Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Glen Hall

Gday,

I'll be at the GF today watching all three grades. I'll keep an extra close eye on Glen Hall and get back to you with reports tomoz.

Cheers,

Scuba

Ryan

He is very much a player in the Phil Moorwood type mould. I think he will go the same way as Kyle Arnold, and struggle to make our starting PL team.
It was interesting in the PL grand final that he was taken off by his coach when the the result was on a knives edge. Tonga was his prop of choice at the time.
Afamasanga couldn't even get IN the Premier League side for The Eels.
In my opinion, signing were really poor this year. Matai / Bell are already quite successful in the centres, and without go forward????

willvillain said:
Your report should only really consist of the words "dud", "slow" and "went missing".

Unfortunately, I tried to give him a chance today during the PL game, but really, he is RUBBISH!! :crazy: I've tried to be leniant towards our recruitment this year, and what I've said regarding our depth for next, but ultimately its been very average, and thats putting it very lightly.

Ryan said:
He is very much a player in the Phil Moorwood type mould. I think he will go the same way as Kyle Arnold, and struggle to make our starting PL team.
It was interesting in the PL grand final that he was taken off by his coach when the the result was on a knives edge. Tonga was his prop of choice at the time.
Afamasanga couldn't even get IN the Premier League side for The Eels.
In my opinion, signing were really poor this year. Matai / Bell are already quite successful in the centres, and without go forward????

Ryan,

I agree with your statement about him being in the Phil Morwood mould of player. As Will said, he's very "slow", and IMO, in that second half he went "missing". Ryan, I thought Afamasaga was injured? :? Not 100% sure on that. I also agree with your statement on us signing Lyon. Unfortunately boys, I'm afraid it may be a VERY long year for us in the forwards next year. We'll have to wait and see.

BTW, to all the Manly fans that went tonight, and watched the coverage on 9, I could not have been prouder to see young Sophie Delezio wearing a Manly Jersey. That really put a smile on my dial.

Anywayz guys, it's been a pleasure chatting with you in season 2006 and looking forward to a big off season and season 2007.

Go the mighty EAGLES!!

willvillain

Hall won't make it out of PL next year, that's certain.

I can't criticise the signing of Lyon. Particularly because at the time of his signing Matai hadn't stepped up like he did at the end of the year.

I think Matai should be on the bench next year, he could be lethal come off the bench as an impact player.

Manly will still have a decent starting pack next year, but if Choc has another sh*t year, and/or Kite misses a significant amount of games, then Manly's forwards are up sh*t creek well and truly.

Disco

Afamasaga has been injured since round 10, he'll start in our PL side and push for a bench spot in firsts

willvillain

Mase said:
Is Afamasaga offically a sea eagle next year?

I haven't seen anything official about it. I've only read rumours on these forums, some claiming they spoke to Manly officials who confirmed etc.

Mind you, I also haven't seen confirmation of Hall's signing, but during commentary yesterday Vossy said "and here is Hall, he's off to Manly next year" blah blah.

FFS Manly admins, get your act together and announce our signings! Or at the very least, try and veto the contract with Hall and send him to the Gold Coast or something.

willvillain

That's good to hear. He'll be a much better signing than Hall, and will hopefully come on a lot like Rose and push for a first grade spot halfway through the year.

willvillain said:
FFS Manly admins, get your act together and announce our signings! Or at the very least, try and veto the contract with Hall and send him to the Gold Coast or something.

Mate, one of my mates on the official site posted basically the same thing as you said and nothing has been heard from the Manly ADMIN :lol: Its extremely dissapointing that we don't get informed about minor signings like some clubs, especially the Bulldogs.

Ryan

Manly and communication with its fans and members in my opinion is disraceful full stop.
We aren't a club like Brisbane or Nth QLD.

Example:- Darren Lockyer said he couldn't wait to get back to Brisbane to have a beer with his fans.

O'Donnell said Nth QLD's efforts (as poor as they were) are predominantly for their faNS.

Manly - They section their players off at the club after a game. I reckon this is because we are a club that has minimal local junior talent, all the players that come here only really care about money and potentially each other. Jason King told me this was an issue in 04 when my company was a silver sponsor himself. He said Manly were a team of individuals looking after themselves, rather than a community with fans with one solid like goal.

I tried to have a chat with Peter Peters that year at the club, mentioning that I had bought a jersey for my then 2 year old son, and he pretty well brushed me and ignored me.

I don't go to post match functions anymore.

If you want up to date information on the club, unfortunatelt the best thing we can hope for, is grapevine gossip.

Matt Orford still hasn't been officially announced on the official site yet !!! I rest my case !!!

chileman

Ryan said:
Manly - They section their players off at the club after a game. I reckon this is because we are a club that has minimal local junior talent, all the players that come here only really care about money and potentially each other. Jason King told me this was an issue in 04 when my company was a silver sponsor himself. He said Manly were a team of individuals looking after themselves, rather than a community with fans with one solid like goal.
Don't worry amigo, the Broncos do it as well, ok they won the GF so the fans are all welcome to have a beer with them but if you try to take your kids anywhere near them after game day or during the season you are ushered away by security....been there done that!

Mase

CliffyIsGod said:
At the info night on the Fan Day, Dessie himself said we had signed Afamasaga.

Oh ok, thats good for Manly, he has a heap of potential. Not to sure about the signing of Hall though, he hasn't done too much since his debut at Canterbury.

I think if anything, Hall will add depth to our PL side. He'll help us out in that aspect. However, Jack Afamasaga, should he stay injury free, and continually improving, I think he may just crack First Grade in 2007.

Lets hope for some more junior signings, preferably in the backline.

scottyj said:
nope...just fat and slow

The way he is going, he'll be in the #8 jersey for our PL side next year. I'd probably rather him over the likes of Phil Morwood and Jim Curtis :lol: