Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gibbs - would it surprise if he was being used incorrectly as well?

TrigaTheTiger

Hi guys -

First post - but Im an oldie and wanted / played footy for years.

Its pretty clear to all of us that Sheens likes to bring players up a weight class:

Centres become back rowers
Back rowers become props

Now - I think that Gibbs has always been pretty much useless as a front rower.

One of my fondest tigers memories was him being bitched out by O'Meley after the whole short-lived "Im an enforcer" phase.

The guy is still young and despite our coach being an ex prop - is obviously not getting much in the way of help.

Maybe he would be more useful in the back row?

More like a hard running back rower than a straight running prop - because he cant do that.

If I had my way - the guy would be told to F off, but that aint going to happen and he's signed for the rest of his life.

11 Heigington
12 Gibbs
13 Ellis

Would add size, because it frees up a prop spot - and stops playing a smaller man in the back row.

Again - I would rather he not be here at all - but as he is, maybe this is a way to get more use out of him?

Thoughts?

TrigaTheTiger

Yeah Nick - I reckon thats a given - you could say that about many players we have used over the last few years - Payne and Collis also come to mind real quick.

Im just working on the premise that we are stuck with him.

He is missing Big Keith Galloway. Gibbs is more effective when KG is on.

On a good day KG is marked and tackled by the oppositions 3 biggest players. That gives Gibbs an opportunity to run up wide of the ruck and away from the 2 opposition props, who are stuck at marker, lot like Moi Moi and cayless do.

On the back of that Farah comes into a class of his own.

He is missing Big Keith Galloway. Gibbs is more effective when KG is on.

On a good day KG is marked and tackled by the oppositions 3 biggest players. That gives Gibbs an opportunity to run up wide of the ruck and away from the 2 opposition props, who are stuck at marker, lot like Moi Moi and cayless do.

On the back of that Farah comes into a class of his own.
So he essentially plays like a back rower.

The only problem with this idea is who to put in the front row. The main reason why Gibbs is there is because there's no one else.

TrigaTheTiger

Yeah MU - I agree with you on that - but we have been using "big" Bryce for what 4 or 5 years now......

Many decent props have come and gone from the market in that time - if not all of them - including Petro.......

aids

i think Gibbs is finding form as a good prop at the moment, he has shown flashes.
but for the first time in a long time, looking to find consitancey.
they have tried him as a conventional backrower, but he plays a lot better at prop.

it's not as clear-cut as shoe-horning Bronson Harrison into a prop, everyone could see he was a find running backrower, and he is in carrer best form doing that at the raiders.

chopsy_05

Sheens was on talkin sport this arvo. Did confirm that they are in talks with a pom from Bradford Bulls. His name escapes me at the moment though.

youngun

Not a bad thought at all Triga!!
I agree with you that it seems like we are no chance of getting rid of Gibbs, well as long as we have Sheens as coach anyway, and to be honest the more I think about him in the second row the more I like the idea.
He is obviously not big enough for the barge em up style of prop and definitely doesn't ha ve the ball skills to be a ball playing prop so maybe a wider running second rower would suit him. Then we can just go and buy some dirty big bastard to hit the ball up and tackle, thats it, that is the job take it or leave it.

TrigaTheTiger

Young Guns on the same page - thats exactly what Im thinking.

Put him in the back row buy a couple of props (Cashman back anyone??) and noone will call us a small weak forward pack anymore.

hybrid_tiger

Sheens was on talkin sport this arvo. Did confirm that they are in talks with a pom from Bradford Bulls. His name escapes me at the moment though.

He is contracted to 2011 though, would mean he would need to be granted a release if we were to sign him for next year.

Would be a great buy though!

westie

Can Aussie clubs pay transfer fees to British clubs? I'm sure Bradford would demand a massive massive fee after exchange rate.

The problem with Burgess though is that he will be another Gibbs, good one game, learning the next before surprisingly hitting his straps suddenly like the previously oft-maligned Galloway.

youngun

The other problem that we have with Burgess is Manly, they have reportedly offered him a million pounds (report in a British tabloid) for 3 years and considering Beaver Menzies plays in the same team as Burgess it would appear that they have the inside running.
I would love to see the young buck at our club tho, would form a great partnership with Big Sauce.

b.bear

I think bryce has had his time over the years he has lost the bulk required for up front he is also to slow for second row .we should forget about burgess we would need a mint just to tallk manly looks like the go we should stick closer to home ,nyc or even manly so i hear

Magpies Forever

Agree- I think Gibbs played well on w/end, and has been playing well lately. Maybe he got a huge rocket from Teflon. Anyway, good on Gibbs- if he steps up and performs well consistently I have no problem with him.

Tiger Hawk

I think Gibbs has been much better on average this year than the last couple, it's just that he still has inconsistency in his game. Thought he was close to our best yesterday to be honest. One has to wonder how well we'd be going with a fit KG & Gibbs & Payten playing like that every week. Oh well.