Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

HAZEM EL MASRI

pogo

what do you guys reckon, would he be welcome at shark park next year??
spies say he is flthy at the offer presented by the dogs and feels that he is taken for granted at the belmore club.
there wont be room for two big signings
i think more will be reported on this matter over the next week or so.

Ahh, so you've been reading the papers eh pogo

I'd have him for his goal kicking, but I dont reckon he'd be worth the truckloads of cash that he seems to be asking for.

millersnose

a good player and a game winning goal kicker

we would be mad if we didnt consider him

although with the amount of wingers we have at the moment we are second only to rugby union for signing rugby league wingers

I'd rather Rat but if he wants to stay at union I would welcome Hasim with open arms.He is an absolute champ on and off the feild.

Craigshark

I would much rather Rogers.. I would have El Masri, only if Rogers didnt come.. Though at the same time i wouldnt be paying him heaps of money..

Melstar

He is definitely a player worth considering. From what I have seen, he seems to be fairly consistent both in attack and defense, and obviously his goalkicking would come in useful for us.

As most of you have said, i would prefer Rogers though.

Marduk

Don't Do IT!

Don't waste the dosh on this bloke, he might be a killer goalkicker but that's it. He's a average winger at best and I personally think that the club should be looking in other areas than this one.

Peach to 5/8?
Rat to fullback?
& goal licker?
Lots ofoptions with Rat back, but not many more with Hazem.
it's an easy answer.

Special K

O' Meley or Utai should be the dogs we look at. I'd rather the club goes and gets Shrek rather than Stringer. O'Meley is class.

Interesting.

El Masri's manager is talking to Union at the moment. Good chance of him switching codes although they have plenty of goal kickers.

If we were to miss on Matt Rogers then we would be nuts not to have a fair dinkum go at getting El Magic in our colours. Remember how good he was alongside Vagana in the last 2 years? Scores 250+ a year. Best goal kicker EVER!

I'd prefer Rogers too but if he signs with the Waratahs then we need to aim at this bloke.

sharknows

When comparing the worth El Masri and Matty to the club I think it is relevant to take into account how much time each spends on the paddock each season. Matt has lost a lot of time through injury in the past couple of seasons in RU and even back in his Sharks days he missed a lot of games through injury. El Masri although not as brilliant a player (but still no slouch) seems to be much more robust in the injury dept. and plays nearly all games - I actually can't recall him being out injured - although I don't follow the dogs injuries very closely.

Shark

I recall a VERY AVERAGE (at BEST!) winger called Darryl Halligan who won plenty of games for the 'Dogs by kicking up near 90% for most of his career.

A TOP SHELF Goalkicker is as important to a premiership-winning side as a world-class halfback.

So, rate him on what he offers. As a winger, there are PLENTY better. As a kicker, he's up there with Rogers, Johns and De Vere. So, he's probably worth about 70% of whatever Rogers would cost, IMO.

Rarely injured.
But thats because he doesn't take the game on like matty does.
If anybody read the papers on the weekend the lockyer article was very relevant to the Sharks cause.
Locky described how great players(like him, but he didn't say that) realise when the team needs them & they step up to provide those plays that break the game.
The Sharks don't have that. Not Kimmorley, & not Peach it seems.
Maybe Williams.
But Rat used to do that & when we needed him to do it in a couple of big games, (99) he wasn't on the park or injured on the park(2001).

lolesi

El Masri to union Rogers to Sharks, looks like both codes will lose one and then quickly gain one? :)