Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

George Burgess facing 2 week ban for contrary conduct

haha

So we have everyone on the footy Show...good one, did Erin say it too.... Channel 9 will say anything to protect their product.

You keep forgetting that it was George's poor record that gave him 2 weeks. You keep forgetting that it was silly George who did the wrong thing.

You should be happy...burgess is in rubbish form, gives away 3-4 penalties a game and drops the ball 2 times a game. Be happy he isn't there!

Yeah nah, Phil Gould, Ron Coote, Geoff Toovey, Steve Roach and Greg McCallum have also come out against it, pretty sure non are Souths supporters or on the footy show.

Honestly, are you happy with the current MRC processes and judicial system?
How many Broncos have loading points hanging over their heads?

There's every chance One might sit out a prelim or the GF due to a minor infringement or accidental high contact, that'll be good for the game and fans.

lockyno1

Yeah nah, Phil Gould, Ron Coote, Geoff Toovey, Steve Roach and Greg McCallum have also come out against it, pretty sure non are Souths supporters or on the footy show.

There's every chance One might sit out a prelim or the GF due to a minor infringement or accidental high contact, that'll be good for the game and fans.

Can we stop using Phil Gould as evidence. He always has an agenda, always. Can write some good things but jeez. Ron Coote...seriously a bloke who played decades ago...

No issue with the MRC process, you don't do the wrong thing you are fine, it is really that simple.Don't love the carry over points but you burn a few points off every week anyway. Don't hit blokes high, do shoulder charges or do silly off field things like George Burgess did. Very simple.

grandorient

Haven't been able find out if the bottle actually landed on the field, or beyond the sideline.

Also, I am led to believe the bottle was empty.

GO

The only people that feel it is a 'disgrace' is Souths fans. Funny that. Fact is George has a prior sheet the size of the Grand Canyon and if he was a cleanskin he'd almost be playing.

You don't throw anything from the bench, you just don't do it. It is a pretty simple concept, but if on the bench, you are not on the field, you don't need to throw things at blokes on the field!

LMAO at using the Footy Show as evidence....:lol:

Wrong. Many Souths haters and current/former players have said its a disgrace.

You are wrong this time.

DKOR is spot on here!

So we have everyone on the footy Show...good one, did Erin say it too.... Channel 9 will say anything to protect their product.

You keep forgetting that it was George's poor record that gave him 2 weeks. You keep forgetting that it was silly George who did the wrong thing.

You should be happy...burgess is in rubbish form, gives away 3-4 penalties a game and drops the ball 2 times a game. Be happy he isn't there!

Billy Slater
Corey Parker
Lote Tuqiri
Phil Gould
Paul Conlon (former judiciary chairman)

They have all said he shouldnt be suspended as well as who DKOR mentioned.

So your initial point only Souths fans think it's wrong is completely uneducated!

Well said.

Cheers for your honesty mate.

The Rugby League community think it's a joke.

Can we stop using Phil Gould as evidence. He always has an agenda, always. Can write some good things but jeez. Ron Coote...seriously a bloke who played decades ago...

No issue with the MRC process, you don't do the wrong thing you are fine, it is really that simple.Don't love the carry over points but you burn a few points off every week anyway. Don't hit blokes high, do shoulder charges or do silly off field things like George Burgess did. Very simple.

Funny how you criticise Gould and Coote.

What about Toovey and Roach, former players of the game?????

Imo the most telling one is Paul Gallen. He is the captain of the team we are playing against in a final on the weekend and arguably would have the most to lose. He could have shut his mouth and said nothing.

The fact that even he has come out and rubbished this call is all the proof that you need.

lockyno1

Billy Slater
Corey Parker
Lote Tuqiri
Phil Gould
Paul Conlon (former judiciary chairman)

They have all said he shouldnt be suspended as well as who DKOR mentioned.

So your initial point only Souths fans think it's wrong is completely uneducated!

Billy 'It's not my go' Slater correct...seriously like the rest of the Storm side they get away with a lot. Not saying he isn't a gun but he has got away with a lot.

Parker is a tough player, he would say the same if someone king hit him and broke his jaw!

Lote...you mean the former Souths player...okay...

Gould...seriously, the bloke has more agendas than Kim Kardashian on a big night out!

Conlon...not the chairman, should have got him to defend it then

You are forgetting the one thing....

