Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final - Panthers vs Rabbitohs: Sunday 3rd October 7:30pm @Suncorp Stadium

it was only 16-10 and i dare say Penrith will be a lot better than they were in that game - no passes into touch or players tackled over the sideline - way too much sideways movement in that game - they will be more direct and then go wide
Lol we can be better too we bombed 2-3 tries in that game.

The_Frog

Source Daily Telegraph

South Sydney have reignited their feud with Penrith only days before the grand final by making a formal complaint to the NRL over the amount of time trainer Hayden Knowles spent on the field during the Panthers’ preliminary final win over Melbourne.

News Corp understands that the Rabbitohs sent an email to NRL head of football Graham Annesley on Monday raising their concerns over Knowles’ involvement in the game and asking how head office would respond.

The Rabbitohs told Annesley that they raised the issue in the “interests of ensuring a well fought grand final that is played in both the spirit of our game and within its rule”.

According to Souths, Knowles entered the field 13 times during Penrith’s game against the Storm. Under NRL rules, trainers are restricted to entering the field of player on three occasions in each half to deliver messages to the players when their team has the ball.

Outside that, they can only access the field when a try is scored, during a video referee decision, to facilitate an interchange, during a time out called by the referee and during a drop out.

Annesley was reluctant to discuss the complaint when contacted by News Corp on Tuesday but the email represents a significant escalation in the rivalry between the two sides as they prepare for Sunday night’s decider.

“Both grand final clubs are fully aware of NRL operational rules they are expected to comply with, so I am not going to enter into a public debate about it,” Annesley said.

“Our job as administrators is to make sure both teams get equal opportunity to determine the outcome of the game on their own merits.
“The focus should be solely on the players and we will be doing our best to ensure that happens.”

FROM OUR PARTNERS

Trainer Hayden Knowles came onto the field on the first tackle and stayed on the field for the entire set of Penrith’s attack late in the game.

Knowles was vocal, calling out instructions to players.

Knowles is still in the backline on tackle three as Penrith work it away from their line.

Knowles is still at it on the last tackle, shouting and gesturing as Nathan Cleary kicks downfield with less than a minute to go.

In an email reply to Souths, Annesley told the Rabbitohs that the NRL took the issue of trainer compliance with the rules very seriously.

“As you would be aware, where we form a view that any club has acted in a way contrary to the relevant provisions of the rules, the matter is then addressed directly with the club concerned,” he wrote.

“I can confirm the information you have provided has been reviewed and we will now consider whatever action we believe to be appropriate in the circumstances.”

Revelations of South Sydney’s formal complaint against Penrith will stoke the fires between the two sides, who clashed in the lead-up to their game in the opening week of the finals.

On that occasion, Penrith coach Ivan Cleary prompted a slanging match when he asked the match officials to provide more protection for his son Nathan.

Souths coach Wayne Bennett responded by suggesting Penrith were using illegal blockers to provide another layer of protection to Cleary.

Bennett had the last laugh as Souths upset Penrith and made the Panthers take the long way to the grand final. That included a game against Melbourne and it appears Souths were watching closely given the concerns they have raised with the NRL over Knowles’ involvement on Saturday night.

Knowles is seen on the field behind Penrith’s defensive line just five minutes into the game, after apparently tending to Panthers forward Tevita Panga Jr.

It is understood the Storm had issues with the amount of time Knowles spent on the field and Annesley addressed the matter at his weekly media bri[$%^&*+] on Monday. It later turned out that Souths had also raised the matter with Annesley.

“Can you please let me know at your earliest what process the NRL will follow in responding to the above incidents?” Souths head of football Mark Ellison wrote to the NRL.

“I note that it has been reported that the Penrith Panthers’ blue shirt trainer has an existing warning for breaching the role and responsibilities of a trainer while Penrith as a club currently have an accredited trainer suspended.”

Knowles was sanctioned by the NRL a week ago for his part in the stopping of play in the dying embers of the club’s finals win over Parramatta.

The club was also fined $25,000 over that incident while physic Pete Green was banned from on-field duties for the remainder of the season, meaning he will miss the grand final.

Knowles was sanctioned by the NRL for his part in the stopping of play in the club’s week two finals win over Parramatta.

SOUTHS’ CLAIMS

First Half

5:10: Blue Shirt Trainer enters the field whilst Penrith are defending. The Blue Shirt trainer assists player Pangai to his feet and moves him back into defensive line.

10:01: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field and is on the field at Tackle 5.

14:03: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field.

17:04: Blue Shirt Trainer hands over Card 2 to Interchange Official but this is despite having already been on the field three times prior.

19:16: Blue Shirt Trainer is standing on field whilst team is defending.

26:32: Blue Shirt Trainer leaves interchange bench and enters field with only 4 seconds left on Shot Clock for Drop Out.

39:31: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field from off side position.

Second Half

58:22: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field.

60:20: Blue Shirt enters field to make change but remains on field for two tackles and gives player water before exiting field.

67:35: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field.

73:40: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field.

75:38: Blue Shirt Trainer enters field for fourth time whilst not making change.

