the government by 2020 the SFS will not be able to host any events according to compliance issues
3. Considering the NSW state government is putting up $2.4B why would they negotiate Brisbane getting a GF, they are putting forward $2.4B. That would be non negotiable on their side.

It's called a negotiation, each party usually has to compromise on their ideals to get a good deal. The NRL got a deal that is extremely favourable to them.

Can you please provide a link with where anyone who is associated with the stadium deal has said the SCG will be used for 2 years

Ive no problem if NSW Govt are forking out that much money for RL stadiums that they demand the GF stays in Sydney, even during construction and even it means one or two are played at a sht ground for the event. Sydney should be used to that.

unforgiven

The reason they are commenting is because the NRL have in their opinion too good a deal, they don't believe the NRL deserves these stadiums. That is the whole basis of their argument.

M2D2

The reason they are commenting is because the NRL have in their opinion too good a deal, they don't believe the NRL deserves these stadiums. That is the whole basis of their argument.
88712cfec4fc031df0aee5628efcf84b154a78830b2882461b62765bc77571bd.jpg

You deluded f**k.
You do realise that the bandana wearing f**k, is a union person, who happens to be a partial tennant of the SFS. And the fact that they need ANZ redeveloped for ANY world cup bid.
The A-League support the redevlopment as it will help the wanderers for the derby games, and Sydney FC with the SFS rebuild.
The only people in the media that are supportive of this, have fingers in the SCG trust pie.
Who i will repeat, the SCG trust gets the NRL GF, Semis & Origin.
NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH Its a conspiracy against the NRL.
1. Parramatta stadium will host the majority of Semis during the rebuild.
2. According to the government by 2020 the SFS will not be able to host any events according to compliance issues
3. Considering the NSW state government is putting up $2.4B why would they negotiate Brisbane getting a GF, they are putting forward $2.4B. That would be non negotiable on their side.

It's called a negotiation, each party usually has to compromise on their ideals to get a good deal. The NRL got a deal that is extremely favourable to them.

Can you please provide a link with where anyone who is associated with the stadium deal has said the SCG will be used for 2 years
No. It wont. Parramatta will not host the home semis for any of the east teams. The clubs will not accept it.
The government lied. Nothing will change in compliance issues from now into 2020. Its a smokescreen from the SCG trust that you have fallen for.
That is why its not a good deal for the NRL nor NRL fans. They have folded and f**ked over fans for 2 years so the government/SCG Trust can get their win. not a win for NRL nor NRL fans.
No link needed. The SFS rebuild will not be finished on time. Just like Parramatta Stadium isnt going to be finished by the original plan date.
So what are the options?

A. Have 2 years of Grand Finals, Origins & some finals at SCG (not forgetting Western Sydney teams will likely be able to play home finals at the new Parra stadium). Then have access to 3 modern state of the art stadiums for the forseeable future.

Or

B. Kick and Scream because not every part of the deal is exactly perfect for us (one of several parties involved) and live out the next 20 years with ANZ and SFS as is or with half arsed cheap redevelopments.

No harm in the NRL trying to get a perfect scenario but it is pretty unlikely to happen. In 3-4 years time having the new stadiums is priority, how we get there will be forgotten pretty quickly.
Or C. Wont get through because the pushback is so severe liberal politicans know that it will cost them their job as this deal is a poisoned chalice for everyone.

The best option was to tell the SCG trust to f**k off with their lies(and they are lies, there is a reason why Webster went with lines and toilets rather than terrorism because even HE knows its bullshit fear mongering), they will get their redevelopment AFTER ANZ.
Knock down ANZ. Move the GF to Brisbane for 2 years because the NSW government already broke the original deal the deal about ANZ, Why should they be rewarded for a breach of contract, and i say that as a born and bred NSW boy.
I dont subscribe to this GF should always be in Sydney. Sydney is its home. But there is no shame in moving the GF for two years to Brisbane. Especially when Suncorp is a fantastic ground.
Do NOT reduce capacity to ANZ. Increase capcity back to AT LEAST 85k if not 90k.
This was not a good deal for the NRL. It sure isnt a good deal for NRL fans.
Reducing capacity of ANZ is a big mistake for future big event matches. Saddling Sydney siders for 2 years with the SCG footy is going to be a pain, especially with AFL NRL relations. Also remember that the SCG pitch doesnt go away in the off season, The SCG does not use drop in pitches.
This was a good deal for the SCG trust and thats it.

