Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hindmarsh kept in the dark over sacking

I'm pretty comfortable that someone of Caylo's footie knowledge and experience fully understands that as well mate and I reckon he may have factored that into his assessment. As Tezza said, good enough for me.

Only time will tell. Players have also given a great rap to DA and Smithy from time to time. Not dismissing Kearney's qualities as a coach, just questioning if he is the right coach and he's as good as he's claimed to be. I think that's a fair question.

Not dismissing Kearney's qualities as a coach, just questioning if he is the right coach and he's as good as he's claimed to be. I think that's a fair question.

How do any of us know?
He hasn't coached before properly.
We are his test case.

CrazyEel

Only time will tell. Players have also given a great rap to DA and Smithy from time to time. Not dismissing Kearney's qualities as a coach, just questioning if he is the right coach and he's as good as he's claimed to be. I think that's a fair question.
Of course it's a fair question. Before Caylo's endorsement I thought he is the best that is available, would love to have Bennett but didn't want a bar of Stuart, so, as I said previously, Caylo's endorsement just makes me more comfortable.

Thats also true, but Kearney has been assisting week in and week out with the Storm, and most people know that assistant coaches usually have more interactions with the players then the head coach. Its not always that way, but it usually is.

I think that's Kearney's one saving grace. Salary cap rorting aside, he's learnt from junior messiah personally in Bellamy, who himself learnt from the real messiah in Wayne Bennett, who also assisted Kearney at rep level for NZ. Kearney has served the ultimate apprenticeship. Controlling himself at NRL level is a different story though, as you can tell from Ivan Henjak. Let's play the waiting game... or hungry hungry hippos.

1 Eyed TEZZA

I think that's Kearney's one saving grace. Salary cap rorting aside, he's learnt from junior messiah personally in Bellamy, who himself learnt from the real messiah in Wayne Bennett, who also assisted Kearney at rep level for NZ. Kearney has served the ultimate apprenticeship. Controlling himself at NRL level is a different story though, as you can tell from Ivan Henjak. Let's play the waiting game... or hungry hungry hippos.

f**k im hungry!

What I mean is, is he worth sacking a proven coach with a year to go on his contract, to hire for a 2 to 3 year deal himself?

Sacking a proven coach? :?
The sacking of said proven coach (the one that took us as far as the last sacked proven coach.......ie. Hagan) that took us nowhere? :?

All I'm saying is that no one can judge Kearney as a coach because no one knows how he'll be able to coach.
He's an unknown quantity.
He has no record.
Whether he is or will be a good or bad coach is un-measureable atm.

mrpwnd

What I mean is, is he worth sacking a proven coach with a year to go on his contract, to hire for a 2 to 3 year deal himself?
Well, you can't discount some bravery in coming here at the very least.
It'd take a VERY dedicated coach, or a stupid one, to come coach at Parra atm.

Sacking a proven coach? :?
The sacking of said proven coach (the one that took us as far as the last sacked proven coach.......ie. Hagan) that took us nowhere? :?

All I'm saying is that no one can judge Kearney as a coach because no one knows how he'll be able to coach.
He's an unknown quantity.
He has no record.
Whether he is or will be a good or bad coach is un-measureable atm.

It depends on what you define as a proven coach. To me a coach that in 8 years of coaching at the elite level has taken his side to the Grand Final 5 out of those 8 years as a proven coach.

What's your definition Suity? Feel free to elaborate.

I'm not going to judge Kearney, he has no record obviously. But neither do you nor me, or sadly even Haynetrain. It's a gamble no matter what way you look at it, and a gamble we didn't necessarily have to take.

CrazyEel

Well, you can't discount some bravery in coming here at the very least.
It'd take a VERY dedicated coach, or a stupid one, to come coach at Parra atm.
You may feel this is a crisis but in reality coaches being sacked is pretty common, even Roosters dumped Freddy and let's wait to see what happens at the Broncs and NQ in the next month. I don't think B Smith has EVER completed a contract for one reason or another.

In this environment coaches back themselves to get results and if they don't they know what to expect.

It depends on what you define as a proven coach. To me a coach that in 8 years of coaching at the elite level has taken his side to the Grand Final 5 out of those 8 years as a proven coach.

What's your definition Suity? Feel free to elaborate.

I'm not going to judge Kearney, he has no record obviously. But neither do you nor me, or sadly even Haynetrain. It's a gamble no matter what way you look at it, and a gamble we didn't necessarily have to take.

