Anyone know if that alleged upgrade to Campbell Town now that they're getting a soccer team is going to happen? Surely if it does Wests have to use that as a permanent home.
I have a hard to believing it will happen anytime soon. Would have to cost at least $200m, there’s no way the state govt would be tipping in anything significant. And I simply can’t believe there’s enough in it for private development, even with the proposed developments around the stadium.
I get the sense these types of promises were more about securing the licence, I bet the Melbourne stadium falls through too and they end up playing at Geelong.
FMD, soccer at Kardinya Park would be up there with the Vietnam War in terms of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
They’re playing their first few years in Geelong & Ballarat.
I’m just really sceptical of these Aleague bids. The whole league is struggling, how can they possibly come up with money to finance a whole stadium? If it were possible why aren’t NRL teams doing it?
The team is called "West Melbourne" isn't it? I get those 2 places are west of Melbourne but surely they'd be better of going by Victoria or something?They’re playing their first few years in Geelong & Ballarat.
Thurston to be immortalised in bronze with own statue at new North Queensland stadium
A bronze life-size version of NQ Cowboys great Johnathan Thurston will “stand watch” over a time capsule at the North Queensland Stadium, but the statue’s pose remains unknown.
The State Government has asked for expressions of interest from artists to develop a statue of Townsville NRL king Thurston.
Tender documents obtained by the Townsville Bulletin revealed the base of the statue would be mounted to include “provisions for a time capsule with the view that JT ‘stands watch’ over the capsule”.
Townsville MP Scott Stewart said it was still unknown what would be put in the time capsule.
“This is something we’ll probably talk to the community about and of course to the Cowboys and what the people of Townsville thinks should actually go into that time capsule,” he said.
“But I think it should be more than just a celebration of the stadium and Cowboys, this needs to be a celebration of North Queensland and a celebration of the people of Townsville.”
It is understood the statue will be similar to those installed outside Suncorp Stadium of Wally Lewis and Mal Meninga.
The statue will be designed to reflect an “action pose” of Thurston “reflecting his playing career” but the final pose will have to be agreed upon between the State Government and the successful designer.
It is understood the statue “must be” on site and ready for installation by January 2020, which gives the artist about six months to complete the project.
Bronze JT must be made out of materials “structurally robust” enough to withstand the weight of fans climbing on the statue, as well as all weather conditions.
It will be installed at the northern entry plaza of the North Queensland Stadium and will be about 179cm tall, the same height as Thurston.
The expression of interest stage will close at 2pm on July 22. The State Government will then make a shortlist of suppliers to move on to the tender stage.
URL: https://www.townsvillebulletin.com.au/subscribe/news/1/?sourceCode=TBWEB_WRE170_a&dest=https://www.townsvillebulletin.com.au/news/townsville/thurston-to-be-immortalised-in-bronze-with-own-statue-at-new-north-queensland-stadium/news-story/1155ca7d120fa40a210f2cb9484633e0&memtype=anonymous&mode=premium
The ACT Government has put out a tender to install a second video screen at GIO Stadium. Should be an improvement on the tiny screen Canberra has at the moment.
The new Melbourne team was officially named Western United which is about as generic sounding as you can get. They reckon the logo is supposed to allude to the West Gate (which is quite a stretch) so basically the idea is that the team represents everything west of the bridge. Hosting home games in a completely different city doesn’t make a lot of sense even if it is technically west of Melbourne.The team is called "West Melbourne" isn't it? I get those 2 places are west of Melbourne but surely they'd be better of going by Victoria or something?
Good on them for playing in regional Victoria though, I'd love to see the Storm take a game to a different regional city every year instead of Brisbane
What happened to the massive screens at Allianz?
The ACT Government has put out a tender to install a second video screen at GIO Stadium. Should be an improvement on the tiny screen Canberra has at the moment.
nothing worse than vague directional names in a national competition.. *cough* wests tigers *cough*The new Melbourne team was officially named Western United which is about as generic sounding as you can get.
One went to the SCG and the other has been installed in Sturt Aryes' lounge room.What happened to the massive screens at Allianz?
I reckon they should have been the Western Sydney Tigers with Wests or Wests Tigers as a nickname.nothing worse than vague directional names in a national competition.. *cough* wests tigers *cough*
yep! same way South Sydney are usually just called Souths, but their not the Souths Rabbitohs, that would be ridiculousI reckon they should have been the Western Sydney Tigers with Wests or Wests Tigers as a nickname.
It's kind of sad, seeing the SFS like that.
I watched a lot of footy at that ground.
Took my son to his first test match there. Watched my mate debut for the Wallabies there. Watched a shed load of club games there.
I hope from the ashes rises a new beast.
But at this moment, seeing the SFS like that leaves me glum.
Me too. Attended a multitude of games there over the years.
Mostly Eels NRL games when they were playing there, but other games like Argentina vs the Socceroos, British Lions vs the Waratahs, a multitude of Wanderers vs ESFC derbies, Wanderers Grand Final, Bledisloe Cup matches etc...
It was great in it's day, but it was truly time for an upgrade or in this case, a rebuild.
It's time had passed, but the memories will never fade.
It's kind of sad, seeing the SFS like that.
I watched a lot of footy at that ground.
Took my son to his first test match there. Watched my mate debut for the Wallabies there. Watched a shed load of club games there.
I hope from the ashes rises a new beast.
But at this moment, seeing the SFS like that leaves me glum.