WITHOUT PRIORS HE WOULD ONLY HAVE GOT 1 WEEK

Get it. Stop re-offending during the season, simple.

Note: you are a better chance without Burgess dropping the ball, missing tackles and being spent after 25 minutes anyway.

lockyno1

Funny how you criticise Gould and Coote.

What about Toovey and Roach, former players of the game?????

Toovey who criticises every decision the NRL makes, not the greatest witness one can safely say. Blocker tells it straight but he is from an era whereby this was deemed common practice.

lockyno1

It's not the length of the suspension that is in question, it's the fact that he was suspended at all.

Should have been punished with a fine.

Bangs head....you can't be fined! :crazy:

Maybe next season you might be able to, and for the record I have been an advocate of a fine system. I like the 3 strike fine system the AFL have in place. Purely from reading it, you get 3 minor offences before suspension.

However this year, George should have done the right thing. Don't throw bottles.

Danish

Can someone please point to a single incident that has ever occurred where current and former players have all come out and said someone should have received a higher suspension than what they got?

"Its not his go", "It seems a bit harsh", "you shouldn't miss foot for that" are basically the standard responses when you ask an ex-player about absolutely anything at the judiciary.

These are the same peanuts that came out last year saying that Issac Luke shouldn't have been suspended for the grand final. Hell they are the same geese who didn't want Cam Smith missing a grand final for essentially trying to rip Thaiday's head clean off his shoulders in 2008.

Ex-players are generally the WORST people to talk to about judiciary matters

Can someone please point to a single incident that has ever occurred where current and former players have all come out and said someone should have received a higher suspension than what they got?

"Its not his go", "It seems a bit harsh", "you shouldn't miss foot for that" are basically the standard responses when you ask an ex-player about absolutely anything at the judiciary.

These are the same peanuts that came out last year saying that Issac Luke shouldn't have been suspended for the grand final. Hell they are the same geese who didn't want Cam Smith missing a grand final for essentially trying to rip Thaiday's head clean off his shoulders in 2008.

Ex-players are generally the WORST people to talk to about judiciary matters

It happens all the time. Most contentious judiciary decisions are discussed on the Footy show or some of these other panel shows on TV. Some ex-players say they should have got longer suspensions, others say they should have received a more lenient suspension and some will say they shouldn't have been suspended at all.

The one that immediately comes to mind is the Jordan McLean suspension. Some of the ex-players in the media were saying he should have been rubbed out for much longer than the 7 weeks he received.

Bangs head....you can't be fined! :crazy:

Maybe next season you might be able to, and for the record I have been an advocate of a fine system. I like the 3 strike fine system the AFL have in place. Purely from reading it, you get 3 minor offences before suspension.

However this year, George should have done the right thing. Don't throw bottles.

Mate, my whole argument is that if the rule is to be changed next year, why not change the rule now?

It's not like the NRL haven't changed rules mid year or even just before the finals before. We had one of the biggest and most contentious changes to a rule ever, just a few weeks ago.

If you are going to change it anyway, change it when it will actually do some good for the game and stop the NRL looking like a bunch of imbeciles.

lockyno1

It happens all the time. Most contentious judiciary decisions are discussed on the Footy show or some of these other panel shows on TV. Some ex-players say they should have got longer suspensions, others say they should have received a more lenient suspension and some will say they shouldn't have been suspended at all.

The one that immediately comes to mind is the Jordan McLean suspension. Some of the ex-players in the media were saying he should have been rubbed out for much longer than the 7 weeks he received.

Using the Footy Show panel as evidence...I don't know where to start...my goodness. Agendas the size of the Hume Highway and they say thing half the time purely for TV reasons. If you don't think they are, think again.

McClean on was a unique case, and it involved a serious consequence. Big difference!

lockyno1

Mate, my whole argument is that if the rule is to be changed next year, why not change the rule now?

It's not like the NRL haven't changed rules mid year or even just before the finals before. We had one of the biggest and most contentious changes to a rule ever, just a few weeks ago.

If you are going to change it anyway, change it when it will actually do some good for the game and stop the NRL looking like a bunch of imbeciles.

No need to change it now. Review it after the season. If then the NRL wants to adopt the fine policy the AFL have then I'm okay with it. No need to change it just because poor Georgie did the wrong thing....where do you draw the line? Are you wiping every single grade 1 charge of the season. Even so Burgess wouldn't qualify for a fine, the system would only include grade 1's. Grade 2's have to be penalised.