Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne wants another chance at 1....

mate, im a scientist. thats how i look at things. sorry if it's different to your outlook on life.

the fact remains that people have trouble viewing situations when they have an emotional connection.

Second section, true. First section, so what? Like I said, this isn't a slanging match, but the "I'm Mr. Objectivity" is such a load of crap. Just because you're a scientist doesn't in any way mean you have an ability to be more objective or be more informed about football than anyone else. I live my life by a rational, objective approach, but that doesn't mean I'm any more qualified to judge football than anyone else.

My stylish beard and ridiculously insane levels of handsomeness give me that qualification.

In all seriousness HJ, he may not be in form but even you must concede that at their best Hayne is a better fullback then Burt.

I admit however that the article paints him as a bit of a sook.

It does, indeed.

But no, I still disagree. Burt is better at talking and positioning the line and, when in form, supports up the middle of the ruck better. Hayne runs back harder, but so what?

In the best of form, I'd pick Burt over Hayne still.

I'm a little over Jarryd, and thats not an opinion from reading the article... I've been over him for most of the year

Same.

My personal opinion is that he is an over-rated player who held us to ransom for too much money based on a short period of form when Taylor put him in. I see him as an arrogant and egotistical player, prone to having a sook if things don't go his way, who dives like a dog whenever the opportunity arrives and who would walk away from this Club the second he wasn't bowed down to.

Hellsy

I hate the diving.. and the holding onto defenders to milk penalties.

** I hate that from any player not just Jarryd**

Ron Jeremy

Are people that stupid and forgettable? Hayne is OUR BEST OPTION AT FULL BACK! he was the form player of the comp late last year in this position, people are so very easy to critisise our ONLY SOO PLAYER.

Who the f**k is Burt in the scheme of things? what rep honours has he achieved? he's just an average first grader who's best position was FB, Hayne is the better option and better paid player, so we should be protecting our investment not pissing it off on the wing. He earnt that contract with his form last year when he was one of the best players in the league.

People talk about his whinging? so f**king what! he's obviously not happy and wants to be more involved! it's easy to be an asset at FB then a batterning ram off the wing. The position is limiting his abilities.

You want over-rated? look at Hindmarsh and Cayless! they're the platform we rely on for the likes of Hayne to produce the goods yet provide 3 metres a hit-up and get dominated by the likes of Matt Head!.

Hayne is the obvious choice at FB, he's a once in generation player who we need to protect. Why should w b playing him out of position, i'm glad h spoke up, he's obviously not happy why sit there in silence, he's OUR BEST option, he has proven that, Burt is just a good support player who can occasionaly kick a goal from the side line.

Burt has shown that he terrible positional play at FB, cannot catch a bomb ( lets it bounce), and doesn't attack the line when recieving the ball from a kick. Hayne is everything you want in a FB as shown last year.

People are easy too forget, I urge every single f**king one of you to re watch our games against Brisbane ( 68-22), Canterbury ( 25-6) and ( 34-22) and even our loss to Melbounre, then tell me whether you still want Burt at FB!

Nahh Burty, we love you Burty.........Hayne is a sook blah blah, i'd be a sook too if i was our best player playing on the f**king wing even though i proved to everyone last year i was a full back.

HAYNE HAS TO BE FULL BACK!!!!!!!!!

Hellsy

I don't think he should have been selected in Origin... but then looking around perhaps there was no other choice for an eligible NSW winger

Ron Jeremy

Burt is better at talking and positioning the line and, when in form, supports up the middle of the ruck better. Hayne runs back harder, but so what?

so what? how many SOO games has Burt played? Hayne is the obvious choice at FB, Burt is not the player he was last year! protect our investment and give Hayne a go!

In the best of form, I'd pick Burt over Hayne still.

You would also pick Stu Gailbraith over Andrew Johns.

My personal opinion is that he is an over-rated player who held us to ransom for too much money based on a short period of form when Taylor put him in. I see him as an arrogant and egotistical player, prone to having a sook if things don't go his way, who dives like a dog whenever the opportunity arrives and who would walk away from this Club the second he wasn't bowed down to.

Yeah all the reasons why we shouldn't have him at fullback ey HJ? maybe Mason shouldn't be playing first grade either? i mean he pretty much what you stated.... and throw in Hodges as well while we're at it.

Ron Jeremy

I don't think he should have been selected in Origin... but then looking around perhaps there was no other choice for an eligible NSW winger

what about Burty?:roll:

So you dont trust Bellamys judgement do you? Hayne scored one of the greatest individual trys in history last year in his first ever SOO match!