77:53: Blue Shirt Trainer leaves interchange area and coaches from sideline during defensive set. Blue Shirt Trainer enters field at end of defensive set and stays out until Tackle 5 of attacking set
Why are Souths complaining about things that happened in a game they were not involved in? There can only be one reason. To try to gain an advantage on the field in their next match. One can only wonder what they would have said about the Storm had they been their opponent.

What?

Of your 2 team junior league?

Even Coogee Wombats want nothing to do with you turds.
Coogee clubs are in the Souths junior area and have been since stolen by Souths in the mid 1950's - not Chooks fault they have a small junior league as it would be highly unlikely to have footballers come out of areas such as Watson Bay/ Rose Bay / Dover Heights/ Vaucluse/Double Bay/Point Piper/Kings Cross/Potts Point and Sydney CBD

Chooks are doing great things on the Central Coast so it is upwards and onwards

With the tide having turned compared to the situation decades earlier, and the Roosters having a much smaller junior League than South Sydney, Eastern Suburbs at this time then made unsuccessful attempts to regain the suburbs on the same grounds used to hand Coogee and Randwick from Easts to Souths, that of providing an 'even competition'. The NSWRL, controlled at the time by a Board with a ruling faction of representatives from South Sydney (Terry Parker), Balmain (Keith Barnes), Canterbury (Peter Moore) and Manly (Ken Arthurson), refused to redraw the boundaries.

B
Why are Souths complaining about things that happened in a game they were not involved in? There can only be one reason. To try to gain an advantage on the field in their next match. One can only wonder what they would have said about the Storm had they been their opponent.
Because it’s blatant cheating and the NRL have been letting you get away with murder so to speak. The amount of times your trainer comes on the field is way overboard and it’s clear he’s holding their hand coaching and as is every week 20mins in when one of your boys clutches their head or neck to get a free interchange. It’s clear to me they are coached to do this and it’s not in the spirit of the game. Don’t say every team does it either that’s a cop out, you guys really push the envelope. If you’re that good you should still be able to win not using illegal blockers every single kick knocking a defending player over, should be able to win not playing for the extra interchanges and should be able to win not being coached every 2mins on the field.

We just want a fair go that’s all especially after that debacle in round 22 I think it was, we can’t see a repeat of that again it’s was to worst reffed match I’ve seen in my life and I’ve seen a lot of bad ones.

Coogee clubs are in the Souths junior area and have been since stolen by Souths in the mid 1950's - not Chooks fault they have a small junior league as it would be highly unlikely to have footballers come out of areas such as Watson Bay/ Rose Bay / Dover Heights/ Vaucluse/Double Bay/Point Piper/Kings Cross/Potts Point and Sydney CBD

With the tide having turned compared to the situation decades earlier, and the Roosters having a much smaller junior League than South Sydney, Eastern Suburbs at this time then made unsuccessful attempts to regain the suburbs on the same grounds used to hand Coogee and Randwick from Easts to Souths, that of providing an 'even competition'. The NSWRL, controlled at the time by a Board with a ruling faction of representatives from South Sydney (Terry Parker), Balmain (Keith Barnes), Canterbury (Peter Moore) and Manly (Ken Arthurson), refused to redraw the boundaries.
You’ll always be foreverinourshadow mate as Botany said just look at the junior bases, look at all the support Souths have around the country and over the world actually we easily have 4 Rabbitohs to every 1 Rooster.

Run out of ideas to put Penrith off their game one assumes

Robert Haddad

Reparations after ww1 comrade.

We may all be speaking German now if glorious red army had not fought ww2.

Russians not invited to allies victory parade was good propaganda for the Soviets

Massive insult still remembered.

The Russian solution was Sputnik and tsar bomb
Tell that to the Poles who were backstabbed by you guys when you joined the Nazis to start the war in the first place.

handyman2190

Might be better for the chooks to relocate to the central coast,onwards and right upwards to the headless thieves,you are so bored with your life ,so bored with a non existent chooks forum that youve got to infect us with your mindless dribble, please leave us alone! No one here is interested in your stupidity, maybe your really a closet souths supporter, who living an illussion

You’ll always be foreverinourshadow mate as Botany said just look at the junior bases, look at all the support Souths have around the country and over the world actually we easily have 4 Rabbitohs to every 1 Rooster.
Souths are an ever decreasing object in the Chooks rear vision mirror the last 50 years - Chooks are very selective in who supports them too- the no riff raff slogan comes to mind

Might be better for the chooks to relocate to the central coast,onwards and right upwards to the headless thieves,you are so bored with your life ,so bored with a non existent chooks forum that youve got to infect us with your mindless dribble, please leave us alone! No one here is interested in your stupidity, maybe your really a closet souths supporter, who living an illussion
sorry I am not on centrelink benefits

Tell that to the Poles who were backstabbed by you guys when you joined the Nazis to start the war in the first place.
Not according to Basil Fawlty- mmm don't mention the war

Basil - Is there something wrong?

German Guest - Will you stop talking about the war?

Basil - Me? You started it!

German Guest - We did not start it.

Basil - Yes, you did, you invaded Poland.

We had no choice buddy.

We had to delay the war to get our shite together to save the world.

Plus we weren’t the ones conducting scientific experiments on kids and Gypsies etc or killing Jewish people with industrial methods.