Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Halfback Situation

True EEL

The Colonel said:
Reading between the lines - big recruitment, past speculation, coaching changes etc - I reckon he has the first 10-12 games of the season to show some remarkable improvment if not a better than 50% win loss record. It reeks somewhat of what happened when the Hitman was in charge and the Canterbury Four + extras arrived.......

WHO??? :?

Ron "The Hitman" Hilditch you big talking 17-year-old ;-)

he was coach at Parra between oh about 92-96 roughly, just before a certain B. Smith took over the reigns and after Mick "The Crow" Cronin finished as coach......

Ron Hilditch was also a Parra player back in the late 70's - early 80's if my memory serves me....(Colonel?) and was a big-hitting second rower, hence the nickname "hitman"

and as Colonel said learn your Parra history....especially before spouting too much about what should happen with Parra at present or in the future ;-) (and before we get into more arguements.....please take all of this with a grain of salt)

Haynzy

the 01 squad lacked a lot of finals experience as the game before the grand final showed. We dropped so much ball under pressure. Next years squad is more mature and experienced.

good point UTE

It's pretty ambitious to compare the '01 team with the current one.
I agree without injuries they would have to be up there with a big chance.

I don't really think there is that much between any of the top seven or eight teams uninjured.

Utey

True EEL said:
The Colonel said:
Reading between the lines - big recruitment, past speculation, coaching changes etc - I reckon he has the first 10-12 games of the season to show some remarkable improvment if not a better than 50% win loss record. It reeks somewhat of what happened when the Hitman was in charge and the Canterbury Four + extras arrived.......

he was coach at Parra between oh about 92-96 roughly, just before a certain B. Smith took over the reigns and after Mick "The Crow" Cronin finished as coach......

Ron Hilditch was also a Parra player back in the late 70's - early 80's if my memory serves me....(Colonel?) and was a big-hitting second rower, hence the nickname "hitman"

and as Colonel said learn your Parra history....especially before spouting too much about what should happen with Parra at present or in the future ;-) (and before we get into more arguements.....please take all of this with a grain of salt)

:lol: :lol: :lol: I didnt state I knew everything and thats just one of your presumptions so :arrow: . Iam only young and only began to take footy very seriosuly around 1998. So dont blow smoke up my ass because I was born a few years to late ;-)

True EEL said:

Played for Parramatta from 1975 - 1982. He originally started out as a hooker and played that position in the 1976 Grand Final. Not naturally gifted, more a tireless worker he eventually moved to prop - he was as rough and as tough as they came - defence was his speciality hence the moniker. He made the 78 Kangaroo tour and played for Australia at hooker when Krilich was injured and then made the Australian side at prop in 1981. Leg injuries kept him out of the 1982 Grand Final and he retired in 1983.

True EEL

True EEL said:
The Colonel said:

:lol: :lol: :lol: I didnt state I knew everything and thats just one of your presumptions so :arrow: . Iam only young and only began to take footy very seriosuly around 1998. So dont blow smoke up my ass because I was born a few years to late ;-)

if i was blowing smoke up your ass (which i didn't and wouldn't) i would be giving you a compliment....i didn't see where i gave you one

and i didn't say you thought you knew everything, but sometimes you act like it is all...... ;-)

HRVTSKA

I found this in the NZ forum:

Eels Slip Away From Leuluai
17/11/2004 12:44 PM NewstalkZB

It looks as if the Warriors have put a stop to Thomas Leuluai's chances of playing for the Parramatta Eels next season.

The Warriors will release the young Kiwis halfback, but only to a UK club, not another NRL side.

Parramatta have been keen to sign Leuluai.

However Leuluai says it does not look as if that is going to happen.

He says they have tried to persuade the Warriors to let him go to another NRL club, but it appears those efforts have been fruitless.

Leuluai says it is frustrating given he was really keen to go to the Eels where coach Brian Smith was really positive.

Leuluai says he is likely to spend one year in the UK, before trying to break back into the NRL.

He says he cannot say where he is headed, but he will be getting a regular starting spot, which can only be beneficial.

Leuluai says he is still young and has plenty more to learn about directing play on the field.

//I personally say thank god his not coming....but hey what do i know im just a supporter lol

Utey

Goodluck and it doesnt really differ the situation. Now we have one less candidate and selections will give Smith less of a headache.

eelsta

BigBadEel said:
I cant understand why the club is after Leulua. The guy stated that he would one day like to return to NZ. Why train someone who only wants to leave in future anyway. We need a long term halfback not a temporary solution

Also it is an ongoing saga trying to sign him. By the time we do sign him the new season will be upon us. It is important to train the person who is going to be the halfback now to get combinations happening etc.

Anyway we should train up one of the juniors ie T Smith , B Green etc as back up to PJ Marsh

BUT having stated that Parra will win the 2005 GF. Lets face it BS has only two seasons to fulfill his fantasy for a GF win.
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

:music1: \\:D/ \\:D/ \\:D/ \\:D/ :music1:
BIG BAD EEL
it has come to my attention that you have been all over the forums pissing off other team supporters, [-X as the queen of this forum i order you to stop this practice at once and go back and opoligise for you bad behaviour

Hurriflatch

Looks like this chapter of the off season is finally finished.

Guess that means Tim Smith is 2nd in line after PJ.

True EEL said:
PJ for starting Halfback in 2005!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tim Smith can be his deputy

I think that's the plan.

but I like to think there's a couple more players who can put preasure on these guys. such as Peranara and Green.

Utey

I totally agree. But as some have said this could all be a smokescreen to protect young Smith. But Smith will get his shot in the trials, if he impresses look out for him to claim the 7.

IMO Green has a few more years ahead of him before he cracks FG. Maybe 1-2 years. But Perenara I expect to be a star from the amount of hype around him and by how highly Anderson talks him up.

Basically what in that he will most probably play a year in the UK and then try to crack the NRL after that year. He wanted to join Parra but the Warriors won't let him. He does not know which ESL club he will be going to yet.

Jake the snake said:
Basically what in that he will most probably play a year in the UK and then try to crack the NRL after that year. He wanted to join Parra but the Warriors won't let him. He does not know which ESL club he will be going to yet.

cheers! mate.