Thats all i have to say on the matter unless something new comes up.
Cant really have a discussion when someone believes this whole anti stadium redevelopment is because some people think is an anti NRL conspiracy.

unforgiven

88712cfec4fc031df0aee5628efcf84b154a78830b2882461b62765bc77571bd.jpg

You deluded f**k.
You do realise that the bandana wearing f**k, is a union person, who happens to be a partial tennant of the SFS. And the fact that they need ANZ redeveloped for ANY world cup bid.
The A-League support the redevlopment as it will help the wanderers for the derby games, and Sydney FC with the SFS rebuild.
The only people in the media that are supportive of this, have fingers in the SCG trust pie.
Who i will repeat, the SCG trust gets the NRL GF, Semis & Origin.
NAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH Its a conspiracy against the NRL.

No. It wont. Parramatta will not host the home semis for any of the east teams. The clubs will not accept it.
The government lied. Nothing will change in compliance issues from now into 2020. Its a smokescreen from the SCG trust that you have fallen for.
That is why its not a good deal for the NRL nor NRL fans. They have folded and f**ked over fans for 2 years so the government/SCG Trust can get their win. not a win for NRL nor NRL fans.
No link needed. The SFS rebuild will not be finished on time. Just like Parramatta Stadium isnt going to be finished by the original plan date.

Or C. Wont get through because the pushback is so severe liberal politicans know that it will cost them their job as this deal is a poisoned chalice for everyone.

The best option was to tell the SCG trust to f**k off with their lies(and they are lies, there is a reason why Webster went with lines and toilets rather than terrorism because even HE knows its bullshit fear mongering), they will get their redevelopment AFTER ANZ.
Knock down ANZ. Move the GF to Brisbane for 2 years because the NSW government already broke the original deal the deal about ANZ, Why should they be rewarded for a breach of contract, and i say that as a born and bred NSW boy.
I dont subscribe to this GF should always be in Sydney. Sydney is its home. But there is no shame in moving the GF for two years to Brisbane. Especially when Suncorp is a fantastic ground.
Do NOT reduce capacity to ANZ. Increase capcity back to AT LEAST 85k if not 90k.
This was not a good deal for the NRL. It sure isnt a good deal for NRL fans.
Reducing capacity of ANZ is a big mistake for future big event matches. Saddling Sydney siders for 2 years with the SCG footy is going to be a pain, especially with AFL NRL relations. Also remember that the SCG pitch doesnt go away in the off season, The SCG does not use drop in pitches.
This was a good deal for the SCG trust and thats it.

Thats all i have to say on the matter unless something new comes up.
Cant really have a discussion when someone believes this whole anti stadium redevelopment is because some people think is an anti NRL conspiracy.

I'm not saying that its an anti NRL conspiracy, i'm saying if they thought it was a deal that the sporting codes deserved (NRL being the one that is most advantaged by this deal) then people wouldn't be complaining about it. Its obvious they think the sporting codes got too good a deal out of this, that's why they don't want it because they believe it is too much to spend on sport stadiums.

There is no way you can argue that the ground is not a risk for terrorism, it has one main exit to the ground, it is a bottle neck to get out which is a huge problem when dealing with terrorism issues.

So everyone who doesn't agree with you are lying?

They are lying about the security issues? Have you seen the report into security issues?

They are lying about completion dates? Have you seen the plans for redevelopment?

It's your opinion that it wont be finished on time and you are trying to pass it off as fact.

They didn't actually break the previous agreement, they renegotiated it when they decided to rebuild an extra stadium. They asked for more content and a change in the order of the rebuilds when they went to the NRL with the new plan. The NRL obviously liked the idea of a 3rd stadium being rebuilt as they then agreed to the changes in the agreement. That is not breaking an agreement

M2D2

I'm not saying that its an anti NRL conspiracy, i'm saying if they thought it was a deal that the sporting codes deserved (NRL being the one that is most advantaged by this deal) then people wouldn't be complaining about it. Its obvious they think the sporting codes got too good a deal out of this, that's why they don't want it because they believe it is too much to spend on sport stadiums.

