Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

halves for next year?

84 Baby

Burt, Tiquiri, Vatavei all play left wing so they don't clash really. But you wouldn't know that hey 84 Baby.
Ok you'll have to slow it down for me because I don't know nothing... You're saying the left wing is where all the best wingers play?

Seriously, do you listen to yourself regularly? There seems to be a chronic lack of politeness in your posts. Maybe we will listen to you when you stop flaming everyone.

Well said Boxy. The sooner you're a moderator the better IMO.

Maroubra Eel

Why always so angry Sefton?

Maybe you could share your troubles with Casper. Sometimes it helps to talk to someone.

SeftonBoy

Seriously, do you listen to yourself regularly? There seems to be a chronic lack of politeness in your posts. Maybe we will listen to you when you stop flaming everyone.

You are listening to me because you keep posting back comments. And Boxhead............toughen up sook.

Mr Maroubra Eel - I'm not angry mate just frustrated with the Eels efforts in 2010 & could see a player like Luke Burt who I think is past it. Sometimes change breeds success & there is a definate change needed on that left wing.

SeftonBoy

But Nightingale is better than Morris, Graham better than Perrett?

On their day YES. I actually thought Nightingale got the better of Morris this year especially in general play.

However, Burt is never as good as Grothe & was never as good as Inu in 2010 & that's saying something.

boxhead

You are listening to me because you keep posting back comments. And Boxhead............toughen up sook.

Mr Maroubra Eel - I'm not angry mate just frustrated with the Eels efforts in 2010 & could see a player like Luke Burt who I think is past it. Sometimes change breeds success & there is a definate change needed on that left wing.

:sarcasm: Doesn't sound like I'm the one doing the sooking mate.....

On their day YES. I actually thought Nightingale got the better of Morris this year especially in general play.

However, Burt is never as good as Grothe & was never as good as Inu in 2010 & that's saying something.

Burt at the start of 2010 was on fire, you are a fool if you think otherwise.

Hey, reverse logic, wrong the person that wrongs you!! :D

Orford and Mortimer by the way.

SeftonBoy

Not sooking just laying down the cold hard facts & you don't like it.

You're the only fool here mate. Luke Burt played two good games all year. Hey 2 out of 20 odd is not bad I suppose. Keep biting Boxhead.....

How about we sign Orford before you put down as the 1/2 back. He might just end up at Canberra.

boxhead

You obviously don't understand a joke, and have you ever listened to commentators on NRL on Fox or in the games? Listen to them, I can quote them earlier in the year saying "Luke Burt is the form winger of the NRL". If you want to actually face "cold hard facts", then you had better stop your flaming and argue like any person should do.

Springs

So what happened to this "brilliance" in 2010 then???

I see it differently mate. In 2009, on the back of the HAYNE TRAIN (whether you care to pay him the cudos he deserves or not, the fact is pretty much ALL our attack started with him), Mortimer (& others) was able to pick up a few opportunistic tries. But, in 2010, when given more responsibility Mortimer showed he was simply not up to the task. In my opinion, Humble showed more in his 6 or so games - playing different positions in a side NOT on a roll - than Mortimer did the whole 2010 season.

Look, I am not here to bag out the kid. He plays for my beloved Eels, so I will continue to support the team and if Mortimer is in that team, I will cheer him on. I just do not believe he is of first grade standard at this stage in his career & we have a better option in Tom Humble. I sincerely hopes he proves me wrong in 2011 & will be happy to admit it if & when it happens.

Go the Eels!
WOE

What exactly did Humble show? And explain how it was more than Mortimer. All I remember Humble doing is his try against the Sharks, his try against the Warriors, being tackled into touch against Manly and throwing the ball over the sideline against the Warriors.

In 2009, Mortimer's few tries (actually 10) were not opportunistic. He put himself in the right position to score those tries. Not matter which way you put it, Mortimer and Robson played well in 2009. They played badly in 2010, but not one member of the 2009 side improved in 2010, except maybe Tim Mannah.

And for someone who is not here to bag out the kid you seem to bag him out at every opportunity you can.

Djay

Why do you even bother?

It's like talking to a brickwall.

caylo

Ahead of Burt on the wing for sure.
Luke Burt is too small for wing too. Commentators were saying during the PNG Test Match the other day about the short winger they had & were trying to compare him to wingers who'd played NRL - they mentioned Bousted, Morris - I was screaming at the TV what about the little non-powerful little shoulders chicken legged Burt.
Imagine him up against Tuquiri, Vatavei

Sefton there are plenty of small wingers in the NRL (eg K.Gorden, Locke, Kemp). Vatuvi, Grothe and bigger wingers always have problems with their ability to turn and chase etc. Burt actually save a try this year by taking an intercept a few meters from his line and setting up humble to score. He also scores tries that you dont see other wingers score from his kick chase and his vision etc.

Burt has been in the NRL for 10 years and there is a reason for that, he isnt the best winger in the world and if he was bigger he may have been up there but his speed, tanasity and brains makes for a very good winger who doesnt cost alot of $$. Burts defence is rarley an issue, how often does a winger make a one on one tackle, out wide defence slides and he will always have 1-2 men on the inside within 2 meters of him and all he has to do is make contact. Inu and Grothes defence out wide is generally horrible, Inu loves to come out of the line and shoulder charge which generlly is ineffective and grothe loves to come in and leave his winger unmarked. This year Reddy and Inu/Grothe conceeded twice the amount of tries to Tahu/Wright-Burt combo.

Burt is the best winger in our team IMO, if you dont agree I don't care because you obviously have sh*t for brains and no temper control. Before you go on a rant, telling me your a 6'3" islander who weights 130kg and has been shot 43 times... I dont care, I'm not stupid enough to get into a fight over football but im people like you dont scare me at all :D

Or he could go like Mortimer and not be better for last years runs.

Also I don't think he could be first reserve for 3 or 4. Not big enough. Actually on that name our third string centre (currently signed, so no Phil Grahams) assuming Reddy & Tahu are top 2.
Yep, despite size I still reckon Humble is next. Wright left, I can't think of anyone currently signed that should/would get a go in firsts ahead of Humble.

Maybe they'd shift Ben Smith back there, if Shack and Horo and Hindy are fit in the back row?

mrpwnd

What exactly did Humble show? And explain how it was more than Mortimer. All I remember Humble doing is his try against the Sharks, his try against the Warriors, being tackled into touch against Manly and throwing the ball over the sideline against the Warriors.

In 2009, Mortimer's few tries (actually 10) were not opportunistic. He put himself in the right position to score those tries. Not matter which way you put it, Mortimer and Robson played well in 2009. They played badly in 2010, but not one member of the 2009 side improved in 2010, except maybe Tim Mannah.

And for someone who is not here to bag out the kid you seem to bag him out at every opportunity you can.
IIRC, Humble had 1 game at 5/8 and it was IMO, better than most of what Morts has done for the whole year. Mortimer did play well last year, but he played more like a spare centre/winger playing in the middle of the field IMO, coming in during support play and 2nd phase play and no, I don't think Robson played that well last year tbh, but he was better then than now.
You can discuss whether Morts deserves his first grade spot now and we could agree to disagree, but you can't deny that Humble is much more of a natural halfback/5/8 than Morts is atm.