Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Go ahead!...ask us anything!

Isn't a certain portion of our money, when we pay for petrol at the pump, go towards improving our roads? Well if that is the case, here's my question:

Where are the roads that a portion of our petrol money is supposedly help to build and repair(I hope that sounds right)?
Sydney roads are atrocious!

Ozbash2

and also on the West Coast Bronco.Tony was born and bred there.His father rolls his r's,and Tony doesn't.Yet,our daughter has inherited it from her grandfather,and rolls her r's perfectly.Can anyone explain that?
emcrook.gif

ex-manager

They sound like Lancastrians on that South Island. Are you sure thurr arr'nt any Wiguunerrrs rroond those parrrts?

C

CanadianSteve

Re Canadian accents: I always felt that Canadians don't have any accent at all, but I'm sure that's a narrow way of looking at it. It is true, though, that US TV networks have hired many Canadian news readers, and apparently they like them because they don't have to work at losing any regional American accent. To me Canadians sound just like Americans from certain parts of the US. And yes, Canadians sound mostly the same from Ontario to British Columbia. In Quebec of course there are many French-speaking Canadians, and in the Atlantic provinces I think there is a slight accent that reflects the Irish and Scottish heritage there.
Also I lived for a year in a small town in Eastern Ontario in what's called the Ottawa Valley. In the Valley there is a slight but distinct accent similar to that of Atlantic Canada. Also people there said G'day instead of hello, and said lads instead of guys or boys.
Do you Brits, Aussies, Kiwis think there is a Canadian accent, or do we sound like Americans, or what

imported_bronco

Ali, don't know whats happened there, guess it skips a generation on the West Coast.

Steve I've never thought Canada have an accent of their own. No offence to Canada but they seem to be lacking identity, they need to break away from American culture and form their own, this of course is a very uneducated view from me.

C

CanadianSteve

bronco; A constant topic in Canada is, do we have our own separate culture. We have drawn closer to the US, and farther from British influence, in the last 30-40 years. We do have a separate identity and culture, but it's hard to detect, unlike say that of Australia. It's difficult to be next door to such a huge influential country and not absorb their culture.

imported_bronco

Well I'm only going on the view we get from the other side of the world. It just seems that Canada is always playing the role of Americas little brother. When you think of canada nothing really comes to mind because they don't portray themselves as having a strong culture.
I don't know if I can completely agree with your last statement about being next to such a powerful influential country. You look at these big European countries so tightly compacted together yet they all maintain a rich culture quite different from their neighbours.

I think that Canadians have an accent - a Canadian accent. It's just that it sounds a lot like an American accent. Every person on Earth speaks with an accent.

C

CanadianSteve

bronco: The difference between Canada and the European countries in your example is the European countries have hundreds more years of history than we do. Also they often have a different language than their neighbours, whereas we speak the same language as the US. So it's harder for Canada to maintain a separate identity. Plus as you say you are looking at us from the other side of the world, probably through the filter of US media. US media and business have made US culture an influence on most of the world, so naturally it influences Canada the most as their closest neighbour.

Ozbash2

Yeah Bronco,West Coasters tend to be a little slow at things
emwink.gif

I think Canadians have an accent of their own.I can usually pick them from an American accent..Americans tend to be a lot 'louder'. Abit like overseas people with Kiwi/Aussie accents.They tend to know which is the Aussie due to their 'louder' accent..
emsmilep.gif

M

Marcus

Its very hard sometimes to tell the difference between a Canadian accent to an American one because they are both so similar. Its usually the case of identifying the odd word or two to detect a Canadian accent. The word "out" is one that really distinguishes between the accents. Canadians tend to pronounce it as 'oh-t' were as Americans say 'aw-t'.

C

CanadianSteve

No worries, bronco. A lot of Canadians think the same as you were saying, that we need a stronger identity separate from the Yanks. I think we tend not to be as loud as them or to blow our own horn as much. We tend to define ourselves not for what we are, but in terms of how we are not Americans. Whenever I go to the States on a trip, I'm comfortable there, but I definitely am aware of it being a different country.
But we sure do like it when we beat Russia or the US in hockey.
When I think about it, before I joined this community, all I knew of Australia was the outback, kangaroos, koalas, the Man from Snowy River, Crocodile Dundee, Gallipoli (the movie). In sports all I knew were your tennis players and Olympic athletes. Now I know about the 3 footy codes. But you probably can't really know a country without living in it for a while

Canadian Steve: "all I knew of Australia was the outback, kangaroos, koalas, the Man from Snowy River, Crocodile Dundee, Gallipoli (the movie). "

Bloody hell, back in the early 80s thats more than most knew. Mind you its hardly good company.

Most Australians do not live the 'outback'. Most have never seen a Kangaroo or Koala in the wild. The Snowy River is now all silted up thanks to the 'ground breaking' irrigation scheme of the 50s, Crocodile Dundee was successful movie almost to the point of embarrassment. And Gallipoli was good film about Australians and New Zealanders being sent to their death by British generals in World War I.

