Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

ground zero

They are just copying the Sharks! Its a great idea.
Where's the proof the sharks are building an owning a hotel accommodation. Didn't they sell the land to a developer. Won't the motel be owned an run by a hotel chain. Nothing to do with the sharks. Just built near shark Park. Once you sell your land you don't own it anymore.

AFL support on the Northern Beaches is tiny compared to the Eastern Suburbs. It’s true that the Swans draw from all over Sydney, but their support in the Eastern Suburbs is strong.
Maybe but let’s not forget the massive AFL support the Swans get to market and develop themselves plus there’s a fair chunk of Waratahs and Sydney FC fans as well. Makes sense given they’re all on our doorstep. That’s what the club’s up against and yet they’ve had a steady increase in crowds and members over the years which will only improve with the new stadium. Yeah, success on the ladder and all but that’s what clubs are meant to do, I thought.

2012....Sharks Year

Where's the proof the sharks are building an owning a hotel accommodation. Didn't they sell the land to a developer. Won't the motel be owned an run by a hotel chain. Nothing to do with the sharks. Just built near shark Park. Once you sell your land you don't own it anymore.
It’s obvious you’re not the sharpest tool in the shed and you have a hatred of the Sharks. Just a quick look at your previous posts and more than half are death riding the Sharks. You’re right the Sharks sold off their interest in the hotel which will be managed and operated by Quest apartments. We used the proceeds to buy Kareela golf club which is now known as Sharks at Kareela. The upside of the apartments is that they will provide visiting teams and their fans the opportunity to stay in the precinct and enjoy and use all the facilities including the brand new leagues club. Either that or they could drive 20 minutes up the road to the time-warp Taj except you can only use parts of the club cause the rest is under a demolition order. Need to get used to it mate…. Little brother is fast becoming big brother… like it or not.

I heard the Sharks are looking to be acquiring more assets so they either have cash stashed or they’re making good coin from what they already have? It’s good that they have ambition beyond merely surviving.

2012....Sharks Year

I heard the Sharks are looking to be acquiring more assets so they either have cash stashed or they’re making good coin from what they already have? It’s good that they have ambition beyond merely surviving.
Yeah mate just fortunate that for the first time in the clubs history that we have a group of successful businessmen/women steering the ship. The leagues club itself is going to end up being pretty special and that combined with the whole precinct is going to make the game-day experience pretty unique for those looking for a day out rather than just a game of footy.

yadamisha

From what I understand the club still has some interest in the hotel side and will have access to rooms for long term leases for the football club etc. The hotel is just another part of the whole scheme that creates the cash cow the new leagues club will be in the new complex! Kareela has become a hugely profitable asset to the club! Ground zero is just showing his ignorance AGAIN!

Lol what a sook.

The first point is untrue. We had as many juniors in our best 17 last year as did parra. Our area is small, not much we can do about that and there are historical reasons as to why that is the case thus the move in to other areas such as North Sydney, CC and Wollongong. Our CC juniors teams have been particularly successful of late.

The second point is just a sook about how successful the roosters are.

Lol at the 3rd point. Just another sook due to envy

Last point is wrong. Membership and crowd numbers are fine and will only increase with our shiny new stadium which you as a tax payer have funded so that you for that. We aren't the best supported team in Sydney and never will be but we are also far from the least supported. See the NRL fan surveys for perspective.

I did enjoy your sook though, you hit all the buzz words.
North Sydney Bears should relocate permanently to Gosford, rebrand as the Central Coast Bears, focus on developing RL there from U8s through to NSW Cup.

Roosters take over the North Shore and become the only team known to children from this region. Give it 20 or 30 years and Roosters will develop a following in North Shore. It won't happen overnight, but neither did the Swans' growth.

If Roosters and Bears did this then Manly would be up shit creek without a paddle, as a strong Central Coast Bears could push for an NRL licence at the expense of the Sea Eagles in 20 or 30 years from now. If the Bears relocated to Gosford 20 years ago then they might be in a position to worm their way back into the NRL at Manly's expense.

ground zero

From what I understand the club still has some interest in the hotel side and will have access to rooms for long term leases for the football club etc. The hotel is just another part of the whole scheme that creates the cash cow the new leagues club will be in the new complex! Kareela has become a hugely profitable asset to the club! Ground zero is just showing his ignorance AGAIN!
New leagues club in new complex. LOL sharks fans so delusional. Its the same club in the same pissy grandstand. Just renovating

LeagueXIII

If two smaller Sydney clubs relocated to Adelaide and Perth then we would be taking the fight to AwFuL in their backyard.

Southern Sydney doesn't need two teams and Manly is a small club with zero growth potential. There's no way Manly will ever represent more than a small pocket on the Northern Beaches. There's no doubt in my mind that Roosters could become a behemoth with support throughout North Shore and Northern Beaches. It just needs the Bears and Sea Eagles to f**k off so the Roosters can build a supporter base amongst kids who are born after Manly and North Sydney are gone. Short term pain for long term gain.
Sounds like a smart plan😳

Jamberoo

North Sydney Bears should relocate permanently to Gosford, rebrand as the Central Coast Bears, focus on developing RL there from U8s through to NSW Cup.

Roosters take over the North Shore and become the only team known to children from this region. Give it 20 or 30 years and Roosters will develop a following in North Shore. It won't happen overnight, but neither did the Swans' growth.

If Roosters and Bears did this then Manly would be up shit creek without a paddle, as a strong Central Coast Bears could push for an NRL licence at the expense of the Sea Eagles in 20 or 30 years from now. If the Bears relocated to Gosford 20 years ago then they might be in a position to worm their way back into the NRL at Manly's expense.
Why would the volunteers running North Sydney want to move an hour away? Logistically it makes no sense. You would need to find a whole new committee. North Sydney RL exists to support/run RL in North Sydney. Are you suggesting the the Bears brand is so strong that it will boost RL in CC? Surely those volunteers based on the CC would rather invest their time into CC RL rather than the Bears.

MugaB

Why would the volunteers running North Sydney want to move an hour away? Logistically it makes no sense. You would need to find a whole new committee. North Sydney RL exists to support/run RL in North Sydney. Are you suggesting the the Bears brand is so strong that it will boost RL in CC? Surely those volunteers based on the CC would rather invest their time into CC RL rather than the Bears.
It would only be worth it if they received an NRL licence, otherwise they won't do nuffin

TGG

The city of Gosford will have to grow a bit before it can take on an NRL franchise. There’s not enough sponsorship dollars up there to sustain a club.
If it was the Bears though, and in no way am I’m supportive of the Central Coast having a team at the moment, the sponsorship dollars wouldn't all have to come from Gosford.

Ideally the franchise would be able to pull a national sponsorships, sponsorship from the old North Sydney Bears area & smaller local sponsorships.

Ozzi_78

2 acquisitions in the plans. Let’s see how they work out.

Ozzi_78

Dumbass.

Post 19219 I said it will increase patronage at the club. Not a single sharks fan here said we own it. We benefit from it though big time.

Anyone who travels for work loves a club nearby their accomodation. Gives good food options and spent where to drink and punt. Improves the whole precinct.

I wasn’t aware the sharks had some interest in the hotel but that is smart if true.

Imagine the Interstate clubs might look into it as a place to stay for sharks home games? Be mad not to look at it. Could walk into the stadium.

ground zero

hahaha Kareela golf clubs dont make money. especially doing covid times.