Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Have we ever had this conundrum in the history of the club?

Riddle me this. We have an absolutely gun team on paper- completely underperforming.

Graham, Dugan, Johnson, Moylan, Fifita and Woods are out and out hyped superstars of our game.

Nikora and Xerri are pencilled in as future rep superstars.

Gallen and Morris have a tonne of rep experience.

If you were to allocate a dollar value to every player based on their achievements, a la supercoach, you can make a good argument that this is the best team (on paper) we have ever had. Yet we are middling.

Traditionally when we have done well it was on the back of plenty of local juniors and a couple of guns. The 2016 squad one upped that and were team took a bunch of unfashionable rejects and moneyball style players like Leutele and Beale and Ennis who gave maximum bang for your buck.

I cannot remember a squad like this for the Sharks- and despite all the talent in the world it feels like we are destined to be frustrated.

A team of champions perhaps?

Footnote- for those saying throw Kyle back in- it was him who said he wanted out and now has the bottom lip out deluxe. Doesn't want to be here. Think the world owes him a favour.

bluefox68

Footnote- for those saying throw Kyle back in- it was him who said he wanted out and now has the bottom lip out deluxe. Doesn't want to be here. Think the world owes him a favour.

Wow - interesting - okay, so I guess it’s the Jets for him, if he’s not a team player...

betcats

Moylan looks a little chubby to me. Johnson has never performed consistently better than he is for you this season outside of his rookie season.

Craigshark

Like I posted in another thread, it’s almost as if we have to use the term “too many cooks in the kitchen.” They all seem to get in the way of each other. Johnson was obviously told to run more yesterday and probably did it too much. Why he went right from dummy half after the Williams break still baffles me. It broke the whole play down and made it so much harder than it had to be.

The Roosters, Storm etc would have iced the game at the end. We failed. again. In saying that, those teams wouldn’t have put themselves in that position against such a poor opposition to begin with.

We’ve just blown 4 points with sheer arrogance and laziness and some f**ken poor basic under 12’s mistakes. Morons

Ads

Also looks like we overcrowd the right hand side in attack. Worked a treat when Xerri went over but apart from that theres too much going on.

Craigshark

Also teams have worked out the short ball to Nikora. They would have been better off running the Corey Oates Broncos play again and perfecting it. Especially against the rookie half.

There’s way too many block plays out to the left. A couple of times Graham ran through massive gaps as the decoy. Hit hit him with a short ball.

Eion

Riddle me this. We have an absolutely gun team on paper- completely underperforming.

Graham, Dugan, Johnson, Moylan, Fifita and Woods are out and out hyped superstars of our game.

Nikora and Xerri are pencilled in as future rep superstars.

Gallen and Morris have a tonne of rep experience.

If you were to allocate a dollar value to every player based on their achievements, a la supercoach, you can make a good argument that this is the best team (on paper) we have ever had. Yet we are middling.

Traditionally when we have done well it was on the back of plenty of local juniors and a couple of guns. The 2016 squad one upped that and were team took a bunch of unfashionable rejects and moneyball style players like Leutele and Beale and Ennis who gave maximum bang for your buck.

I cannot remember a squad like this for the Sharks- and despite all the talent in the world it feels like we are destined to be frustrated.

A team of champions perhaps?

On the one hand you could say this team has never really had time to gel in key positions. Sj, moyza in particular. And once they get their roles sorted it comes good.

It’s tough for a young coach, but it seems to me that Morris needs to take more control of these old bucks. If he wants Dugan on the wing for example...put him on the wing and turf his whinging ass to the jets if he complains. If sj is kicking busted, make a gutsy call. I’m getting worried the inmates might be starting to run the asylum.

lolesi

Frustrating thing is with all these top players, it is the simple things we continually get wrong.

- basic errors (especially starting games recently)
- poor discipline
- no repeat sets
- lethargic
- goal kicking

Pretty worrying result yesterday, I thought they would be firing after that loss to Canberra.

