Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do you stay sane following the eels?

cgee221

No wonder Ando is a very frustrated man. They cannot for some reason put two good performances together. There were no positives from this match as defensively the panthers were woeful.

I wouldn't say no positives Fathead, I thought Mortimer showed us that as he gains more experience, he will come into his own.

In the future when we are more hardend in defence and openings like that appear, Morts showed us he is capable of taking advantage of some opportunities, promising signs in his development.

Fathead

Yeah Morts was good but there were more gaps there than the Sydney heads.
if the game went 75 mins then we would have won. if the game went 76 mins they would have scored again !!!

Western_Eel

well...i usually start with beer, today it was tooheys dry, which primed me nice and early. phase 2 results in the addition of bundy rum. the numbness has prevented all ill feeling.
It sounds exactly like my day!

lingard

Robson had a very good game. Mortimer had a very good game. Hayne had a mixed game, but more good than bad, with a few brilliant touches. Lowrie had a blinder by his standards. He continues to improve each week (but will still be knocked on this forum, obviously). Moi Moi was extremely quiet - his worst game of the year. Burt played well. I think both teams got caught up in the notion that they could outscore the other, and forgot about defence. Maybe both coaches should take some responsibility for the all out attacking mindset.

Kilkenny

Despite the scoreline going against the Eels I find it difficult to believe even the most parochial one eyed Eels supporter could not appreciate what was a terrific game of footy and a great advertisement for the NRL.

Yes the Panthers got the two points but in such a game a draw would probably have been the fairest outcome and at the end of the day it was fitting Michael Jennings was the difference between the two sides.

Those who choose the suggest the game was 'crap' and doing there I club and game a disservice in my opinion.

From an unbiased perspective I think the future looks very bright for the Eels despite the loss and you can take heart in the performance of Mortimer who surely is going to develop into a superstar.

I was surprised we hung with them, and pleasantly surprised we got our nose in front.

Disappointed that at no stage did we really harden up in defence to edge our way in front, or indeed hold out the game for five minutes once we made it in front.

No-one's mentioning Hindy's knock on which gave penrith their repeat set of six - that had more of an effect than Moimoi's pass to no-one when we were on the counter-attack after the try.

Right from that Panthers scrum win they were making good quick yardage toward our line, and we were backing away. The Panthers winning try (as newmanj said) was predictable, we simple weren't good enough to win today - or as the pundits say, didn't want to enough.

I think both teams got caught up in the notion that they could outscore the other, and forgot about defence.

Absolutely. It just turned out to be one of those games. We shouldn't be crying about missed tackles - we should be more worried about the missed attacking opportunities because that's what this game was about.

Maybe both coaches should take some responsibility for the all out attacking mindset.

Especially ours. Ando was quite clear that Robbo and Morts were to be given free reign and we could see last week that the entire team took that up. Same this week. Just so happens that Penrith ended up being better at it than us on the day.

There was nothing wrong with today's game, it was exciting! It just so happens that it was one we ended up losing. That happens in football sometimes, folks.

Fair try. He still had momentum (i.e. he was still moving forward) when he lifted and promoted his arm. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that.
ummm nah - thats not true .... you aren't actually allowed to promote the ball further if there is monetum or not ..... if the momentum is what takes you over then its fine, but you still aren't allowed to promote the ball further - which is what jennings did ..... I'm not gonna die over it though cos he probably would have got over from momentum alone anyway .... but VERY surprising that the ref didn't go to the video :?

Kilkenny

ummm nah - thats not true .... you aren't actually allowed to promote the ball further if there is monetum or not ..... if the momentum is what takes you over then its fine, but you still aren't allowed to promote the ball further - which is what jennings did ..... I'm not gonna die over it though cos he probably would have got over from momentum alone anyway .... but VERY surprising that the ref didn't go to the video :?

I would certainly confess I have seen tries similar to the one today disallowed.

