Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Games thread eels v dogs

Maroubra Eel

Lots of positives to come out of the game. Aggressive Defence and go forward would have won most teams this game. Allgood and Mannah were FREAKN amazing. Sandow tries his little heart out.

Negatives Haynes, he was shit. And that's the first time I ever say that. f**king Keating is useless (Defence is great) Ben Roberts gifted the dogs countless penalties which led to trys.

We have improved heaps, hopefully more to come.

Great post as usual.

Despite finish stone motherless last in 2012, obviously some expect us to win every game in 2013. :crazy:
Seems like they need to listen to what Ricky Stuart had to say in the press conference after the Warriors game last week.

Mate, I'm with you 100%. I don't get that mentality - yeah, we should have won, but it was never going to be easy going up against the runners-up, desperate to win and prove they're not a one man team...

Eelogical

He ran the ball fine, DT site has him at 163 metres, everything else though just seemed to lack effort. That forward pass to Blair being a nice example, he's thrown those passes forward before, but never that blatantly.

IMO this was Hayne's opportunity to stamp his presence on a game. His co-captain was off, the team were well in the game and he was nowhere to be seen for most of the 2nd half. Injured? I hope so.

Maroubra Eel

I like the way Sticky has got us defending. Massive difference from last year. Last few years actually.

Unfortunately the second half was dominated by the Roberts and Paulo brain explosion show..

You can really see the difference. Glad Kearney's gone.

natheel

Gee lussick is an angry prick. Love that we bought him. Our forwards were great. Hayne must have something wrong

Loko played awesome.

We were unlucky tonight not to get the win thought we were the better side but dogs did a typical des strangle out the opposition. Toutai had a good debut and Tanginoa did ok fr the 15 minutes he was on.

We missed reni in that second half. Paulo did ok thought he ended up trying to force the pass to much but sick of Keating goin down that short side to Roberts when nothing was on and sandow is calling for the ball.

Interesting to see what sticky says. I think he will be happy with the defensive effort but at the end there he was cursing hayne

Ha ha, we'll I can't winge at home cause she doesn't wanna know, so I need an outlet...

Nah, mate - whinge away!

I didn't mean to be rude; I'm just saying after two weeks, this side (with mostly the same squad as 2012) has already shown massive improvement. We are notoriously slow starters (especially when it comes to our attack), and as frustrating as this loss is, I am swelling with pride at my club. I haven't seen them play like this for years, and it makes me happy that we have 17 blokes willing to give 100% for their club every week (and a coach who does the same, too).

Granted, Jarryd looked off tonight, but still!

Djay

Lussick and Loko were brilliant IMO.

Maitua hardly playing at 100% really hurt us, Hayne wasn't his best and that hurt also.

Roberts has flashes of brilliance and needs to play at no.14 when the opposition are tiring to replace Keating who is just woeful at times, Paulo has talent he was just getting in the way tonight needs to be running out wide.

But our defensive effort and intensity was brilliant, I've always been against accepting mediocrity but I think tonight was a step forward in leaps and bounds. Our attack was a bit flat compared to last week but that will come, my main worry has always been defense and I think were only gonna get better because it was really good tonight.

We got the wooden spoon FFS! This is not gonna be a quick fix, the future looks bright.

Gee lussick is an angry prick. Love that we bought him. Our forwards were great. Hayne must have something wrong

Loko played awesome.

We were unlucky tonight not to get the win thought we were the better side but dogs did a typical des strangle out the opposition. Toutai had a good debut and Tanginoa did ok fr the 15 minutes he was on.

We missed reni in that second half. Paulo did ok thought he ended up trying to force the pass to much but sick of Keating goin down that short side to Roberts when nothing was on and sandow is calling for the ball.

Interesting to see what sticky says. I think he will be happy with the defensive effort but at the end there he was cursing hayne

Huge fan of Darcy Lussick - stoked he's an Eel.

I thought Paulo was OK, but he over-played his hand a bit. I think we can only really carry one out of Paulo and Roberts in the side (though Ben did some good things).

mickdo

We did ok. Too many silly mistakes and injuries though, so we have a lot of imrovement in us. Hayne must be sick, he looked rooted out there.

Lussick and Loko were brilliant IMO.

Maitua hardly playing at 100% really hurt us, Hayne wasn't his best and that hurt also.

Roberts has flashes of brilliance and needs to play at no.14 when the opposition are tiring to replace Keating who is just woeful at times, Paulo has talent he was just getting in the way tonight needs to be running out wide.

But our defensive effort and intensity was brilliant, I've always been against accepting mediocrity but I think tonight was a step forward in leaps and bounds. Our attack was a bit flat compared to last week but that will come, my main worry has always been defense and I think were only gonna get better because it was really good tonight.

We got the wooden spoon FFS! This is not gonna be a quick fix, the future looks bright.

Someone made the observation last week that Roberts doesn't look that fit. I think they are right, and it's holding him back a bit.

natheel

Huge fan of Darcy Lussick - stoked he's an Eel.

I thought Paulo was OK, but he over-played his hand a bit. I think we can only really carry one out of Paulo and Roberts in the side (though Ben did some good things).

Yeh when pressure is on Paulo is a bit of a one trick pony. Run across the face of the defence show show and pass or go.

Isn't it great to see sandow playing like an actualy halfback

Hope reni isn't out long

Will be interesting to see if tigers lift this week. Either way I think we will still jag a win against them

Hope Kelly is back soon too

Wally21

Nah, mate - whinge away!

I didn't mean to be rude; I'm just saying after two weeks, this side (with mostly the same squad as 2012) has already shown massive improvement. We are notoriously slow starters (especially when it comes to our attack), and as frustrating as this loss is, I am swelling with pride at my club. I haven't seen them play like this for years, and it makes me happy that we have 17 blokes willing to give 100% for their club every week (and a coach who does the same, too).

Granted, Jarryd looked off tonight, but still!

Fair enough mate! It was nice to be in the game I guess! Very different to last year. sticky looks to have made a difference already

Yeh when pressure is on Paulo is a bit of a one trick pony. Run across the face of the defence show show and pass or go.

Isn't it great to see sandow playing like an actualy halfback

Hope reni isn't out long

Will be interesting to see if tigers lift this week. Either way I think we will still jag a win against them

Hope Kelly is back soon too

Sandow was excellent.

Fair enough mate! It was nice to be in the game I guess! Very different to last year. sticky looks to have made a difference already

Indeed - last year, we get pumped by 50 IMO!

natheel

On the dogs

They had a lot of ball and we turned over some stupid penalties resulting in their early tries

David Klemmer - what's the big deal about this kid? He's big but he doesn't seem to really do much in terms of damage. Loko trampled him a few times.

Tony Williams - gee I'm happy we didn't fork out 600k like the dogs did for this bloke

Josh Reynolds - sticky get him here! He's one dog player I like has so much passion and mongrel in him. Would love to have him in the side. f**k Norman off throw the 450k at josh

jk13

Pretty annoyed at a lot of things but at least we were in it till the end. Karma is coming Ennius u ultimate scumbag

Joshuatheeel

Don't think Paulo was at fault - he is a back rower not a 5/8 with Hayne having a quiet game , he was really trying his heart got to get something going. Just keep him at back rower .