Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GRAND FINAL: Parramatta v Penrith GAME DAY THREAD at Accor 2/10/22

Not sure what was worse the 01 first half or tonight.

The game turned when we did that stupid kick on 1st tackle in the 8th min after our 1st penalty when it was 0-0.

After that we didn't recover.

Would we have won probably not but that trick shot simply was utter stupidity as we didn't have any ball inside our half for basically the next 25-30 mins and game was done and dusted.
It was idiotic. You try that when your 30 points up. It just showed that we weren’t prepared to guys it out.

Bandwagon

I think Avy first suggested getting To'o as well. I reckon that was a better call than Cam "Rocks and Diamonds" Munster...

Doesn't change that paying Munster a gazillion dollars fixes nothing, and just takes away from where we want to be spending coin.

King-Gutho94

That kick was f**king stupidity. We tried to back our defence off it but then they marched downfield and we ended up getting the ball back in our own 10m. We didn’t get an attacking set after that for an eternity.
Yep that pissed me off more then anything.

We didn't give ourselves a chance.

Just imagine we complete that set and either score a try or get a repeat set.

We were in perfect position for a set as well.

Makes the kick decision even more stupid.

We matched them for about 6mins and that was it. Was a boring grand final. One way traffic. We did have some bad calls but nothing was going to stop the end result. We had nothing.

Now our squad ages and good players leave. Lets hope something happening behind the scenes development wise cause I don't see us moving in the right direction
There's no guarantees you'll win a premiership during a premiership window and that was ours. Bad luck it occurred at the same time as Penrith's dominance, but before that the Roosters and Storm were dominant. That's what you need to have the best chance of winning. Those recruitment/retention advantages that let you keep building a team before the salary cap pulls it apart.

Wwll yeah i think thats how we won the first game against them this year .... but i still dont think its that easy.

Penrith only lost games this year when they were off their game. No one really beat em. They beat themselves. They are head, shoulders and f**kin torso above the rest atm
Don't forget c**ks...

I’m home. Thanks to Optus, there was no internet from about 4pm. 😡

Anyway, they were ruthless. They had 3 or 4 in every tackle. They attack with their defence. Not only do they hit hard, but they then drag you back. Their line speed is exceptional. Their post contact game is supreme. Their scramble - we would make half a break or there would be an offload and they would shut it down with 2 defenders immediately.

I have seen a few comments about us not turning up mentally or shit game plan and honestly you guys just don’t appreciate how good the opposition was.

Anyway I also didn’t think the footy gods gave any f**ks about us, so thanks for nothin f**kers. It felt like every decision, every bounce was going against us.

What a f**kwit to run onto the field and tear the goal post pads off in a GF. Can we deport him ? That’s unAustralian merkin.

Also, I was shocked when Jakey ran on cos we had no internet and the ground announcer said that Carty was in the 17.

Fair play Pennys. You won every grade from SG ball up. Maybe Manly will turn their attention to your juniors for a while.

Did Simonsson break his arm ?

The Pennys bay at south end were chanting we hate parra at 22-0. Harsh you smugs.

Eelogical

Really?? They got away with murder in the ruck, especially that first 30 mins. That penis Klein called nothing. While we get up and almost help them opposition up to their feet. Still the most naive and dumbest team in the comp.
Nobody else but you are calling foul on the reffing side of things. Sometimes we get beat by better teams. Tonight was one of those nights.

If BA coached the Panthers this year they win the comp. If Cleary coaches the eels does he get them to the GF?

Not sure about that mate. Ivan has developed a great squad and bought in guys like Sorrenson who was a dead set plodder along with Salmon who we had and was able to make one an excellent first grader and the other a solid utility. Both would cost peanuts.
Player for player if you looked at them individually I see it quite even. Its more the style of players Ivan recruited and style of footy they play. Fast, fit and mobile whilst we have bigger forward who can offload and more skill with the ball.
BA is ok and we've established that. And he finally had a bit of luck in the finals. But I wouldn't dream of extending him anytime soon. We remained inconsistent all year.

Eelogical

I feel like he is a bigger body and doesnt take the number of runs he could. Compare what he is doing to what Blake Ferguson used to do. Big difference for mine.
I agree. Maybe it's just part of his makeup. I'd have thought though that the coaching staff would have noticed that by now.

Moving forward we need to fix the junior system.
Untill we have a constant flow of good kids coming through every year we will only continue to get the odd one off shot every 10yrs when the top sides have a poor run with injuries like the Storm,Roosters,Souths did this year.

That or someone to get some TPAs going.

Nobody else but you are calling foul on the reffing side of things. Sometimes we get beat by better teams. Tonight was one of those nights.
I’m saying they push the boundaries in the ruck continually and get away with it, good luck to them while we are like little lambs not game to try anything. As I said nice guys win absolutely nothing.

lucablight

Not sure about that mate. Ivan has developed a great squad and bought in guys like Sorrenson who was a dead set plodder along with Salmon who we had and was able to make one an excellent first grader and the other a solid utility. Both would cost peanuts.
Player for player if you looked at them individually I see it quite even. Its more the style of players Ivan recruited and style of footy they play. Fast, fit and mobile whilst we have bigger forward who can offload and more skill with the ball.
BA is ok and we've established that. And he finally had a bit of luck in the finals. But I wouldn't dream of extending him anytime soon. We remained inconsistent all year.
Just wanted to say you’re one of the best posters on the forum when it comes to analysis. Agree 100%. Everyone talks about how Penrith is this juggernaut and just too good because of how many great players they have but if you compare the teams (us and them) individually I think we stack up pretty well in terms of talent. This Penrith team is greater than the sum of its parts. Ivan deserves a lot of credit for assembling a team that plays a certain way and dominates using said method.

The point I was making is that any first grade coach could coach the Panthers team at the moment and they'd win the comp. The systems and process they have in place mean that they have the best players and the coach isn't really as much of an influence on games as people think. The recruitment and junior development pathways arent managed by the coach.

Put Cleary as the coach of any other team and I don't think he looks that good.

There's no guarantees you'll win a premiership during a premiership window and that was ours. Bad luck it occurred at the same time as Penrith's dominance, but before that the Roosters and Storm were dominant. That's what you need to have the best chance of winning. Those recruitment/retention advantages that let you keep building a team before the salary cap pulls it apart.

Fix the junior system is first step. I agree that our window might be done