I understand SJ, Moylan and CT haven’t had much game time together and it will take a few more weeks you would imagine for any kind of fluid play but if they can’t fix the things previously listed, it will never come.

roboshark

Will be interesting to see what sort of response we get at home next week against another shit team

Just thinking in the past, I recall a dysfunctional but talented 2002 team under Chris Anderson that took half the season to find its feet, but totally different coaching situation, so nothing to compare. I also remember the 1976 team with a super bunch of backs and Roger Millward at the helm that only seemed to gel every few weeks.

Frustrating thing is with all these top players, it is the simple things we continually get wrong.

- basic errors (especially starting games recently)
- poor discipline
- no repeat sets
- lethargic
- goal kicking

Pretty worrying result yesterday, I thought they would be firing after that loss to Canberra.

I understand SJ, Moylan and CT haven’t had much game time together and it will take a few more weeks you would imagine for any kind of fluid play but if they can’t fix the things previously listed, it will never come.

I maintain that if we had not dropped any more than Canterbury we would have won the game.

sladden road

"They are not a team that values consistent quality and intensity". Gus on the weekend.

It is this.

I was talking to an opposition coach, who I see a couple of times week in a work environment, about the effort of his team and the difference in effort versus talent. At the moment his team is in a slump but it is full of talent He spoke to the efforts off the ball, the speed of the line, the kick chase as the markers of where a teams purpose is.It is not reliant on the talent of the team, it is the desire of the team.

I have known this guy for a few years now and he knows that I am a SHARKS tragic and he spoke of the arrogance in the 2017 team back then. How they expected to just turn up and win whilst going through the motions this arrogance was eluded to yesterday by Bomber. It is still continuing.

Sam had a tirade on the Canberra game on the Sharkcast pod and what he was saying was true. This team has had "it" in them for a while. The penalties, the dropped ball, the lack of desire believing that talent will win them though. Why else would the worlds most damaging forward show up a third of the time? Why would Wado, who I f**king man love, give Klemmer a gob full after full-time last year leaving the field in the last round only for the team to sputter? And Mozza plays the house down against the Pennies and almost single handily beat them then go back into 60 per cent mode for the majority of the season.
I was looking at the Feki yesterday, granted he is not the most talented but he runs hard almost always. Give me a couple of Luke Covells for every Dugan FFS dude is deluded, calling Freddy for origin.
Play in the wing bud, play for the team. Not for yourself..origin pfft.

My avatar man SJ. A super likeable guy who can win a match single handly, I mean we have about 6 of those kinda men, we need some real warriors who will fight for the team a Webcke, or Davidson or Docking or a Marty Lang. I know that these guys are from a few years ago but IMO that speaks to the problem. Who gives a flying f**king swinging cat f**k about your clothing brand on Insta when for two weeks in a row you cant catch the first kick put up to you that you are paid over half a million a year to catch. I'm looking at you, Moylan. Who cares about following me @overpaid fulltime footy play.rort.

At least Chad gives his best most of the time, effort. As much as I despised Kimmorley for what he and Anderson did at the Sharks I will take my hat off he was one of the most consistent players I have ever watched with his effort. Kick chase, tackle, effort upon effort. We need some of that now.

Put down the phone, stop reading the press and listening to the hotties at Northies. Have a real go for old mate and the missus, coughing up 30 dollars out of a wage one-tenth the size of yours, and turn up like you give a shit about the privileged position of being a first-grade PROFESSIONAL league player in this day and age where it is all on a plate for you.

Just turn up and care, is that too hard to ask?

chewsta

We really miss Luke Lewis out there. Someone to stay calm and say rightio merkins this is what we need to do and then shows them how to do it.

roboshark

I'm still pissed off at this loss

More then any other I can remember in a LOOOOONG time

The scene or our greatest triumph is the scene of one of the biggest embaressments in decades

Generalzod

The scene or our greatest triumph is the scene of one of the biggest embaressments in decades
Hell I’m pissed off at the lost, but even if we had won in the last seconds I really wouldn’t have been excited about it

Generalzod

considering also we beaten them on the the siren 20-18 remember that Maloney kick f**king amazing and we had to cop this crap yesterday