It's merkins like you that have permanently damaged the love I had for the game.
Completely fed up of the anti Cronulla rhetoric to the point I only watch Sharks games these days.
If Cronulla goes, I personally would lose sleep if the game died a death by thousand cuts.
You said once you don't care about the Sydney clubs, well guess what the league went to shit in 1995 when it added all these out of town clubs and the league became the ARL.
It wasn't the same game for me after that.
All I care about is the Sydney clubs, couldn't give a flying monkeys about the Donkeys, Cow Botherers and the joke club that is the Gold Coast.
Only reason the Adelaide Rams were set up was because they needed an extra team to make it a 10 team comp for SL in 1997. The lone employee of the SARL defected to Super League, and as News Ltd got its start in Adelaide, that was where the idea germinated for the Adelaide Rams came from.
In 1997, the Rams averaged 15,330 per home game. In 1998 that dipped to 7,742 per game (figures from - https://afltables.com/rl/crowds/adelaide.html).
There is little, if any junior league infrastructure in SA, unlike WA.
What you and that Dolphins flog don't realise is like it or not the Sharks will be staying right where they are and always will be there.Yeah but that’s the flaw of your argument. More people care about those clubs than clubs like Cronulla and some other NSW clubs (some not all). I am not trying to hurt your feelings but that’s a fact and that’s all that matters. Without those clubs the game would have been gone into irrelevance a long time ago. It’s just simple supply and demand.
Btw the early to mid 90’s were probably the height of RL popularity.
The irony is lost on those flogs mate.“We need to ensure junior development is maintained and grassroots is looked after to grow the game”
“we need to ditch the sharks they are a bust and don’t offer anything”
Im Not here for serious discussion, that goes against the whole theme of the thread, I’m here for the moneyyyyyy.The irony is lost on those flogs mate.
Can Sydney call itself the largest rugby league city in the world?What you and that Dolphins flog don't realise is like it or not the Sharks will be staying right where they are and always will be there.
Simple fact of the matter is the club is now financially sound and has a large junior base at its disposal (including powerhouse RL school Endeavour Sports High School only a Nicho Hynes 40/20 kick away from Shark Park.
What nuffies in here are basically calling for is for soccer and AFL to take over the Sutherland Shire as that is what happened in the inner west and North Shore when Balmain and Norths died.
What you and that Dolphins flog don't realise is like it or not the Sharks will be staying right where they are and always will be there.
Simple fact of the matter is the club is now financially sound and has a large junior base at its disposal (including powerhouse RL school Endeavour Sports High School only a Nicho Hynes 40/20 kick away from Shark Park.
What nuffies in here are basically calling for is for soccer and AFL to take over the Sutherland Shire as that is what happened in the inner west and North Shore when Balmain and Norths died.
This, ladies and gentlemen, is why I cannot take Cronulla supporters seriously.The sooner we get to a conference system the better. Add the Pirates… make it 18 teams. 9 team Sydney conference….9 team regional/ interstate conference. Sydney teams play each other twice ( heaps of derby’s…..maximises crowds) and regionals once and vicea-verca. Top 4 from each conference play semis. Back on topic… Sharks announcement by the end of next week.
Are you trolling or just completely and utterly clueless?Can Sydney call itself the largest rugby league city in the world?
If its people are willing to abandon rugby league for soccer and fumbleball, in the advent that a few tiny clubs are given the boot that should have been aimed at them 30 years ago, then the answer is no, it's not a dyed in the wool rugby league city. Brisbane lost its competition in 1988, yet the game survived and thrived.
If nine Sydney NRL clubs cannot stop one AwFuL club from dominating the landscape, then it must be a regarded as a developing fumbleball wasteland. PVL said no money shall be spent on "rusted on AFL states". I guess we'll just have to stop squandering money on this developing fumbleball wasteland.
There's no evidence of Bears fans quitting rugby league for fumbleball and soccer. The Swans started getting improved support when they started winning around 95-96, which was years before the Bears were wound up. Coincidentally, the Swans drew similar crowds in the 1980s when they had a bit of success. NSWRL teams were lucky to draw 8k back in the 80s when the Swans were getting more than 20k.Are you trolling or just completely and utterly clueless?
I was referring to the supporters of those clubs who left for the AFL and soccer because like it or not they'd supported those clubs all their lives and without their club the game was dead to them.
Maybe it's time to stop putting teams into Queensland as the AFL is on the march to take over up there anyway and there's nothing the NRL can do to stop it.
Like what happened in Sydney the past 50 years with the demographic changes thanks to gentrification and immigration, Queensland is fast becoming a place of choice for people in the AFL states to go.
More and more Victorians and South Australians are moving to the Sunshine State every year which means while people won't ditch their existing club, the kids of these expats are likely to become Lions & Suns fans. Especially if the Lions keep being a consistent finals team again.
North Queensland has a world class stadium, high-end sponsors and are the sixth most watched team in the NRL, which makes them more important to the broadcasters than 10 other clubs. This is despite not performing on the field since 2017. Cronulla play out of a shithole and are one of the least watched clubs in the league, despite being successful on the field over recent seasons. Going by those metrics, and they're the only ones that count in a sport that relies heavily on broadcasting revenue to pay its players and keep all 16 clubs viable, it's fair to say the Cowboys are the more stable club with their future secured, whereas the Sharks are not certain of being around in 2032 when the Brisbane Games are in full swing. If Foxtel ever falls over then Cronulla would be one of the first teams to feel the pinch as the annual grant would more likely than not drop from 130% of the salary cap to covering nothing more than player payments.Cowboys minus Thurston = basket case
Cowboys plus Chad Townsend = Spoon
Sharks announcement by next week
I certainly hope that being the 6th most watched club makes you feel warm and fuzzy as you claim your 4th wooden spoon next year. Wish you wouldn’t quote me…. I’m trying to ignore your dribble.North Queensland has a world class stadium, high-end sponsors and are the sixth most watched team in the NRL, which makes them more important to the broadcasters than 10 other clubs. This is despite not performing on the field since 2017. Cronulla play out of a shithole and are one of the least watched clubs in the league, despite being successful on the field over recent seasons. Going by those metrics, and they're the only ones that count in a sport that relies heavily on broadcasting revenue to pay its players and keep all 16 clubs viable, it's fair to say the Cowboys are the more stable club with their future secured, whereas the Sharks are not certain of being around in 2032 when the Brisbane Games are in full swing. If Foxtel ever falls over then Cronulla would be one of the first teams to feel the pinch as the annual grant would more likely than not drop from 130% of the salary cap to covering nothing more than player payments.
We may very well finish last on the ladder, but at least our fans will be able to watch our team play out of a world class stadium in a lovely warm tropical city!I certainly hope that being the 6th most watched club makes you feel warm and fuzzy as you claim your 4th wooden spoon next year. Wish you wouldn’t quote me…. I’m trying to ignore your dribble.