Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gay rights campaigner loses Footy Show case

Danish

fairly sure no one has made a complaint about us to the anti-discrimination board so your argument is moot.

So making derogatory comments is ok as long as no one speaks up about it?

Interesting

Kiki

mate if you are offended by anything on Errol, please feel free to make a complaint to the anti-discrimination board. go for your life.

Shorty

Its comedy, Shorty. Get over it.
Sorry but I don't have to get over anything just because you think it's valid to do so.
I notice you avoided writing anything of substance in response to my post.

Danish

mate if you are offended by anything on Errol, please feel free to make a complaint to the anti-discrimination board. go for your life.

Oh I am not offended by it at all.

Simply pointing out your own hypocracy in wanting to take the moral high ground on this issue while at the same time don't see a problem with making offensive comments in your own blog.

Danish

Sorry but I don't have to get over anything just because you think it's valid to do so.
I notice you avoided writing anything of substance in response to my post.

There is nothing of substance to respond to.

Comedy is offensive. It has been forever. It will not, and should not change to suit your own personal sensibilities.

TooheysNew

you really dont get it do you?

why do i always get sucked into arguments on here? it's a completely pointless exercise.

u guys go on believing what you want. ignorance is bliss.
Why do you always believe you are correct?

I mean, a lot of the time you are correct, but the rest of the time you just cover your ears and pretend everyone else is ignorant. Just because you say something, doesn't make it the truth. And you can't tell people what they are thinking - because you really have no idea. You're guessing. Like everyone else.

Speak for yourself, let "them" speak for "themselves".

Kiki

hypocracy?

i am not 'taking the moral high ground'. i simply point out that unless any of you are gay men, you cannot possibly know what it's like to feel discriminated against because of your sexuality. it's quite simple really.

Once Dead

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

Mate, I would be suing if someone called me an "absolute f'ing moron"....especially if it was a guy who has been to acting school for about 5 years and still manages to make Nicholas Cage look like Marlon Brando!

Kiki

Why do you always believe you are correct?

I mean, a lot of the time you are correct, but the rest of the time you just cover your ears and pretend everyone else is ignorant. Just because you say something, doesn't make it the truth. And you can't tell people what they are thinking - because you really have no idea. You're guessing. Like everyone else.

Speak for yourself, let "them" speak for "themselves".

good one coby. because i'm the only one on the forum to ever think i'm right. YOU GOT ME MATE. DAMN.

Parra

hypocracy?

i am not 'taking the moral high ground'. i simply point out that unless any of you are gay men, you cannot possibly know what it's like to feel discriminated against because of your sexuality. it's quite simple really.

"Fire Up for Origin Babies!" is either taking the piss out of one of the recent league 'scandals' or is very naive.

Not that it's necessarily offensive - just unexpected.

sass

You are Kiki are hypocrites of the highest order.

How many times in your blog have you made light of Jesus, alcoholism and various other things??

I found 3 examples within 60 seconds of searching.

Should your blog be shut down due to being offensive to christians, or the victims of binge drinking?

Or is it different when you do it?

yeah we make fun of heaps of stuff ... so does the footy show. I don't get your point?

all I said was that the fact that one person finds something funny doesn't mean it's not discriminatory. don't you agree?

Danish

hypocracy?

Big f**kin deal that they feel discriminated against by a comedy sketch on TV. That is their problem to deal with, no one elses.

I'm greek, and I don't get all shirty whenever some comedy show makes a Mediterranean Descendant joke.

TooheysNew

good one coby. because i'm the only one on the forum to ever think i'm right. YOU GOT ME MATE. DAMN.
Not at all. Most people do. There's a difference between thinking your opinion is right, and pushing it on everyone else though.

Interesting response though.

sass

"Fire Up for Origin Babies!" is either taking the piss out of one of the recent league 'scandals' or is very naive.

Not that it's necessarily offensive - just unexpected.

I think if you ask the boys who ruin the show fire up you'll see that's EXACTLY why they named their show that.

Kiki

how am i pushing it on everyone else? by.....posting my opinion? like EVERYONE ELSE on this forum.

Rockin Ronny

3 points.
1. I'm yet to be proven wrong - on anything.
2. People - "hypocrisy". If you're gonna use big words, spell them properly.
3. There are many targetted groups subject to discrimination of various kind. But, I maintain that nothing is as offensively mindless, stupid, demeaning, worthless and pathetic as Manly supporters. For this group of losers, discrimination should be rewarded.

That's a fact.

sass

Big f**kin deal that they feel discriminated against by a comedy sketch on TV. That is their problem to deal with, no one elses.

I'm greek, and I don't get all shirty whenever some comedy show makes a Mediterranean Descendant joke.

fair enough if you think that, but considering the anti-discrimination board exists, there are obviously enough people out there who aren't just happy to suck it up.

maccattack

Oh this will be good.
Ok...explain away please.

Put it like this. Do people really think that the footy show and the writters and participants in that skit think that a person has something wrong with them if they are gay?

I seriously doubt it. I remember the footy show was very supportive of Ian Roberts when he came out.

So what I'm saying is, the funny thing about that skit was - not that it laughed at gays - but that it laughed at people who discriminate against gays.

Did anyone here laugh because they thought it was a crack against gay people???

I didn't.

Last edited by a moderator: