Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final - Panthers vs Rabbitohs: Sunday 3rd October 7:30pm @Suncorp Stadium

Steenson123

Best thing about this whole post is when you mention you're 14 - 1 in the last 15... but surprisingly don't mention the loss is to the team you're actually playing who is also 22 - 4.

Anyway, good luck lads.
That defeat to "Go Riff requires a closer analysis. Firstly, we did lead 12-0 and momentum altered significantly when Tom Burgess turned the rock over under no duress from "Go Riff just as the squad was attacking again. Second, the downfield penalty on the GOAT Nicholls was pure nonsense and again was a major factor in tilting the outcome. Personally I have never seen that in any contest. In any event, you must agree that from the belting in Dubbo 12-56 The Crisps have improved in a relative sense i.e, against "Go Riff and probably against Bellamy too should they have played us, they have improved a net 50 points in performance and intensity. The 11 September 16-10 triumph confirms this view. That is a massive structural change and despite the prolonged absence of Mitchell I believe we will triumph and it may get ugly for "Go Riff toward the end for the reasons I have mentioned previously, barring unforseen injury or accident.

Steenson123

Melbourne played as good as we let them.
How about when G. Jennings put an easy catch down with no one home? Melbourne actually gapped "Go Riff several times but failed to finish, uncharacteristic of them but the team has tended to stall down the stretch it probably peaked in May-July. In addition, losing Smith and Welch really hurt Bellamy as Grant is very dangerous when introduced fresh but not so dynamic playing 60 mins sans a sit. I'm not sure "Go Riff will get the same gift in this GF.

Steenson123

Also from the Sydney Morning Herald,

James Packer interview: Penrith’s saviour reveals why he bought into Souths

Michael Chammas

James Packer, the man who saved the Penrith Panthers from extinction, will be watching this Sunday’s NRL grand final from his Los Angeles home cheering for South Sydney.

In an exclusive interview with The Sydney Morning Herald, the South Sydney part owner has paid tribute to close friend Russell Crowe, crediting the Hollywood star as the reason he bought into the club back in 2014 to form one of the most powerful alliances in world sport.

“Souths are iconic - they have a wonderful history and traditions,” Packer told the Herald from the United States on Monday.

“When the opportunity came up and the chance to work closely with Russell, it just felt right. A premiership would be extraordinarily rewarding for the team, club and supporters.

“The Rabbitohs are bigger than any individual and there are countless people who have played a role getting them here, but Russell is pretty special. I have seen first hand that Russell puts his heart and soul into the club, and I deeply respect and admire him for that.”

This Sunday’s NRL grand final at Suncorp Stadium will be South Sydney’s first appearance in the decider since Peter Holmes a Court sold his 37.5 per cent share of the club to the billionaire businessman following the club’s 2014 premiership triumph over the Canterbury Bulldogs.

A couple of years earlier, Packer dipped into his pockets to save the Panthers as a favour to long-time friend Phil Gould.

With Penrith in urgent need of $10 million, Packer agreed to have lunch with Gould, the newly appointed Panthers general manager at the time, and then chairman Don Feltis.

The Panthers’ $100m loan from ING bank had been sold to a New Zealand corporate raider called Torchlight, which had immediately called in the debt.

They weren’t demanding the $100m up front, but wanted 10 per cent straight away. It’s when Packer came through to keep the club alive.

“Phil is a great friend and he told me the Panthers needed my support, I was happy to help them through a tough spot, but I wouldn’t overplay my role.”

Feltis told the Herald last year that Packer didn’t hesitate to offer the financial assistance to keep the Panthers afloat.

“It was the first time I’d met him and he said: ‘Don, we’ll give you the $10 million. That’s no problem’,” Feltis said.

“Just like that. We didn’t have to sign anything. There was no interest or anything. He gave us $10 million and a few months later we gave his $10 million back to him. We owned Nepean Shores [retirement village] at that time, and we sold Nepean Shores for $11 million and paid Packer back his $10 million.

“He only did it because of his friendship with Phil Gould. Him and Phil are pretty close friends. I don’t think James would have given us that money if he hadn’t been mates with Phil.”

You could understand why Packer, when waking up in the early hours of Sunday morning to watch the grand final, would have a soft spot for Penrith. But there’s no questioning where his allegiances lie, regardless of how significant a role he played in Penrith becoming the powerhouse they are today.

“Two proud and successful clubs, I wish them both luck,” Packer said. “But I’ll be cheering for Souths.”

While Packer is financially invested in the club, which was recently evident in the form of a $1m donation to assist Souths Cares, he does not have the same hands-on role as Crowe.

He has two delegates on the board that he allows to take care of affairs on his behalf, placing trust in the club’s executive team to handle the operational side of the business.

Despite the on-field success of the Rabbitohs in recent years, Packer is delighted with the club’s work off the field.

“I like that Souths gives back to the local community,” he said. “Russell and I are proud of the work of Souths Cares and the strong support and leadership of the board and CEO Blake Solly.”

As for the man with the clipboard?

“Wayne [Bennett] has proven that he really is a master coach,” Packer said.
Two "proud clubs"?? Cleary Sr well he has won zero as a coach and player in 3 Grand Finals. That's 0 for 3 in deciders. "Go Riff they have won two titles in... 54 years!! One every 27 years. Souths to triumph.

The Panthers are lions led by donkeys.

The courting of their gutless coach from under our noses was a dog act and their management are as much to blame for his infidelity as the slimy self-obsessed arrogant alien rodent himself.

A drovers dog could have coached that side to a couple of grand finals. His only speciality seems to be cheating with his acting lessons and trainers. If anyone so much as touches his special lad, the protected species, we all know they get sent or its an 8 point try to smug.

I will be surprised if when you blokes are on the attack, if one of Panther trainers doesn't do a hammy and play suspended.

But the saving grace, they just don't have the same quantity of individual brilliance out there.

They've got young powerful robotic merkins, but most of the time, in attack, all they do is dance around boy blunder, a kind of sickly Morris dancing and he kicks. Brilliant game plan Ivan you flog headed tool.

And when is the spoilt brat going to take a real tackle, when is he going to run into the line.

Gutless little scrote with his tic toc episode showing he has inherited his dads poor anti-social values.

Their fans are under a grand delusion.

I think this could very ugly for them, essentially because they have no quality leadership.

And this fancy idea of Yow being better than Cameron Murray.

Wtf smug fans., the mere suggestion should invite indefinite committal to a mental asylum.

Only a couple of more days to take the piss out of them before they hit the ground with a thud.

Then their salary cap window slams shut.

They will never win a grand final under Ivan Cleary- especially against a licenced, card carrying supercoach.

Its beneath Wayne Bennett to even have to coach against the rodent. Its bringing the game into disrepute.

Stubby

I thought the same when my mate backed the bunnies to beat manly he hasn’t collected since black caviar won but we did it I just hope the riff defend on Sunday like Greg Alexander used to which is non existent

True Story

A shameful chapter in LU history. Why many panthers here are empty vessels.

A couple of weeks ago, I posted up a contemporaneous real time warning on Penrith LU about many scores of Police walking around the Mt Druitt shopping centre busting people and giving the battlers $5,000 fines. It was a surprise raid.

Most of these people would have been on a shopping chore to help someone out. just trying to be kind and good citizens. A lot of these people could not afford a $5,000 fine and live week to week. People down on their luck, pensioners and all that. People buying gifts or presents for others. There's not a lot of multi millionaires at the dru. Some of these people are malnourished and rely on charity.

Not one of the selfish flogs on Panthers LU liked my social minded post, specifically there to help the poor and needy and help the Lu forumers in the area etc.

All I got for my trouble was multiple counts of line personal abuse in that thread and then I was chased down by their sick, miscreant operatives over at Eels forum in the game that the officials wrecked and they abused me there.

And I said to myself "Well f**k them then"

This is the type of people that many of them have turned into under Ivan. There's still a few good ones left. People like @Kilkenny for example. He was probably too frightened by his peers to give me a pat on the back.

If I sent the same message to you on Souths LU about the cops at Everleigh St or Redfern Station, I suspect most of you would remark:

"Thanks for the tip brussy, I will go shopping for my sick grandma or my disabled neighbour later."

And as you can see, they and their sympathisers are still stalking me around the forum being dickheads for my crime of community help.

They used to be a good club, but now their many of their fans values under Ivan and their management are totally f**ked up. You see a panther fan, best not to say hello and cross the street instead.

As I said, the rodent lied to West Tigers. He bought shit players and then ran away to coach his son. It was one of the most selfish acts in the history of the game That smug fans expect us to pat him on the back and praised him shows how ignorant, stupid, delusional and stuffed in the head some of them are.

If any of them want to come here and apologise for their coach, then I suggest that's a good start to the closure process.

But none of them should be here smugging away singing their own praises. Hypocritical flogs.

Souths will judge and mete out a hard lesson of justice upon them.

They are not worthy.

This is a battle between right ( Souths) v wrong (Penrith). You shall not fail.

Two "proud clubs"?? Cleary Sr well he has won zero as a coach and player in 3 Grand Finals. That's 0 for 3 in deciders. "Go Riff they have won two titles in... 54 years!! One every 27 years. Souths to triumph.
Won a Reserve Grade comp as a Coach in 2004 at the Chooks

History is on Penrith's side under the current top 8 system that came into play in 2012- Penrith following the same path as the Cowboys in 2015

Brisbane beat Cowboys ( 2 vs 3) first week of finals

Cowboys beat Melbourne Storm in preliminary final

Cowboys beat Brisbane in Grand final

BotanyBorn&Bred

True Story

A shameful chapter in LU history. Why many panthers here are empty vessels.