To answer your question, my definition of a proven coach is one that has at least coached at NRL level and had at least a little success, or has at the very least, shown some potential to be successful.

It's hard to quantify, and I'm trying to be subjective here, but in my own mind, I know what I want out of a coach.

Sorry to sound so confusing. I just want a coach that will take our squad forward and will provide us something to look forward to. Sounds simplistic, but that's just me.

I already feel that we will have that. Moreso, than knowing that Anderson was going to be our coach next year. This has nothing to do with 3P or any of that sh*t. I just want us to perform.

To answer your question, my definition of a proven coach is one that has at least coached at NRL level and had at least a little success, or has at the very least, shown some potential to be successful.

It's hard to quantify, and I'm trying to be subjective here, but in my own mind, I know what I want out of a coach.

Sorry to sound so confusing. I just want a coach that will take our squad forward and will provide us something to look forward to. Sounds simplistic, but that's just me.

I already feel that we will have that. Moreso, than knowing that Anderson was going to be our coach next year. This has nothing to do with 3P or any of that sh*t. I just want us to perform.

Well I have to agree with your definition. Though I think Anderson meets both parts of your criteria. He's definately had sucess. He could have definately taken us forward. The problem is you have to give time for a coach to settle in and work their plans in. Something Melbourne did with Bellamy. They finished also rans between '03 and '05 when he was first put in charge but after he put his structures in place and got the side he wanted, with patience from those above, he excelled. Salary cap aside he still did a decent job, otherwise we wouldn't even be looking at Kearney.

DA was given less than two years to work with something, and even after he took us to a GF last year there were question marks over his head earlier this year. We can talk about wrong decisions he's made or what not, but at the end of last year if he cut cut half the squad that made the GF we would all have been up in arms.

Well I have to agree with your definition. Though I think Anderson meets both parts of your criteria. He's definately had sucess. He could have definately taken us forward. The problem is you have to give time for a coach to settle in and work their plans in. Something Melbourne did with Bellamy. They finished also rans between '03 and '05 when he was first put in charge but after he put his structures in place and got the side he wanted, with patience from those above, he excelled. Salary cap aside he still did a decent job, otherwise we wouldn't even be looking at Kearney.

DA was given less than two years to work with something, and even after he took us to a GF last year there were question marks over his head earlier this year. We can talk about wrong decisions he's made or what not, but at the end of last year if he cut cut half the squad that made the GF we would all have been up in arms.

Mate, no doubt.
I just can't cut myself from the fact that after 2 years, he gave us 12 weeks of great footy, and even then he himself admitted that he didn't know how we made such a launch at last years title.
That's when he lost me. That quote.
2 seasons. 10 weeks of good footy.
17 halves of football that were scoreless this season
That's just not acceptable.

yy_cheng

Mate, no doubt.
I just can't cut myself from the fact that after 2 years, he gave us 12 weeks of great footy, and even then he himself admitted that he didn't know how we made such a launch at last years title.

That's why I don't mind him getting the cut.

Where he has failed is he can't get his intentions across or communicate effectively to ALL THE PLAYERS.

yy_cheng

Mate, no doubt.

That's why I don't mind him getting the cut.

Where he has failed is he can't get his intentions across or communicate effectively to ALL THE PLAYERS.

i wouldn't necessarily blame him for all the bad stats .... our lack of a halfback is a massive issue - we don't score points cos we get lost when we get to the last tackle .... last year was fun with offloads, but they depend on confidence and we lost that plus teams learnt to shut us down there ...... our inability to get repeat sets of 6 was a massive factor in not getting tries - is that the coach's fault? partly i guess - but moreso the cattle's fault .... (not that i'm saying that should save ando)

cv8z

i wouldn't necessarily blame him for all the bad stats .... our lack of a halfback is a massive issue - we don't score points cos we get lost when we get to the last tackle .... last year was fun with offloads, but they depend on confidence and we lost that plus teams learnt to shut us down there ...... our inability to get repeat sets of 6 was a massive factor in not getting tries - is that the coach's fault? partly i guess - but moreso the cattle's fault .... (not that i'm saying that should save ando)

People say the coach got us to a GF with NFI how, yet finishing effectively 13th with the same halves and arguably a better team. Whoever was responsible for 2009 its also fair to say was responsible for 2010.