There is no way you can argue that the ground is not a risk for terrorism, it has one main exit to the ground, it is a bottle neck to get out which is a huge problem when dealing with terrorism issues.

So everyone who doesn't agree with you are lying?

They are lying about the security issues?

They are lying about completion dates?

It's your opinion that it wont be finished on time and you are trying to pass it off as fact.

They didn't actually break the previous agreement, they renegotiated it when they decided to rebuild an extra stadium. They asked for more content and a change in the order of the rebuilds when they went to the NRL with the new plan. The NRL obviously liked the idea of a 3rd stadium being rebuilt as they then agreed to the changes in the agreement. That is not breaking an agreement
Yeah nah. Its because its too much at once for stadiums. Only 2 of which is needed.
SFS has 3 exits.
The main on Driver. The one on Moore Park rd. And the one out the back thats inbetween the SFS & SCG.
They are lying about security issues yes. Nothing has changed nor will change between now and 2020 with SFS to break regulations. If so. EVERY STADIUM IN NSW is breaking regulations come 2020. This was brought up in the comments of the original article in relation to the bullshit the SCG trust put out.
Its lies. Plain and simple.
Not lying about completion dates, just wont be finished on time. Just like Parramatta wont be finished on time. No big development in Sydney will EVER be finished on time. Not with the weather systems that hit here constantly and the downing of tools.
It is fact. It will not be completed on time. The Perth Stadium wasnt finished on time. The last SCG rebuild was not finished on time. The bangaroo thing, not finished on time.
They did break the previous agreement. The previous agreement was not fulfilled on time.
They have went to the NRL a few times with new plans in a way to get out of the previous agreement because they KNEW they were not going to be able to fufill the original plan.
If the NRL did not agree to the new proposed plan, the NSW goverment would have breached the contract. The NRL did so because just like the TV rights deal. They are weak and only care about money on the table.
The fact that Perth Red thinks its a good plan and is happy the GF to be played at the SCG should tell you that its a horrible f**king plan.

unforgiven

Yeah nah. Its because its too much at once for stadiums. Only 2 of which is needed.
SFS has 3 exits.
The main on Driver. The one on Moore Park rd. And the one out the back thats inbetween the SFS & SCG.
They are lying about security issues yes. Nothing has changed nor will change between now and 2020 with SFS to break regulations. If so. EVERY STADIUM IN NSW is breaking regulations come 2020. This was brought up in the comments of the original article in relation to the bullshit the SCG trust put out.
Its lies. Plain and simple.
Not lying about completion dates, just wont be finished on time. Just like Parramatta wont be finished on time. No big development in Sydney will EVER be finished on time. Not with the weather systems that hit here constantly and the downing of tools.
It is fact. It will not be completed on time. The Perth Stadium wasnt finished on time. The last SCG rebuild was not finished on time. The bangaroo thing, not finished on time.
They did break the previous agreement. The previous agreement was not fulfilled on time.
They have went to the NRL a few times with new plans in a way to get out of the previous agreement because they KNEW they were not going to be able to fufill the original plan.
If the NRL did not agree to the new proposed plan, the NSW goverment would have breached the contract. The NRL did so because just like the TV rights deal. They are weak and only care about money on the table.
The fact that Perth Red thinks its a good plan and is happy the GF to be played at the SCG should tell you that its a horrible f**king plan.

Your rep is roughly on par with Perth Red so I wouldn't use him to win your argument. You are relying on the comments section of an article to backup your belief that the compliance issues are not real.

Its compliance certificate runs out in 2019?

unforgiven

I'm sure these would be easily refuted?

"For instance, Allianz Stadium is not compliant with the earthquake code brought in after the Newcastle earthquake of 1989. Also, the building standards of the day mean that Allianz Stadium does not have any fire sprinklers. Regular attendees would be well aware of the stadium’s deficiencies in regard to food and beverage facilities as well as bathrooms."