A couple of weeks ago, I posted up a contemporaneous real time warning on Penrith LU about the Police walking around the Mt Druitt shopping centre busting people and giving the battlers $5,000 fines. Most of these people would have been on a shopping chore to help someone out. just trying to be kind and good citizens. A lot of these people could not afford a $5,000 fine and live week to week. People down on their luck, pensioners and all that. People buying gifts or presents for others. There's not a lot of multi millionaires at the dru. Some of these people are malnourished and rely on charity.

Not one of the selfish flogs on Panthers LU liked my intended and social minded post, specifically there to help the poor and needy,

All I got for my trouble was on line personal abuse in that thread and then I was chased down by their sick, miscreant operatives over at Eels forum in the game that the officials wrecked and they abused me there.

And I said to myself "well f**k them then"

This is the type of people that many of them have turned into under Ivan. There's still a few good ones left. People like @Kilkenny for example. He was probably too frightened by his peers to give me a pat on the back.

If I sent the same message about the cops at Everleigh St or Redfern Station, I suspect most of you would remark:

"Thanks for the tip brussy, I will go shopping for my sick grandma or my disabled neighbour later."

And as you can see, they and their sympathisers are still stalking me around the forum being dickheads for my crime of community help.

They used to be a good club, but now their many of their fans values under Ivan and their management are totally f**ked up. You see a panther fan, best not to say hello and cross the street instead.

As I said, the rodent lied to West Tigers. He bought shit players and then ran away to coach his son. It was one of the most selfish acts in the history of the game That smug fans expect us to pat him on the back and praised him shows how ignorant, stupid, delusional and stuffed in the head some of them are.

If any of them want to come here and apologise for their coach, then I suggest that's a good start to the closure process.

But none of them should be here smugging away singing their own praises. Hypocritical flogs.

Souths will judge and mete out a hard lesson of justice upon them.

They are not worthy .
Yeah, I remember the episode.

They've changed alright. They used to be poor Westie hillbillies.

Now, they are still Westie hillbillies, but not so poor now because all the GST dodging, tax-cheating tradies have moved out there in their faux mansions when John Howard bribed them in the '01 election.

And its started to spill out in their play on and off the field - pushing the envelope to find more ways to dodge and cheat.

That defeat to "Go Riff requires a closer analysis. Firstly, we did lead 12-0 and momentum altered significantly when Tom Burgess turned the rock over under no duress from "Go Riff just as the squad was attacking again. Second, the downfield penalty on the GOAT Nicholls was pure nonsense and again was a major factor in tilting the outcome. Personally I have never seen that in any contest. In any event, you must agree that from the belting in Dubbo 12-56 The Crisps have improved in a relative sense i.e, against "Go Riff and probably against Bellamy too should they have played us, they have improved a net 50 points in performance and intensity. The 11 September 16-10 triumph confirms this view. That is a massive structural change and despite the prolonged absence of Mitchell I believe we will triumph and it may get ugly for "Go Riff toward the end for the reasons I have mentioned previously, barring unforseen injury or accident.
I dont think Souths will be able to match Penrith's sustained up tempo intensity for 80 minutes- Penrith by 14

Yeah, I remember the episode.

They've changed alright. They used to be poor Westie hillbillies.

Now, they are still Westie hillbillies, but not so poor now because all the GST dodging, tax-cheating tradies have moved out there in their faux mansions when John Howard bribed them in the '01 election.

And its started to spill out in their play on and off the field - pushing the envelope to find more ways to dodge and cheat.
They have lost their way.

Mt Druitt Westfields has a lot of poor people sitting outside in the Mall. People financially displaced for whatever reason.

In all seriousness, a lot of them wouldnt have a spare $50, let alone $5,000.

And many of the smugs here on Panthers LU turn the other cheek. Go into victim blaming mode and attack the defenders of the vulnerable.

No wonder this society is f*&ked up.

It would never happen here, where for the most part, you like to help people and contribute.

I've been abused a couple times by them for supporting you guys now.

I am not afraid, I will not surrender.

I hope you put 50 on them by half time.

You tipped Penrith to beat us in rnd 1 of the finals and then tipped Manly to beat us by 18.

Who is worse as a tipper - bottom of the barrel Johns or you?
Incorrect as i tipped Souths to beat Manly by 8 in a revised tip - I Still think Penrith will win though being coached by ex Chook player and lower grade coach Cleary - Coach Cleary also stole one of the Chooks plays for the cross field kick for the try to Crichton which was instrumental in their win- so kind of Chook inspired win one could say :)

Comrade, you are betraying the people buddy.

NKVD will come looking for after the gf.

Cookie has got to nullify Api.

He did that very successfully the last matchup, and we won. Previous matchups he was MIA, and Api torched him.

Api is their fittest forward. In the Storm game, he didn't slow up much, and his play held Melbourne off.

Cook needs to run, run, run. Make Api tackle, tackle, tackle.
If the ruck is a tortoise like speed it’s hard for Cookie to run that’s the issue.