Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne~NFL~RU~Tits~Eels~Dad~Jailed~Mistrial~Jailed~Retrial~Jailed~Appeal~Quashed-Sued~Fat Coach

No-one writes a Hayne article better than my mate Nick.

Super effort. Now go and brush your teeth!

e7e2eb08c7d87bd3de2b241b36c9bf87

maxresdefault.jpg

Joshuatheeel

Because you're better off paying a bloke $300k under the cap who doesn't want to play for, than you are keeping him around and costing you $1.2 million and play like he did this season.

Yep, sets them up nicely cap wise!! Can front load a few contracts or look for someone else.

Obscene Assassin

What if we sign him, then arrange a trade with Toulon to get Semi back? Straight swap?

That's something I can get behind.

I'm not gonna slit my wrists if we sign him, or hand in my membership or anything silly like that, but Hayne's best days are well behind him now and I thought the Eels were past paying overs for players on the way out.

I think a lot of you are living in hops that Hayne is going to magically turn on his form switch and lead us to a fairytale premiership, but that just won't happen. He doesn't have it in him anymore.

Here's another question no one is asking, what if signing him costs us Bevan, or Gutho? Both are possible, and please try and tell me that short term Hayne is worth losing either of those two long term.

Hayne is very likely going to cost us at least one player, there's no way we have Hayne type money left, I know we have some cap space, but we couldn't have that much left.

Who do you sacrifice for your messiah?

Who said we're paying overs? There's been rumours from reading the play on twitter that the titans are willing to pay for at least half of Hayne's contract as they want him gone much more than be wants to leave. And the reason why they'll pay that much is it still frees up 600k.

His signing won't cost us Bev or Guth. There is room for all 3 in our backline, Semi left this year so that opens a wing spot and another can easily be accommodated by dropping Auva'a. I don't know of it will cost us a player or not, but given what BA has said in the past he will not sign someone who he believes is not the right fit for the club. Why would that change all because of Hayne? BA doesn't seem like the sort of person to get caught up in all the hype.

I reckon we do have that sort of money left to sign Hayne, we were going to offer Semi close to if not $500k, with the pay rumour (and we still have 2-3 spots left in our top 30) it is not illogical to believe we have enough cap space left.

We don't have to sacrifice anyone. It is both rumour on your and my part. Your bias is seeing it as if Hayne is going to come in and cost us someone so all of your rational is going to lead you to ask that question. Whereas my bias (from what I've heard publicly and from rumours) leads me to believe that signing Hayne, or anyone else, won't cost us a player already signed to the team.

ash411

We don't have to sacrifice anyone. It is both rumour on your and my part. Your bias is seeing it as if Hayne is going to come in and cost us someone so all of your rational is going to lead you to ask that question. Whereas my bias (from what I've heard publicly and from rumours) leads me to believe that signing Hayne, or anyone else, will cost us a player already signed to the team
So... both our "biases" are seeing the same thing?

Johnny88

For 500k I'd take Hayne back and a one year deal can't hurt. Hayne has a point to prove.

I read last week Titans coach took a pay cut to get Haynes trainer to the club. Poor fella

Lemon Squash

It's been widely reported we have money to sign Radradra if Semi were to return.

I think getting Hayne back - for a smart deal (no way in hell Bernie and BA allow Jarryd to sign for overs imo) - is an admission that Semi won't be back at Parramatta, more than anything.

That's the way I'm seeing it also - at least they don't think he will be back in the short term anyways. Plus potentially think that we will be missing Gutho for a while

I'm a Hayne fanboy always have been... yeh he has been an absolute dick the last 18 months.. but I generally think he still has some good footy left in him and back at Parra with Arthur and his mates he can still be quality.

Before origin he strung a good 6 weeks of footy together but after game 2 he just went to dogs balls, in saying that though his whole squad was going terrible and I think he wore the brunt of it as he often did at Parra.

From a Titans perspective though I wouldn't be paying him a cent and if we are offering 500-600k I think Hayne should counting his lucky stars he is even getting that because his footy really hasn't deserved it.

By the sounds of things Parra are going to do this in a smart way (for once) they are almost throwing him a 'lifeline' deal so he has to prove his worth.. not just rock up on 1million + like he did at the Titans. I would take a bit of the pressure off him play him in the centres just as a strike outside back and get him back into the groove and enjoying his footy again. Then if he is needed through injury or for a bit of spark move him to 1 or possibly to the halves.

Or if the whole thing is just a media beat-up then I won't be losing any sleep regardless.

Spine players need to be heavily involved in the modern game. This is why Gutherson does so well - he is always there, so he gets loads of opportunities to do well. It’s the reason why Slater was first choice for rep teams over stronger and more skilful fullbacks.

Hayne is a miles better footballer than Clint Gutherson but Guth has the one factor that is essential to modern fullbacks. Hayne only gets the ball when the play dictates he should. Gutherson gets it whenever there’s an opportunity and so ends up in the open more often.

muznik

No-one writes a Hayne article better than my mate Nick.

Super effort. Now go and brush your teeth!

e7e2eb08c7d87bd3de2b241b36c9bf87

I am sensing sarcasm ?

2 major things popped out to me:

There was a crucial commercial component to this deal. Byron Bay-based online travel agency TripADeal — a corporate supporter of the Titans — paid $400,000 of the $1.2m-a-year contract, as a Marquee Player Agreement for Hayne.

But there would be a big question-mark over whether the deal would continue if Hayne moved to Sydney. TripADeal co-founder Norm Black said in August, when there were doubts about Hayne’s future with the club: “Regardless of what takes place with Jarryd Hayne, TripADeal’s commitment has always been with Gold Coast, with the Titans.”

When I attempted to contact Black late yesterday, he was on a plane to Europe.

Nick may need to do a little research as Norm Black has been quoted as saying that deal was for 2017 and is now done & dusted. Hayne's whole $1.2m is on Titans books for 2018

Attempts to contact Hayne’s manager Wayne Beavis yesterday were unsuccessful.

I was under he impression Wayne had been deregistered & couldn't be Hayne's manager. In fact didn't Nick himself write an article at the start of the year stating Beavis was retiring?
I am genuinely confused on this one !

Joshuatheeel

Beavis isn't Haynes manager he is his "Advisor", that's how that are getting around his de-registration.

I am of the understanding Beavis can do the majority of the contract negotiations however a accreditated manager needs to finalise/sign off on the contract.

My gut feel is this will happen - only cos the titans are jack of the hayne circus, which really isnt a glowing endorsement

hope it turns out ok ... but i fear it wont .... we can "be smart" and offer a 1 yr deal, but then puddin's head will be worried about securing his next pay day ... might make him play well for a little while, but if at any point it looks like we wont chuck him the big $$$s after next year, do you think he will still play well and not rock the boat?