Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Goss

FirstHitup

All the bagging of Joe Williams is funny considering he carved you up all day today. The kid can play but it seems JT lost patience with his inconsistent play. Mind you he has played even better since moving to 5/8 and he didn't miss a tackle this week or last..

super_coach

Mate Joey Williams would be a super star at the tigers, a player other than Farah that could create something, and dont worry about his defence,its bloody good compared to most of our squad.

super_coach said:
Mate Joey Williams would be a super star at the tigers, a player other than Farah that could create something, and dont worry about his defence,its bloody good compared to most of our squad.

Not behind our pack he wouldnt.

super_coach

just an update on the goss---my man tell me that their is now a family issue outside footy that will probably prevent Fitzy from going to the UK. Up in the air at present more likley to stay put

tackled

super_coach said:
just an update on the goss---my man tell me that their is now a family issue outside footy that will probably prevent Fitzy from going to the UK. Up in the air at present more likley to stay put

Yeah , the wife is probably indispensable at her work & couldn't get the leave. This season if just getting better & better.

mean_maori_mean

super_coach said:

but really it is because Jake Webster has signed with Hull KR - who means they will now not require the services of Fitzy.

I think they have signed Clint Newton which means they prolly wont sign Ben Galea now.

hybrid_tiger

And Ronald is now trying to beat off thousands of clubs to secure the prized signature of Joe Galavau. Because we really need another washed up second rower who hasn't played a good game since 2003, and is currently running around in the Queensland Cup. Not even good enough for Souffs PL, but good enough for us.

Another Royce recommendation obviously, along with the captures of Sattler and D.Galea.

Jesus H Christ.

I've compiled a list of players that Sheens is looking to sign

David Peachey (he's got another 2-3 years left in him, he said that at the start of this season)
Adam Brideson
Paul Franze
Craig Trindall
Jason Williams
Nick Bradley-Qalilawa
Ronald Prince
Sam Isemonger
Mick Roberts
Adam Capovilla
Steve Jolly
Adam Starr
Greg Bourke
Jason Bulgarelli

thats the hot list

theres an extended list just in case none of those get signed.

Unfortunately it's true.

I've always been a very optimistic supporter, and initially, Sheens was a Godsend to this club. He got rid of all the off field dramas surrounding the club and managed to jag a premiership for us.

However, this last month is reminiscent of the last month of 2004. We needed 1 pissy measly f**king win to make the finals in our last 4 games.

1 win

1 f**king win

in our last two games, when 1 win was still all that was required

we lost to cowboys at home - Halatau had hands made of water that day, everything that touched them got wet and fell straight to the ground
we lost to an understrength, poorly performing Newcastle at Newcastle

I happened to be at both those inept performances.

I was repulsed by the pathetic "We don't give a f**k anymore" attitude the team displayed against Souths.

I didn't even bother listening/watching/going to the last game.

First tigers game I've not been interested in since 1988.

I'm certain, Sheens was a good coach that could get the most out of his players. He's 2 years past his date.

We need a new modern thinking coach, a halfback, and just one decent forward signing for our pack.

I wish the Tigers had've chased Mark Minichiello last season, he's nothing immensely supreme, but he f**king puts in and is a hard bastard to keep quiet

Apart from Lawrence and Tuiaki we have no one that seems to run hard in the backs and only Heighno in the forwards.

Friday night was surreal. The team deflated the fans on Sunday and i would say the bulk of us that turned up on Friday night didn't give a f**k whether we won or lost. We saw how the team couldn't have given a f**k on Sunday so we thought why should we.

They raised our hopes and were 12 up with 8 to go and with 15 to go we looked like scoring 2 or 3 more tries. Then they got ball, we tired (due to the decision to play with 16 rather than 17)

With hindsight all we had to do was win and we'd have got 7th. We couldn't even manage that. They all have to be called to account. Sheens, Ronald, the gnome, Noyce have all made blunders that conspired to f**k up our season royally.

I have always rated Minichiello, runs hard, has a dig. Can drop the odd ball but he's better than Galea.

And to top it all off the spastic lovechild of sheens looks like staying.

Magnaf*ckingfique

tackled

I doubt the either of the Minichiello boys would even consider West Tigers, they were West Juniors played for LCC for years were not even looked at through out the juniors programme, moved to Canterbury Comp when Anthony was 16 & the rest is history.

Ronald had the foresight to get rid of anyone who might possibly get in Junior Burger's way I think you'll find. I would bet good money Ronald is securing the services of John Lee Malvo (aka the Washington sniper) to bring harm to Gallant ...

THis is the reason why Mini Mark would be a good signing, he's a second rower (thats one tick in sheens book), he's not a threat to McDonnell (thats two ticks in Ronald's book), he knows how to tackle, so that means less work for royce (thats three ticks in royce's book) and it is very easy for the tigers management to overpay him by at least 300,000 a season (thats 4 ticks in Noyce's book)

Thats a tick in all the boxes.

Lets offer him 650 thou

Vicious

I have second hand information that the Raiders have made tentative enquiries about taking John Morris off our hands and playing him as their hooker. IF this is true, i`d be all for it in exchange for Michael Dobson. Now i know Dobson was very hot and cold himself this season, but he is a tough little bugger with quite a good left boot, tackles ok for a little man and most importantly is a natural halfback !!!
I`d also have a look at Alan Rothery, i realise second row isn`t exactly a position we need to recruit in, but for mine Rothery is a damaging ball runner who hasn`t accomplished near what he`s capable of so far in his career and i`d find a spot for him in our top 25 rather than under achievers such as Dene Halatau. Bare in mind, Liam Fulton could be a centre option if we could create a bigger back row because of it ???
Anyone going out to Leichardt Oval on Saturday for the Premier League final, take a close look at a few of the Raiders forward pack, some real good young up and coming athletes in their forward pack with plenty of size about them, check out players such as Rothery, Steve McLean and Brenton Lawrence. I`ve got a mate who`s a Raiders fanatic and therefore have seen a bit of their lower grades over the past few seasons and i reckon that both Steve McLean and Brenton Lawrence are very simliar type of players to what a young Brent Kite was !!!

This could be a much improved `2008 Wests Tigers line up:
1.Brett Hodgson/Benji Marshall
2.Chris Lawrence
3.Dean Collis
4.Liam Fulton
5.Luke Rooney/Nick Youngquest
6.Benji Marshall/Daniel Holdsworth
7.Michael Dobson/Blake Lazarus
13.Chris Heighington
12.Ben Te`o
11.Taniela Tuiaki
10.Keith Galloway