Having said that there was momentum and it was one of those tries were he could not have not scored as him momentum clearly had taken him over the tryline. It was a fair try and despite supporting the Panthers we as in the NRL should not be rubbing out these sorts of tries. I dont think the decisions today effected the outcome of the game despite the closeness of the scores and as I understand your coaching staff had no complaints about the awarding of the try.

WestCoastEel

I would certainly confess I have seen tries similar to the one today disallowed.

Having said that there was momentum and it was one of those tries were he could not have not scored as him momentum clearly had taken him over the tryline. It was a fair try and despite supporting the Panthers we as in the NRL should not be rubbing out these sorts of tries. I dont think the decisions today effected the outcome of the game despite the closeness of the scores and as I understand your coaching staff had no complaints about the awarding of the try.

The ref could've gone to the video ref (old mate B Harrigan if i'm not mistaken!) but in anycase it was a fair try, momentum got him over anyway.

Today's game was one of only a handful of Eels games i've seen all year and it sure was frustrating.

i actually have no problem with this sort of try - i think the whole double movement rule is overly complicated and reckon you should be able to do exactly what he did .... BUT i think with the rules/interpretations as they currently are, that would generally be called a double movement because of the way he reached out after the arm carrying the ball hit the ground .... but as I said - no complaints - parra lost cos of dumb defence

Kilkenny

At the end of the day there were four points difference in a game where 13 tries were scored.

It could have went either way and probably no side deserved to lose.

I recall the same fixture at CUA in 2008 where the Panthers were clearly the better side for 70 minutes but in the other ten either side of half time you guys played unbelievable and put 16 points on us.

The game in 2008 was the beginning of the end for the Panthers that season and like this season injuries took there toll.

The difference today was one Michael Jennings, he is a freak and the in and away he put on Reddy was pretty special and I am not too sure many centres could have prevented Jennings doing what he did. He is a special talent.

cgee221

Absolutely. It just turned out to be one of those games. We shouldn't be crying about missed tackles - we should be more worried about the missed attacking opportunities because that's what this game was about.

Just on the missed tackles HJ, can you believe there was only 18 from us when you look at the score?

yy_cheng

I was surprised we hung with them, and pleasantly surprised we got our nose in front.

Disappointed that at no stage did we really harden up in defence to edge our way in front, or indeed hold out the game for five minutes once we made it in front.

No-one's mentioning Hindy's knock on which gave penrith their repeat set of six - that had more of an effect than Moimoi's pass to no-one when we were on the counter-attack after the try.

Right from that Panthers scrum win they were making good quick yardage toward our line, and we were backing away. The Panthers winning try (as newmanj said) was predictable, we simple weren't good enough to win today - or as the pundits say, didn't want to enough.

Hindy's knock on was not his fault. They threw the ball into his face!

mxlegend99

While i can understand the supporters of the losing team not enjoying the match, i think for the most part a neutral supporter would have absolutely loved this game. Despite the high scoreline, this game had the fewest missed tackles of any game this weekend.

The majority of the points were scored through some insane offloads and incredible individual efforts and support play. Every few minutes the the lead changed and up until the very last minute the match could have gone either way.

Ben Smith, Latimore and Wright's lack of lateral speed in defence cost us that game.

ummm nah - thats not true .... you aren't actually allowed to promote the ball further if there is monetum or not .....

Hmmm...you could very well be right, however...

Having said that there was momentum and it was one of those tries were he could not have not scored as him momentum clearly had taken him over the tryline.

I agree that this is also true. On the replay it looked to me as if his chest came to about the line anyways and so it seems he would have been carried that far even if he hadn't have promoted the ball.

*shrugs*

Just on the missed tackles HJ, can you believe there was only 18 from us when you look at the score?

I think there was an equally large number of ridiculously large gaps and let's not forget both teams constantly offloading.

To answer your question, though, no. Haha.

Hindy's knock on was not his fault. They threw the ball into his face!

Didn't that come off us and thus constitute an accidental offside? Didn't actually see the ruling just thought that was it when looking at the replay.