Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final team

Ok so unless some major mind games are being played it is likely we will be without Cronk on Sunday so what do you all think we should do in the halves?

I don't think anyone believes that Aubo will play at 7. it looks likely that Keary will play at 7 with one of O'Sullivan, Matterson or Latrell at 5/8.

Personally I don't like the Latrell option. He has been phenomenal at left centre this season and IMO that's where he needs to stay. Chambers is shit scared of him and all they need to do its get him early ball to wreak havoc. O' Sullivan might be the best option creativity and game management wise but putting a 2nd gamer in the halves obviously poses a huge risk. Then there is Matterson who is probably the safe option as he will sure up the middle defensively and offers a decent running option but the creativity/kicking will then be one dimensional

RE: Cronk - does anyone see any value sticking him on the bench in the case that the game is tight with 15 to go and bringing him on to manage from there? Obviously you effectively reduce your bench to 3 but most teams only utilise the 4th bench player towards the end anyways.

On a side note, everyone needs to fire up! We have been written off by all and sundry now but I think we are well in with a chance. Cronk offers polish, experience and game management that will be sorely missed but he was never going to determine if the game was going to be tight or what happens up front. I genuinely believe we have been the better team in the finals series so far.

Can Cronk come on as a run-on trainer if he doesn't play? They spend almost as much time on the field as the players do these days and he can yell instructions and direct traffic from there?

Given both defences are tight, this game is sure to be an arm wrestle so fatigue is gonna be a factor and this could be the one advantage we have with a fresh Latrell and Napa. So a three man bench with a sparingly used Cronk ain't out of the question, Val.

Like you, I wanna keep Trell at centre getting plenty of quality ball from Keary. Why break that up?

If Matterson's the other half it's probably gonna be more a protector role for Luke cos of his size to cope with the traffic that's gonna come his way. I'd be happy to take the punt on O'Sullivan cos he has a kicking game to help pose more questions for Storm's defence.

They're all banging on about Storm's last win but the Sharks had players missing and were fatigued. Souffs were a tougher team and we were the ones with troops missing. We kept the best attack tryless. I'm happy to have the underdog status. It's a tough ask without Cronk but our defence will ensure it's at least a contest. Im pump, go Easts!

Lambretta and I are watching that game at Easts Leagues if anyone's keen.

I don't know where you got the Latrell option from. He's best used in the centres and thus moving him into five eight would be silly.

They'll be hoping Cronk can play and they'll give him as long as possible to try and make it onto the paddock. I have a sneaky feeling that if Cronk doesn't play that O'Sullivan will be in the 17 on Sunday. He could go on to become as famous as Johnny Rheinberger.

Tommy Smith

I really hope we have two genuine kicking options going into the game.

If we lose a big part of it could be how many times Slater waa able to catch our deep kicks on the full and get their sets started from their own 30-40m line.

Having that extra kicking option could help us kick deep to corners and see us drag their smaller backs back. If ww do that well I believe we win.

Latrell at 5/8 is an interesting one. If he gets 15 runs a game from there he could wreak havoc but I'm inclined to agree that he should be left at centre.

So all things considered I'd start with SOS for the extra kicking option, which also allows Keary to remain as a dangerous ball running 5/8 which in turn makes Latrell more dangerous.

I don't know where you got the Latrell option from. He's best used in the centres and thus moving him into five eight would be silly.

They'll be hoping Cronk can play and they'll give him as long as possible to try and make it onto the paddock. I have a sneaky feeling that if Cronk doesn't play that O'Sullivan will be in the 17 on Sunday. He could go on to become as famous as Johnny Rheinberger.

It's been mentioned a couple of times in the media. Think Robbo is letting that stuff leak out to confuse

H.H

Keary to 7, Momorovski to 6 is the smokey, but I think it'll be O'Sullivan as it'll have the least disruption to our game and the way we play.

Regardless, I think we'll win this.

Babyface, why aren't you going to the game? Need all the support we can get out there mate.

Headless Chook

Some well thought comments, observations and predictions here. Well done.

I’m tipping Matterson will be at 6 as he offers more of a dependable defensive safety net than any of the other options and he’s played there for us a fair bit already. Should, by all rights be a close game.

The other thing I’m tipping is Friend will be doing even more kicking. God forbid.

Up the Chooks.

Keary to 7, Momorovski to 6 is the smokey, but I think it'll be O'Sullivan as it'll have the least disruption to our game and the way we play.

Regardless, I think we'll win this.

Babyface, why aren't you going to the game? Need all the support we can get out there mate.

The group of fellas I go to home games with have always discussed doing a Leagues Club GF and greet the players when they get back. I've never done it before.

Tommy Smith

Some well thought comments, observations and predictions here. Well done.

I’m tipping Matterson will be at 6 as he offers more of a dependable defensive safety net than any of the other options and he’s played there for us a fair bit already. Should, by all rights be a close game.

The other thing I’m tipping is Friend will be doing even more kicking. God forbid.

Up the Chooks.
My one fear with Matterson is if we go behind early. We'll have fewer attacking options to chase points. And if we're bringing SOS on at that stage it's a damn tough spot for the kid.

But then I thought to myself, when is it ever ideal to go behind early?

