Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Head coach backs head stomper

Fingerbang

Where did I compare him to people throwing coward punches? Which NRL players have killed with a coward punch? I compared him to the low lifes who beat their girl friends and the dip shits who keep doing dumb shit that generally harms no one.

My issue with Packer is he tried to kill someone. What other possible reason could he have to stomp a guys head into the ground after he had been knocked out?

Ofcourse a punch that kills is worse. But there are no players running around who have done that. So its irrelevant. You can only compare him to the guys who are still playing and who have been banned. Guys like Carney, Inglis, Auva, Bird etc. and Packer is infinitely worse then any of these grubs. I dont agree with any of their actions and Inglis particularly should have received a worse punishment. But none of them are close to the vicious attack that Packer did. There should be no place for him in our sport.
I don't know if Bird should be used in your example.....glassing your girlfriend in the face is pretty serious.

Get2dachopper!

I still don't understand everyone's obsession with Packer. A few decent forwards have been exchanged by other clubs and we are still daydreaming about a bloke who may not be allowed to play next year.

Fingerbang

Anyway Grouch.....with all your anti Mary rants and raves, are you any closer to making change to our head coaching position for 2015 yet?

mxlegend99

I am struggling to comprehend the amount of derp in this comment...

You disagree that a 120kg monster stomping a defenseless guys head into the pavement is infinitely worse then what Inglis, Carney, Auva, Bird, Ferguson, Dugan etc. have done?

One guy is a psycopath who is lucky not to have murdered someone. The others are simply dickheads.

mxlegend99

I don't know if Bird should be used in your example.....glassing your girlfriend in the face is pretty serious.
Agreed. But wasn't it also accidental? Or was that Inglis I am thinking of? I dont remember any of these incidents seeming like they were committed by someone who is psycho.

Some got off easier then they should have. But there should be a point where actions are inexcusable and you can't ever be allowed to play again. For mine, Packer is one of those cases. Especially if Carney is banned for repeated offences that are in comparison nothing events at all.

Fingerbang

After Bird's mate didn't take the rap for him.....it then came out that it was accidental. I don't think many believed that though. A glassing to the face can be fatal too, or cause permanent disfigurement or permanent disability. Certainly as serious as Packer's offence.

Not sure what things are like in your world, but attacking your girlfriend in the face with a glass is rather pyschotic in my world.

bottle

Where did I compare him to people throwing coward punches and killing people? Which NRL players have killed with a coward punch? Thats random and completely unrelated to any of my comments.

I compared him to the low lifes who beat their girl friends and the dip shits who keep doing dumb shit that generally harms no one. Ie. Carney Ferguson, Dugan etc.

My issue with Packer is he tried to kill someone. What other possible reason could he have to stomp a guys head into the ground after he had been knocked out?

Ofcourse a punch that kills is worse. But there are no players running around who have done that. So its irrelevant. You can only compare him to the guys who are still playing and who have been banned. Guys like Carney, Inglis, Auva, Bird etc. and Packer is infinitely worse then any of these grubs. I dont agree with any of their actions and Inglis particularly should have received a worse punishment. But none of them are close to the vicious attack that Packer did. There should be no place for him in our sport.

I assumed your reference to 'repeat offenders' was in relation to McGregor's where he was referring to repeat assault offenders. In these cases deaths have resulted. Apologies for that I was off the mark.

St Benny

What a whiny lot you are!!

Joking!!
I'm sure if he had his time again, he would chose his words differently

mxlegend99

I assumed your reference to 'repeat offenders' was in relation to McGregor's where he was referring to repeat assault offenders. In these cases deaths have resulted. Apologies for that I was off the mark.
Is he referring to repeated assaults, or repeat dickheads? None of the wording actually says what offence he is talking about. In the context of the sentence it looks like repeated assaults, but I think he is compaing Packer to guys running around in the NRL. Your woman bashers in Inglis, Auva, Bird etc. and the repeat offenders in Bird, Ferguson, Carney etc.

Repeated assaults in the context of him being allowed back in footy or not seems irrelevant as there'sno one to.compare him to playing.

BennyV

You disagree that a 120kg monster stomping a defenseless guys head into the pavement is infinitely worse then what Inglis, Carney, Auva, Bird, Ferguson, Dugan etc. have done?

One guy is a psycopath who is lucky not to have murdered someone. The others are simply dickheads.

First of all, dont start dropping words like 'infinitely' regarding my argument. You stated that what Packer did is 'a million times worse' than repeat offenders and woman bashers. Not only do i disagree, i think thats one of the dumbest statements out!

