Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Galvin

Nutz

@Tigerm
I'm reading that the deal with the dogs is around 750k and the transfer fee isn't an issue.

Cancel that...

Gus confirms Dogs OUT of Galvin race as clear ‘favourites’ firm for Tigers star’s signature

Nutz

Galvin weighing up offers of $750k a season from Parramatta and Bulldogs

Story by Michael Chammas

59m

Officials from the Canterbury Bulldogs and Parramatta Eels have met with Lachlan Galvin and tabled offers of around $750,000 a season to the 19-year-old playmaker.

Story by Michael Chammas

59m

Officials from the Canterbury Bulldogs and Parramatta Eels have met with Lachlan Galvin and tabled offers of around $750,000 a season to the 19-year-old playmaker.

Either him or his manager (and I suspect the latter) must really hate us, to leave so much money on the table.
If this is from Moses, why would Galvin (and his family) be prepared to lose so much money, when he's only a tackle away from losing everything, crazy.

Nutz

Are we getting sick of this yet. It will keep going on and on and on and will stuff up our season.
Why can't we (even with the lawsuit) simply ask Galvin to step down because we feel he has too much on his plate and we are actually looking after him by doing so. Give him stress leave......
Whatever, just get rid of him.

Tiger Pedro

I think whether we lose or win in situations like this are dependent on whether you lose or win! Sorry for being obtuse but I mean, if your club is considered a Winner or a Loser in terms of being regularly competitive and relatively frequently in a premiership window then you can win by not having players and managers put you in this position. So regardless of whether Pascoe was weak and Richo strong it has happened to us under both CEO's.
I ask myself -> Why does Fa'alogo stay at the Storm even though he is absolutely 1st grade fullback standard? Why (if Galvin goes to the Dogs) will Baily Hayward stay (even though he's a 1st grade quality 6)? Why do the Storm, Panthers, Roosters & Broncos rarely ever have a manager trying to extract their players from those clubs, and I think you can throw the Bulldogs into that bunch now as well. The players don't want to get out - and that is now the challenge for us. We need to build in a long term way that can be sustainable so we are always competitive and always able to be seen as having a premiership window somewhere nearby. The teams that seem to be the ones where players and managers are agitating to get a player out have been the dragons, titans, knights and of course the WT. So business systems, structures, resilience, pathways / junior development, leadership (off and on field), strategy (home ground), community engagement and building culture is the key. Hopefully the club stays the course, is unwavering and doesn't let the odd incident (like this Galvin / Moses saga) divert them from their course...
So I say "No one individual is bigger than the team / club" - And I'll support the management as long as they don't blink or flinch and are prepared to stay the course!

Nutz

Either him or his manager (and I suspect the latter) must really hate us, to leave so much money on the table.
If this is from Moses, why would Galvin (and his family) be prepared to lose so much money, when he's only a tackle away from losing everything, crazy.
Yep, we've been saying this right from the outset.
If I was his manager I would get LG to go now at a low offer (this year's $) then take the big dollars next year when Parra's ⅝ Brown moves on, just have it in an all encompassing contract in case he's injured or his form is poor and clubs get cold feet.
I keep saying that Parra is LG's preference.

Nutz

I think whether we lose or win in situations like this are dependent on whether you lose or win! Sorry for being obtuse but I mean, if your club is considered a Winner or a Loser in terms of being regularly competitive and relatively frequently in a premiership window then you can win by not having players and managers put you in this position. So regardless of whether Pascoe was weak and Richo strong it has happened to us under both CEO's.
I ask myself -> Why does Fa'alogo stay at the Storm even though he is absolutely 1st grade fullback standard? Why (if Galvin goes to the Dogs) will Baily Hayward stay (even though he's a 1st grade quality 6)? Why do the Storm, Panthers, Roosters & Broncos rarely ever have a manager trying to extract their players from those clubs, and I think you can throw the Bulldogs into that bunch now as well. The players don't want to get out - and that is now the challenge for us. We need to build in a long term way that can be sustainable so we are always competitive and always able to be seen as having a premiership window somewhere nearby. The teams that seem to be the ones where players and managers are agitating to get a player out have been the dragons, titans, knights and of course the WT. So business systems, structures, resilience, pathways / junior development, leadership (off and on field), strategy (home ground), community engagement and building culture is the key. Hopefully the club stays the course, is unwavering and doesn't let the odd incident (like this Galvin / Moses saga) divert them from their course...
So I say "No one individual is bigger than the team / club" - And I'll support the management as long as they don't blink or flinch and are prepared to stay the course!
In the NRL era, it's hard for traditional bottom feeders like the Tigers to rebuild. We really haven't had a successful one since 05.
When we do get a move on, it's imperative to seize the moment because we have a history of our good players moving before we hit a brick wall.
So to say we stick Galvin in reserve grade and tough it out won't work.
We need to cut the cancer out quickly and ensure that our marquee players have good cattle around them to work with.
If we miss out this year and next year then I fear it will be the cellar for another umpteen years.