Hurriflatch

so what? how many SOO games has Burt played? Hayne is the obvious choice at FB, Burt is not the player he was last year! protect our investment and give Hayne a go!

by your logic Paul Gallen must be better then Hindmarsh

Origin selection means nothing especially with idiots like Fulton picking the teams

Eric Grothe has played Origin so he must be picked in 1st grade

surfer1

Hayne is a fantastic player what he needs to do is let his football do the talking rather than his mouth, really exactly what has he achieved as regards an advancement to his improvent as a team player this year?? His body language on the weekend was shocking.

I really like Hayne, love his ability, skills etc , especailly at such a young age. At the moment like the rest of the team I would say shut up and when you perform for a few weeks then say something

Yeah all the reasons why we shouldn't have him at fullback ey HJ? maybe Mason shouldn't be playing first grade either? i mean he pretty much what you stated.... and throw in Hodges as well while we're at it.

They're the reasons he shouldn't be at this club, let alone wearing the #1.

so f**king what!

Correct punctuation would have a question mark (?) at the end of that sentence, not an exclamation mark (!).

Hellsy

what about Burty?:roll:

So you dont trust Bellamys judgement do you? Hayne scored one of the greatest individual trys in history last year in his first ever SOO match!

My bad I should have said Origin3 2008, he got selected after not playing a club game for weeks and missing Origin2.
But after clarifying that.... who the hell cares about Origin last year?????

Bellamy has not got alot to do with it, he is not a selector he just coaches who they give him

Ron Jeremy

Hayne is a fantastic player what he needs to do is let his football do the talking rather than his mouth, really exactly what has he achieved as regards an advancement to his improvent as a team player this year?? His body language on the weekend was shocking.

I really like Hayne, love his ability, skills etc , especailly at such a young age. At the moment like the rest of the team I would say shut up and when you perform for a few weeks then say something

He is playing on the wing, it's hard for him to shine if the ball doesn't come his way.

He's just a battering ram of the wing at the moment. You want him more involved? then move him to FB!

Ron Jeremy

My bad I should have said Origin3 2008, he got selected after not playing a club game for weeks and missing Origin2.
But after clarifying that.... who the hell cares about Origin last year?????

Bellamy has not got alot to do with it, he is not a selector he just coaches who they give him

You don't think Bellamy ( the best coach in RL today) wouldn't have been involved in selections...

Hellsy

You don't think Bellamy ( the best coach in RL today) wouldn't have been involved in selections...

Who cares really? You still only used Hayne's performance in Origin last year as an example.... as fellow forumites would say... live in the present

hey guys dont be so ignorant, read the article again.

Journalists always put a spin on things. The real quotes from Hayne tell a different story.
yeah - got to agree .... there is absolutely nothing in that article from Jarryd saying he wants to be fullback

``I don't want to be on the wing,'' Hayne told AAP after confessing to feeling almost helpless as the Eels dropped outside the top eight nine rounds shy of the playoffs.
``I couldn't do anything out there. I will have to have a talk to `Hages' and see what he can come up with to get me off the wing.
``I just have to see what happens and whatever best suits the team and whatever `Hages' wants to do every week.''[\QUOTE]

All this says is he felt he couldn't get into the game from the wing which is a fair enough statement .... I am not overly keen on hayne's attitude at times, but I think he's been given a bum steer from a journo here

surfer1

He is playing on the wing, it's hard for him to shine if the ball doesn't come his way.

He's just a battering ram of the wing at the moment. You want him more involved? then move him to FB!

If I am wrong let me know but has he not predominately been playing in the centres all year and if so can you count the good games?

I actually agree he should be playing at fullback, don't have a problem with that and would love a simple switch with him and Burt. What I don't like is his attitude when he gets up from a tackle etc. Its called respect like Inu demonstrates

Ron Jeremy

If I am wrong let me know but has he not predominately been playing in the centres all year and if so can you count the good games?

I actually agree he should be playing at fullback, don't have a problem with that and would love a simple switch with him and Burt. What I don't like is his attitude when he gets up from a tackle etc. Its called respect like Inu demonstrates

How many good games has the majority played?

Backs rely on the forwards and halves for good go forward and terrific distribution, has that been evident much this year?

Hayne has also been suspended and interuptions with SOO wouldn't have helped.

I've said it all year, have go forward and give Hayne quality ball and he'll shine, he's our only SOO player, play to his strengths!

Backs rely on the forwards and halves for good go forward and terrific distribution, has that been evident much this year?

I've said it all year, have go forward and give Hayne quality ball and he'll shine, he's our only SOO player, play to his strengths!
Inu has pooped all over jarryd so far this year - in the same backline, with the same opportunities .... and our other youngster, mateo, is becoming a superstar .... to me jarryd seems more concerned with the rep footy etc - I mean I don't know him and I don't know what's going through his head, but he seems really keen for rep footy and all that goes with it, but club footy seems to run 2nd ... just my feeling

surfer1

Fair call should not single out a star quality because he is that, thanks for the objective reply