I'll start by saying I dont condone what Packer did in the slightest. Dickhead deserves every ounce of punishment and then some.

You don't know Packer was trying to kill anyone. He was in an argument, fueled by alcohol and in the heat of the moment, he commited a reckless, malicios and all around f**king stupid act. But there is no evidence he tried to kill anyone. More to the point, he knows how wrong his actions were, as evidenced by the guilty plea.

You really think that is 'a million times worse' than say, Inglis, who knowingly beat his partner and then claimed innocence under the guise of 'keeping her from self harm'? Or Bird, who glasses his partner and then turns around and blames it on a mate? Neither of these guys took any responsibility for their actions, Russell did. Which of them was worse is arguable, but to say that Packers is a million times worse is just plain stupid.

So lets take a repeat offender - say, Robert Lui (best of both worlds, eh?)...a bloke who beat the shit out of his partner - not some random in an argument, the woman he shares a home and a life with, a woman who trusts him, not once, but TWICE! This shows he has clearly learnt nothing from his horrible actions...and you are telling us that this is a million times better than what Russell did?

Packer deserved a prison sentence, but to reinstate my original point...saying that what he did is a million times worse than these other lowlives who are celebrated in our great game is derpworthy.

Fingerbang

I took it as comparing a 12 month sentence for a first offence assault to that of repeat assault offenders in general life. Not just specifically NRL players.

bottle

Is he referring to repeated assaults, or repeat dickheads? None of the wording actually says what offence he is talking about. In the context of the sentence it looks like repeated assaults, but I think he is compaing Packer to guys running around in the NRL. Your woman bashers in Inglis, Auva, Bird etc. and the repeat offenders in Bird, Ferguson, Carney etc.

Repeated assaults in the context of him being allowed back in footy or not seems irrelevant as there'sno one to.compare him to playing.

Repeated assaults. He's referencing the guys sentence for assault, it's clearly what he is referring to. Why on earth would he compare an assault to a bubbling incident? Woman bashing is assault, so that has relevance.

bottle

It was assault when Toddy bubbled on some guys head at the Canberra nightclub years ago.
Indeed, after he'd set him on fire. Was he trying to burn him to death, or was he just testing out the old adage 'Wouldn't piss on him if he was on fire'?

Fingerbang

No, the pants on fire was a mate of his....and was when he was in Nth Qld I think. Could be wrong!

bottle

No, the pants on fire was a mate of his....and was when he was in Nth Qld I think. Could be wrong!

Listen, don't bring out the mongrel in me!!
Seriously though, pretty sure it was in Canbraaaa. The pissee was a mate of a mate. I'll do some research and try and get to the bottom of it.
There's a ripper animated youtube vid that summarises the situation beautifully. I'll try and track that down as well.
Accuracy is all important in these things.

grouch

I still don't understand everyone's obsession with Packer. A few decent forwards have been exchanged by other clubs and we are still daydreaming about a bloke who may not be allowed to play next year.
Agree, he's not even that good. but that's a minor issue really.

First of all, and most importantly, I think it is shameful that our club has even considered signing Russell Packer. The sentencing magistrate described his vicious assault as ?cowardly and deplorable?. That we are looking to bring him into our club at all signifies just how low we have fallen.

To amplify the already deafening shrieks of desperation, we have signed him while he?s still in prison! He hasn?t even completed half of his two year sentence and we?re throwing big money offers at him.

Then, we have a person employed in a senior role within our club - the head coach ? publicly and deliberately minimising and playing down the violent attack as ?unfortunate?. What Packer did was in no way unfortunate. If you need a memory refresh, here you go:

He was ejected from Hotel Chambers due to intoxication.
He failed to leave the licensed premises as he sat just outside, instead of beyond the 50m required perimeter.
He then stole two cigarettes from a woman, which led to an argument with a man.
The argument turned physical. He punched the victim a number of times before throwing an uppercut and knocking him down.
As the victim lay on the ground motionless Packer stomped on his face.
The victim was unconscious for 40 seconds and suffered two fractures to his face.
How unfortunate.

Clearly, with this whole embarrassing spiel, Mary was attempting to pressure the NRL into letting Packer play asap (again reeks of desperation). The hubris is astonishing. A rookie coach with an ignominious coaching record, who so far in the top job has managed only to steer a team from 11th to 11th, before alienating two of his best players. This guy is trying to tell the NRL administration what to do? That he would attempt it is mind-bogglingly stupid, but to bumble and fumble the attempt it in an excruciating, offensive manner is a hundred times worse.