Nutz

I maintain that the most crucial positions in a side is the ⅝ and centre. The centre in particular is a highly underrated position.
The best ½ and ⅝ in the world would struggle somewhat if their centres were useless. I'm biased I know, but I've seen so many failed attacking raids over the years because the centres were nuffties.
I'm hoping that May comes to us and makes an impact. I've seen Makasini play and I'm confident he will go well.
I just wish we could speed up this process.
Hurry up and go Galvin because I'm sure once he goes we'll announce another signing.

Galvin weighs up offers of $750k a season from Parramatta and Bulldogs​

By Michael Chammas

May 23, 2025 — 1.59pm

The Bulldogs and Eels held meetings with Galvin on Wednesday as he prepares to make a decision on his future as early as this weekend.
The offers from the powerhouse Sydney clubs are for considerably less than the salary Wests Tigers chief executive Shane Richardson was willing to pay Galvin when he prepared a contract upgrade and extension worth close to $6 million over five years.
Galvin’s decision to turn down that offer and potentially accept $3.5 million less to move across town speaks to his frustration with his development at the Tigers.

The Tigers have attached a transfer fee of close to $165,000 to Galvin’s release before November 1 – a sum Parramatta and Canterbury are willing to pay. It is considerably less than the fee of close to seven figures the Tigers initially sought to impose.
The Bulldogs have long maintained a strategy of only signing players who want to play for the club. Sources with knowledge of the situation talking under the condition of anonymity told the Herald Galvin has a strong desire to play under Cameron Ciraldo at the Bulldogs.
Galvin could make a decision on his future this weekend.

Galvin could make a decision on his future this weekend.Credit: Getty Images
Increasing the appeal of the Bulldogs is Galvin’s relationship with assistant coach Luke Vella, a close friend and Galvin’s former high school teacher.
Galvin has also struck up a relationship with Parramatta halfback Mitchell Moses, who has been in the playmaker’s ear about joining the Eels to wear the No.6 jersey set to be vacated by Dylan Brown when he joins Newcastle next year.

Galvin’s future at the Bulldogs wouldn’t be as straightforward, with Matt Burton the incumbent five-eighth at Belmore. Galvin’s potential arrival would all but end Toby Sexton’s time at the club and put Ciraldo in a position where he has to develop a No.7 from within.
Galvin last month informed the Tigers of his desire to depart at the end of his contract, which runs until the end of 2026.
Parramatta haven’t hidden their desire to lure Galvin, a childhood Eels supporter. Parramatta coach Jason Ryles sees Galvin as the ideal replacement for the Newcastle-bound Dylan Brown, who will join the Knights next year on a record $13 million deal over 10 years.
“I made my [interest] clear a couple of weeks ago. That hasn’t changed, so we’ll wait and see what happens,” Ryles said.

“The rule is you can’t negotiate until they get permission to, so until that happens we’ll keep our position there. Lots of strange things happen in footy [though], but we’ll make sure we do the right thing with the NRL.”
It comes as Brisbane skipper Adam Reynolds confirmed Danny Weidler’s report on Nine’s 100% Footy a fortnight ago that he had received interest from the Tigers about playing on at the joint venture club next year if he was unable to strike a deal with the Broncos.
“Yes, there’s been interest from the Tigers, but no actual offer,” Reynolds said late on Thursday.
“I’ve always had a lot of time for Benji, and I spent a few years playing junior footy at Leichhardt. But I want to stress my main priority is getting a deal done in Brisbane. That’s where I want to be. And I’m confident we’ll get something sorted.
“If my future isn’t in Brisbane, then naturally I’d have to look elsewhere. It’s nice to know the Tigers have shown interest.”

