Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Great Idea To Grow The Game.

trudge

Midweek FA CUP style knockout played over 5 rounds.

32 teams.
16 NRL & 16 (NSW/QLD Country groups and expansion teams ie WA, SA, PNG etc)

Round 1 - 1st trial week (32 teams)
Round 2 - 2nd trial week (16)
Q/F - City/Country week (8)
S/F - Anzac Day (4)
Final - After Origin 3 and before Semis (August).

Great bridge for u/20 and bench players. Not burning your top 17 until say Q/F.
Grows TV revenue.
Tests expanding markets.
Gets money/ punters/inspiration into Country Rugby League.

What do you think?

Timbo

Mate about 12 months ago I came on here and suggested the same thing. Every man and his dog proceeded to bag the sh*t out of me and the idea, saying there was no place in the game for a midweek comp, amatuer teams, etc, etc.

I for one reckon it's a great idea though.

Jason Maher

Isn't that similar to what the old Amco Cup was once upon a time? Sounds like a bloody good idea to me. More games for telly as well should add a bit extra to the TV rights.

Amco Cup circa 1980 - just a bit shorter.

Players like Cam Smith whoinge about too much footy as it is without midweek games too. Yet, the Poms do it.

The old midweek comp was the catalyst for expansion - one of the high points in league in Australia.

Nuke

I'm all for it.
Especially if the Country / interstate / PNG teams get to host at least one game (ie: the first round). Grounds / stadiums don't have to be a minimum of NRL standard for this to happen.

trudge

We already play the trials out in the country.

Roosters/Saints played in Perth.

Wests Tigers played in Shellharbour. Souths in Coffs.

May as well package it up for TV like the AFL does the NAB Cup and GET PAID.

You don't risk your stars until the money rounds ala FA CUP.

"First we sow the seed, nature grows the seed and then we eat the seed"

neil.gif

Cumberland Throw

Its not the worst idea Ive ever heard... Who do u propose would make up the other 16 non NRL teams... Name names ???

Billythekid

Amco Cup circa 1980 - just a bit shorter.

Players like Cam Smith whoinge about too much footy as it is without midweek games too. Yet, the Poms do it.

The old midweek comp was the catalyst for expansion - one of the high points in league in Australia.

F*ck Cam Smith. If he can't be bothered getting involved in something like this let one of the many young enthusiastic players take his spot. It's not like his a crowd puller anyway.

RL1908

I'd like to see it, and the WCC Final should be between the two Challenge Cup winners, not the Grand Final winners.

I think there is some scope to look at the 3 pre-Origin weekends as "windows" as well - these are the rounds where the Origin stars are missing, and the interest from fans is already being challenged. So maybe those 3 weekends should be turned into "Challenge Cup weekends". But how all of that works together into a sensible and workable schedule, I haven't looked at. Having MNF doesn't help if a mid-week Cup's semis and final also need to be played.

But, generally I agree a Challenge Cup is worth doing, especially given that the Under 20s is now there, meaning younger players could step up in a Challenge Cup outing, particularly in the rounds rather than the semis and final.

If it was as big as it is in the UK, then Sydney and Brisbane could swap hosting rights for the Cup final, along with the Grand Final. But, sadly, it ain't...

We already play the trials out in the country.

Roosters/Saints played in Perth.

Wests Tigers played in Shellharbour. Souths in Coffs.

May as well package it up for TV like the AFL does the NAB Cup and GET PAID.

You don't risk your stars until the money rounds ala FA CUP.

Great point highlighted.

This season, the bush suffered from trials going to regionals close to the cities. Trials at suburban grounds do far less to promote the game than trials in regional centres. I think one trial was played over the ranges in NSW and QLD - Penrith v Parra at Dubbo. The old Tooheys Challenge - funded by TV, was a great idea. I see nothing wrong with this setup if the WC players were rested from their clubs.

Always amases me that they do it in the UK.

F*ck Cam Smith. If he can't be bothered getting involved in something like this let one of the many young enthusiastic players take his spot. It's not like his a crowd puller anyway.

:clap:

hutch

would prefer a mid season break in the nrl for rep footy. the nrl is stale and its not fair that some clubs are forced to play without their top players. 4 weeks off, origin, anzac test, nz origin, nz v pacific islands, png v fiji, tonga v samoa, european cup in the north then back to club footy for the second half of the season. this wuold be massive!

club challenge cup could work pre-season?

trudge

The 5 rounds won't effect the NRL season.

Replace and Package the 1st 3 trial rounds, City/Country round & Anzac Day test.

The City/Country game doesn't even include origin players. It's fake. I'd much rather see Actual Country Divisions, Groups &expansion teams, take on our u/20 and bench players IN THE COUNTRY.

Anzac Test is a dud. Always has been, because the players haven't truly earned their Kangaroo jumper. The first test should be a natural progression after origin and GF.

16 other teams are a great way to saturate country area like Wagga, Rocky, Coffs, as well as expansion teams WA, SA, NT, TAS, VIC, NZ south island, PNG, FIJI etc. (rotatable)

Timbo

Play it with your 16 NRL teams, plus QLD Cup, Bundy Red Cup and Country Rep sides.

If you make it 5-6 weeks, NRL sides could get byes through to Rd.3 or whatever.

Mate about 12 months ago I came on here and suggested the same thing. Every man and his dog proceeded to bag the sh*t out of me and the idea, saying there was no place in the game for a midweek comp, amatuer teams, etc, etc.

I for one reckon it's a great idea though.

i too think its a great idea. It could bridge the gap between the lower levels and the nrl.

It could provide exposure for players on the verge of the nrl.

It could be shown on tv. Its another talking point.

It would seriously be on par with afl's nab cup.

Another final of some sort in rugby league is only a good thing.

By the time quarter finals came round, you'd have some nrl stars in there, and if the prize money is good, you'd have a team half-full to full of nrl players.

One of the best things about being a soccer supporter is the number of finals per year. Amazing. The juicy end of the game.

I say have it. It could be great.

bondy064

Great to hear from someone with a great idea. Country teams and towns would love this, i agree that games should be played in the bush. Perfect chance for coaches to blood new talent. Love it, well done....