If either side is down at any stage by double digits I don't see a way back tbh.

Slater seems to be more dangerous sweeping to that right edge, hence why the Fox hasn't scored in like 7-8 games. So that left edge has got to be water tight so I wouldn't get too exotic with a Latrell-Momirovski combo.

Maybe we really could see Aubo defend at 5/8 and switch with Latrell in attack so the ball doesn't die 3 infield most of the time. Or Matto I guess. That'd be strong in D on that side. And Keary would be left with the play making duties.

Even if cronk doesn't play he has been invaluable for us this week. He has done a masterful job of deflecting all media attention on to himself and he seems to revel in it.

The rest of the players have just been able to prepare in the background with none of the usual pressure articles that come with GF week.

Tommy Smith

Even if cronk doesn't play he has been invaluable for us this week. He has done a masterful job of deflecting all media attention on to himself and he seems to revel in it.

The rest of the players have just been able to prepare in the background with none of the usual pressure articles that come with GF week.
We've been incognito all finals series.

And as has been mentioned I think we're going better than the Storm.

Cronulla played an awesome game in wk 1 of the finals. They put everything into that game and we came out on top. The version the Storm faced was a pale imitation.

And then we kept the same Souffs team tryless that scored 5 tries in Melbourne.

Zero publicity in both. Actually our only publicity was when pundits would tip against us.

And yet here we are again. Underdogs and as off the radar as a GF team can be.

We still beat Souffs 8 nil 2nd half with a one armed halfback who couldn't pass or kick.

I know I'm still a believer in this team that's for sure.

Oh wait, no, we lost to Canberra and Brisbane in rnds 24 & 25; f**k we're done. Broncos form team and Grand Finalists for sure!

Pilot house

I think you will smash them into the next world.

Robbo is keeping the volume way down low. After seibs atm, I think hes best nrl coach. Gifted even.

They won’t survive your massive forwards rolling over them at will into the second half.

Napa cc

tri_colours

Hi , I just thought I would say Go Easts!!

Now that I've said that let me say this. A win on Sunday will put us 7 premierships behind the Ferals - So go Easts!

Pilot house

Game v Souths was the best defensive effort I’ve seen this year.

Wave after wave from the best attacking side in the nrl was just snuffed out so easily. Although the bunnies played like tired porn stars.

But the roosters were without a full complement of elite. It was second string that pushed the bunnies aside. Even gronk was stuffed.

Keary is more than capable and a much better half than his opponent.

Napa will relish not being the only bad guy out there. Well rested and ready to intimidate the average storm forwards.

All the bright lights are on Melbourne, just as robbo wants.

Pound for pound, despite everyone hating the roosters generally, your mission is to bring the cup Home for Sydney.

You have this one opportunity to secure the game for all of us who love the footy. To let us know, that underneath, you are worthy. Let us forgive the terror you have inflicted upon us since time immemorial!

Now Get out there and smash these purple merkin robots into oblivion.

Good luck, they will expel me from Souths lu but I hope you win.

Pilot house

The purple merkins have no idea what is about to hit them.

I hope Cronk wakes up tommorrow with the pain gone and full and unfettered movement.

He deserves to play. Just for his own sake really.

ouryears

H
Game v Souths was the best defensive effort I’ve seen this year.

Wave after wave from the best attacking side in the nrl was just snuffed out so easily. Although the bunnies played like tired porn stars.

But the roosters were without a full complement of elite. It was second string that pushed the bunnies aside. Even gronk was stuffed.

Keary is more than capable and a much better half than his opponent.

Napa will relish not being the only bad guy out there. Well rested and ready to intimidate the average storm forwards.

All the bright lights are on Melbourne, just as robbo wants.

Pound for pound, despite everyone hating the roosters generally, your mission is to bring the cup Home for Sydney.

You have this one opportunity to secure the game for all of us who love the footy. To let us know, that underneath, you are worthy. Let us forgive the terror you have inflicted upon us since time immemorial!

Now Get out there and smash these purple merkin robots into oblivion.

Good luck, they will expel me from Souths lu but I hope you win.
Ha ha ha ha
Now you are supporting the biggest rorters in the history of the game
This is the RoRteRs site, not roosters
Now get off

Bgoodorgoodatit

I'm glad we are being written off... Even without Cronk i reckon we have an even money chance to topple them..

Agree with the above on the need to have a second kicking option.. We don't want friend kicking more than 1 or 2 times IMO and if we only have Keary the Storm will be to good tactically to let us get away with it.

On the other side of the coin defensively Matterson would obviously strengthen things up there. in saying that has played a lot in the halves in the juniors so perhaps wont stifle things as much as i thought.. its not rocket science anyway give Joey and Latrell early ball on the back of a quick play the ball and let them do their thing..

In Robbo we trust.. ill be happy with whatever he comes up with.

Pilot house

I think so. I can’t believe the purple merkins are favourites.

Latrell is lethal and the best back in the game other than a fully fit gi.

They will devote a lot of resources to him which robbo is planning to exploit.

And teddy is hitting some form again. He’s also potent in attack. If he doesn’t get through two tackles per run, he is underperforming. Very high standard of player.

People think the roosters will be defending sure, but the attacking arsenal is shock and awe.