Marvellous stuff but I reckon a visit to the antipodes will soon change a few notions.
emteeth.gif
emthup.gif

How do traffic signal lights know if you're sitting there on a red signalwaiting for a greenin the wee hours of the morning? For that matter, how do they know in all hors of the day when to change and when not to?
Any RTA bludgers..I mean workers here?

Raging
bulldogs_1.gif
Bulldog

One i can answer!! Cheers RB....

There are sensors under the road that detect cars 24hrs a day. If you dont drive close enough to the line when you are waiting for the lights to change, it is quite likely, that on minor roads that lead onto major roads, you could be sitting there for hours. The little sensor pads detect when there is car waiting and consequently, they go on to change the lights...

And no, as much as id like to be, associated with the RTA

Moffo.

You're a smart man Moff. I'll take that on board next time I'm sitting at lights in the ridiculous hours of the morning waiting for those suckers to change. After all this time, then answer was to just crawl forward a little more. Who'd a known? Cheers buddy.

Raging
bulldogs_1.gif
Bulldog

Not quite gentleman.
Here's a peice from www.howstuffworks.com Actually, the web-page has many worthy articles, and answers many questions about various topics. I certainly recommend all to check it out.

<table cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 width="100%" border=0> <tbody> <tr> <td colspan=3> Question </td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=3> How does a traffic light detect that a car has pulled up and is waiting for the light to change? Answer</td></tr> <tr> <td colspan=3>
<center></center>There is something exotic about the traffic lights that "know" you are there - the instant you pull up they change! How do they detect your presence??? Some lights don't have any sort of detectors. For example, in a large city the traffic lights may simply operate on timers. No matter what time of day it is there is going to be a lot of traffic. In the suburbs and on country roads, however, detectors are common. They may detect when a car arrives at an intersection, when too many cars are stacked up at an intersection (to control the length of the light), or when cars have entered a turn lane (in order to activate the arrow light). There are all sorts of technologies for detecting cars - everything from lasers to rubber hoses filled with air! This page has a nice catalog of technologies. By far the most common technique is the inductive loop. An inductive loop is simply a coil of wire embedded in the road's surface. To install the loop they lay the asphalt and then come back and cut a groove in the asphalt with a saw. The wire is laid in the groove and sealed with a rubbery compound. You can often see these big rectangular loops cut in the pavement because the compound is obvious. Inductive loops work by detecting a change of inductance. To understand the process, let's first look at what inductance is. This figure is helpful: <center>
q234.gif
</center> What you see here is a battery, a light bulb, a coil of wire around a piece of iron (yellow) and a switch. The coil of wire is an inductor. If you have read the HSW article entitled How Electromagnets Work, you will also recognize that the inductor is an electromagnet. If you were to take the inductor out of this circuit, then what you have is a normal flashlight. You close the switch and the bulb lights up. With the inductor in the circuit as shown, the behavior is completely different. The light bulb is a resistor (the resistance creates heat to make the filament in the bulb glow). The wire in the coil has much lower resistance (it's just wire), so what you would expect when you turn on the switch is for the bulb to glow very dimly. Most of the current should follow the low-resistance path through the loop. What happens instead is that when you close the switch, the bulb burns brightly and then gets dimmer. When you open the switch the bulb burns very brightly and then quickly goes out. The reason for this strange behavior is the inductor. When current first starts flowing in the coil, the coil wants to build up a magnetic field. While the field is building, the coil inhibits the flow of current. Once the field is built then current can flow normally through the wire. When the switch gets opened, the magnetic field around the coil keeps current flowing in the coil until the field collapses. This current keeps the bulb lit for a period of time even though the switch is open. The capacity of an inductor is controlled by two factors: 1) the number of coils, and 2) the material that the coils are wrapped around (the core). Putting iron in the core of an inductor gives it much more inductance that air or any other non-magnetic core would. There are devices that can measure the inductance of a coil, and the standard unit of measure is the henry. So... Let's say you take a coil of wire perhaps 5 feet in diameter, containing 5 or 6 loops of wire. You cut some grooves in a road and place the coil in the grooves. You attach an inductance meter to the coil and see what the inductance of the coil is. Now you park a car over the coil and check the inductance again. The inductance will be much larger because of the large steel object positioned in the loop's magnetic field. The car parked over the coil is acting like the core of the inductor and its presence changes the inductance of the coil. A traffic light sensor uses the loop in that same way. It constantly tests the inductance of the loop in the road and, when the inductance rises, it knows there is a car waiting! </td></tr></tbody></table>

YOU are the gentleman Raidpatch! Many thanks for that mate.

The site looks awesome as well. Infact, think I'll head on over for a while and peek around awhile.

Raging
bulldogs_1.gif
Bulldog

Yeah,well thats what i meant Raid. City lights are 24hr a day setups on timerrs...I should have further explained...

As for your explanations, its far more complicated then i could have ever given!! Still, i guess they are sensors...in one form or another
emteeth.gif

Moffo.