SMH also reports in financial news today, new company G. Alvin Incognito Enterprises has acquired a 5% stake in a Laundy Hotels Group establishment located in the city...........

It's still a kick in the teeth isn't it. The truth is though the kid isn't worth anything like the million contract we were offering him. It's also like he desperately wants out.

I'm so glad he knocked us back though. What a ridiculous contract we offered him.

Ron's_Mate

By Michael Chammas
May 23, 2025 — 1.59pm

The Bulldogs and Eels held meetings with Galvin on Wednesday as he prepares to make a decision on his future as early as this weekend.

The offers from the powerhouse Sydney clubs are for considerably less than the salary Wests Tigers chief executive Shane Richardson was willing to pay Galvin when he prepared a contract upgrade and extension worth close to $6 million over five years. It’s believed the offers from Parramatta and Canterbury are for a shorter duration.

Galvin’s decision to turn down Richardson’s offer and potentially accept $3.5 million less to move across town speaks to his frustration with his development at the Tigers.

The Tigers have attached a transfer fee of close to $165,000 to Galvin’s release before November 1 – a sum Parramatta and Canterbury are willing to pay. It is considerably less than the fee of close to seven figures the Tigers initially sought to impose.

The Bulldogs have long maintained a strategy of only signing players who want to play for the club. Sources with knowledge of the situation talking on the condition of anonymity told the Herald Galvin has a strong desire to play under Cameron Ciraldo at the Bulldogs.

Increasing the appeal of the Bulldogs is Galvin’s relationship with assistant coach Luke Vella, a close friend and Galvin’s former high school teacher.

Galvin has also struck up a relationship with Parramatta halfback Mitchell Moses, who has been in the playmaker’s ear about joining the Eels to wear the No.6 jersey set to be vacated by Dylan Brown when he joins Newcastle on a record $13 million deal next year.

Galvin’s future at the Bulldogs wouldn’t be as straightforward, with Matt Burton the incumbent five-eighth at Belmore. Galvin’s potential arrival would all but end Toby Sexton’s time at the club and put Ciraldo in a position where he has to develop a No.7 from within.

Galvin last month informed the Tigers of his desire to depart at the end of his contract, which runs until the end of 2026.

Parramatta haven’t hidden their desire to lure Galvin, a childhood Eels supporter. Parramatta coach Jason Ryles sees hims as the ideal replacement for Brown.

“I made my [interest] clear a couple of weeks ago. That hasn’t changed, so we’ll wait and see what happens,” Ryles said. “The rule is you can’t negotiate until they get permission to, so until that happens we’ll keep our position there. Lots of strange things happen in footy [though], but we’ll make sure we do the right thing with the NRL.”

It comes as Brisbane skipper Adam Reynolds confirmed Danny Weidler’s report on Nine’s 100% Footy a fortnight ago that he had received interest from the Tigers about playing on at the joint venture club next year if he was unable to strike a deal with the Broncos.

“Yes, there’s been interest from the Tigers, but no actual offer,” Reynolds said late on Thursday. “I’ve always had a lot of time for Benji, and I spent a few years playing junior footy at Leichhardt. But I want to stress my main priority is getting a deal done in Brisbane. That’s where I want to be. And I’m confident we’ll get something sorted.

“If my future isn’t in Brisbane, then naturally I’d have to look elsewhere. It’s nice to know the Tigers have shown interest.”

gordsy

I was expecting $500k or somewhere around that mark. And if we didn't get it he can sit and sulk in reggies.

Let him sue us for bullying. It's hardly an open and shut case. It wouldn't have even made it to court until later next year anyway. And Galvin would have to pay his own lawyers to run it. They would not come cheap and would eat up a lot of the playing money he's made so far. I reckon if we called his bluff he would have folded like an origami pterydactyl.
Lee the shit stain would work for free if it meant f**king us over...Galvin has us bent over. I he gets dropped to reggies and kills it and people say why aren't you playing him. He shits the bed and do no one cares. I'd use the mental health card and give him 6 weeks in cup footy or gardening leave